In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Fujifilm XT30 review - preview

14 Feb 2019 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T30 is a mid-range mirrorless, aimed at enthusiasts who want the quality and flexibility of the X-system, but in a smaller, lighter and more affordable package than the flagship X-T3. Indeed it becomes the second body to feature the 26 Megapixel X-Trans IV sensor. Find out more in my preview!

Canon EOS RP review - preview

14 Feb 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS RP is an entry-level full-frame mirrorless camera with 26 Megapixels, an electronic viewfinder, fully-articulated touchscreen and cropped 4k video. Pitched at a lower-level than the EOS R, it’s Canon’s most affordable, not to mention lightest, full-frame body to date. I went hands-on for my preview!

Olympus OM-D E-M1X review

06 Feb 2019 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OM-D E-M1X is a high-end mirrorless camera aimed at sports and wildlife pros, featuring a 20 MP Four Thirds sensor, 18fps with CAF, 4k up to 30p, up to 7.5 stops of stabilisation, and claims of the best weather-proofing around. It’s also the largest, heaviest and priciest OMD yet. Find out if it’s the ideal pro action camera…

Panasonic Lumix S1R review so far

01 Feb 2019 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S1R is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 47 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation and 4k 60p video. Launched alongside the 24 Megapixel Lumix S1, they’re the debut bodies in a new L-mount alliance with Leica and Sigma. Find out more in my preview!

Sony A6400 review

23 Jan 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6400 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k video, powerful AF, built-in viewfinder and touchscreen that flips-up by 180 degrees to face the subject. Successor to the A6300, it's Sony’s best camera yet for vlogging. Check out my full review!

Panasonic Lumix LX100 II review

07 Jan 2019 Ken McMahon

The Panasonic Lumix LX100 II is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts. It inherits the controls, viewfinder, multi-aspect ratios and 24-75mm f1.7-2.8 lens of the original but upgrades the resolution, adds a touchscreen, Bluetooth and the latest 4K Photo modes. Check out our full review, comparing it to the Canon G1X III and Sony RX100 VA!

Zeiss Batis 85mm f1.8 review

04 Dec 2018 Thomas

The Zeiss Batis 85mm f1.8 is a short telephoto prime lens for Sony’s e-mount mirrorless cameras. It’s a perfect lens for portraits, weddings or events whether mounted on a full-frame or a cropped body and includes optical stabilisation. Find out how it compares to Sony’s 85mm lenses in Thomas’s review!

Nikon Z7 review

20 Nov 2018 Gordon Laing

The Nikon Z7 is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at enthusiasts and professionals, featuring 45 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, 493 embedded AF points and 9fps burst shooting. Find out if it's right for you in my in-depth review and video demo!

Fujifilm XT3 review

12 Nov 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T3 is a high-end mirrorless camera which debuts the new 26 Megapixel X-Trans IV sensor with much improved autofocus, burst shooting and movie capabilities, including 30fps bursts and 4k video at 60p in 10 bit. Find out why it's become one of my favourite cameras in my in-depth review!

Canon EOS R review

15 Oct 2018 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 30 Megapixels, Dual Pixel CMOS AF, 4k video and fully-articulated touchscreen. It’s the first full frame mirrorless camera from Canon and launches the new RF lens mount. Find out if it's the camera you've been waiting for in my in-depth review!

DJI Mavic 2 Pro / Zoom review

08 Oct 2018 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic 2 is a mid-range drone available in two versions with different cameras: the Zoom has a 2x optical zoom and 1/2.3in sensor, and the Pro has a fixed lens but a larger 1in sensor for a slightly higher price. Find out if these are the drones you're looking for in Adam's review!

Sony RX100 VI review

01 Oct 2018 Gordon Laing

The Sony RX100 VI is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts. It takes the earlier Mark V with its 20 MP sensor, EVF, confident focusing and 4k video, but squeezes a longer 24-200mm range into essentially the same body. Find out why it's one of the best pocket travel cameras in my final review!

Fujifilm GFX 50R review - preview

28 Sep 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 50R is a rangefinder-styled medium format mirrorless camera with 50 Megapixels and a built-in electronic viewfinder. It’s thinner and lighter than the original GFX 50S but sports the same quality. Check out my preview for more details!

Fujifilm Instax SQ20 review - preview

25 Sep 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm Instax SQ20 is an instant camera which uses the Install Square format. Like the SQ10, it’s a digital model, letting you view images on-screen and edit them before deciding whether to print. New features include frame-grabbing from video and a 4x digital zoom. Check out my preview!

Nikon COOLPIX P1000 review

24 Sep 2018 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX P1000 is a DSLR-styled super-zoom camera with a massive 125x range, taking it from an equivalent of 24-3000mm. The P1000 has a 16 Megapixel sensor, can film 4k video and has a built-in OLED viewfinder and fully-articulated screen. Check out Ken's review!

Canon SX70 HS review - preview

21 Sep 2018 Gordon Laing

The Canon SX70 HS is a super-zoom camera with DSLR-styling, 20 Megapixels and a 65x / 21-1365mm optical zoom. The SX70 HS keeps the body, zoom and flip-screen of its predecessor, but upgrades the resolution and viewfinder while adding 4k video and 10fps. Find out more in my preview.

Canon SX740 HS review

17 Sep 2018 Ken McMahon

The Canon SX740 HS is a pocket super-zoom with a 40x / 24-960mm range, 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k video, Wifi and Bluetooth. It's a mild refresh over the SX730 HS, but now employs the latest DIGIC 8 processor to support 4k video and 10fps bursts. Find out if it's for you in my review.

Nikon Z6 review so far

24 Aug 2018 Gordon Laing

The Nikon Z6 is a full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at enthusiasts, featuring 24 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, 273 embedded AF points and 12fps burst shooting. Check out my hands-on preview!

DJI Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 Review

13 Aug 2018 Adam Juniper

The Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 is the latest version of DJI's hugely popular drone series aimed at enthusiasts. Equipped with a 1in sensor camera and an improved radio system, it's the best Phantom yet, but is it right for you? Adam finds out in his Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 review!

Olympus PEN EPL9 review

06 Aug 2018 Ken McMahon

The Olympus PEN EPL9 is a stylish entry-level mirrorless camera aimed at bloggers or social photographers wanting to upgrade their smartphone photography. It features a 16 Megapixel Four Thirds sensor, 4k video, Bluetooth and Wifi. Find out if it's the best budget mirrorless in Ken's review!

Fujifilm XA5 review

30 Jul 2018 Ken McMahon

The Fujifilm XA5 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, tilting touchscreen, Bluetooth and Wifi. Successor to the XA3, it's Fujifilm's smallest and lightest mirrorless body with an X mount. Find out if its right for you in Ken's review!

Fujifilm XT100 review

23 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T100 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, aimed at beginners, social photographers and vloggers, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in viewfinder and tilting touchscreen that can flip sideways to face the subject. Find out if it's right for you in my final review!

Fujifilm XF10 review - preview

19 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XF10 is a high-end compact camera aimed at enthusiasts, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, fixed 28mm f2.8 equivalent lens, touchscreen, Wifi and Bluetooth. Find out more about this unofficial successor to the X70, how it compares and where it fits in the range in my preview!

Parrot Anafi review

16 Jul 2018 Adam Juniper

The Parrot Anafi is a mid-range drone with 4k video and a powered gimbal. Parrot's most sophisticated drone to date, it's pitched squarely against the DJI Mavic Air, undercutting it on price and boasting some unique features. Adam takes it for a spin in his full review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2019 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey