In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Panasonic Lumix G9 preview

08 Nov 2017 Gordon Laing

Panasonic's Lumix G9 is a high-end mirrorless camera and joint flagship with the GH5. It shares the 20 Megapixel sensor with 4k movies up to 60p, but enhances the photo quality, improves stabilisation, boasts a huge viewfinder and shoots at 20fps with AFC. Check out my hands-on preview!

Sony Alpha A7r III review so far

25 Oct 2017 Gordon Laing

Sony's Alpha A7r Mark III is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 42.4 Megapixels, 4k HDR video and 10fps burst shooting. It keeps the sensor of the Mark II but upgrades the AF speed, adds twin SD slots, an AF joystick, PC Sync port, and the viewfinder and Z battery of the A9. Check out my review-so-far!

Olympus OMD EM10 Mark III review

23 Oct 2017 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OMD EM10 Mark III is a compact mid-range mirrorless camera aimed at photographers who want the flexibility and quality of an interchangeable lens camera without the size and cost of higher-end bodies. Check out my in-depth review!

Canon G1X Mark III preview

16 Oct 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's PowerShot G1X Mark III is a high-end compact sporting the same 24 Megapixel APS-C sensor as the EOS 80D. The Mark III also squeezes a 3x / 24-72mm zoom, EVF, fully-articulated touchscreen, Wifi and 1080p video into its weatherproof body. Check out my hands-on preview!

Canon EOS 6D Mark II review

09 Oct 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS 6D Mark II is an 'affordable' full-frame DSLR which upgrades the original 6D with a higher resolution 26MP sensor, improved autofocus, faster burst shooting, greater connectivity and an articulated touchscreen. Find out if it's for you in my in-depth review!

Nikon D850 review

02 Oct 2017 Gordon Laing

The D850 is Nikon's highest resolution DSLR to date with a new 45 Megapixel full-frame sensor, as well as fast burst shooting at 7fps. The D850 also inherits the 153-point AF of the D5 making it perfect for sports and wildlife. In part one of our review, Thomas tests the D850 from a landscape and D810 owner's perspective.

Sony RX10 Mark IV review

25 Sep 2017 Gordon Laing

The RX10 IV updates Sony's high-end super-zoom retaining its predecessor's 24-600mm / 25x zoom and OLED EVF, but inheriting the RX100 V's sensor for phase-detect AF, 24fps bursts and 4k. There's also a touchscreen and Bluetooth; here's my review-so-far!

Fujifilm XE3 review

22 Sep 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XE3 is a mid-range mirrorless, aimed at enthusiasts who want X-series quality and lenses in a compact body. It shares the XE2's viewfinder but upgrades the sensor to X-Trans III and includes a touchscreen, AF joystick and Bluetooth. See my review-so-far!

Fujifilm Instax Mini 9 review

14 Aug 2017 Gordon Laing

The Instax Mini 9 is the latest affordable instant camera to use Fujifilm's hugely popular Instax Mini film. It's based on the best-selling Mini 8 and adds a selfie mirror and close-up accessory, as well as coming in five pastel colours. Find out if it's the best low-cost instant camera in my review!

Nikon Coolpix W100 review

07 Aug 2017 Ken McMahon

Nikon's COOLPIX W100 is a low-priced rugged camera designed for active kids and adults. Waterproof to 10m, freeze-proof and surviving drops from 1.8m, it's a camera you can take anywhere. Find out why it's one of the best waterproof compacts in Ken's review!

Nikon Coolpix W300 review

31 Jul 2017 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX W300 is a rugged waterproof compact with a 5x optical zoom and a 16 Megapixel sensor. It keeps the 24-120mm zoom of the earlier AW130 and 30m water-proofness, and upgrades it with 4k video and better wireless. Find out why it's a great all-rounder in Ken's review!

Canon EOS 200D / Rebel SL2 review

25 Jul 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS 200D / Rebel SL2 is a compact DSLR that's a step-up from entry-level models. Available in three colours, it sports a 24MP sensor with confident movie focusing, a fully-articulated touchscreen, and Wifi with Bluetooth. Find out why it's one of the best DSLRs for the money in my review!

DJI Spark review

17 Jul 2017 Adam Juniper

The Spark is DJI's smallest and most affordable drone to date, opening the possibility - and fun - of a flying camera to anyone considering a premium compact. Drone expert Adam Juniper took the Spark on holiday for his in-depth review. Find out why he loved it and why you need one!

Fujifilm Finepix XP120 review

10 Jul 2017 Ken McMahon

Fujifilm's FinePix XP120 is a waterproof camera that can dive to 20m and survive temperatures of -10c as well as drops from 1.75m. There's a 5x / 28-140mm zoom, 3in screen and Wifi. Ken compared it to the high-end Olympus TOUGH TG5 in his review. Find out which is your ideal waterproof camera!

Canon PowerShot SX730 HS review

03 Jul 2017 Ken McMahon

The PowerShot SX730 HS is Canon's flagship pocket superzoom. Like its predecessor, it packs 20 Megapixels and a 40x / 24-960mm zoom into a pocket body, now with a tilting screen and Bluetooth. Find out how it compares to the Lumix TZ90 / ZS70 in Ken's review!

Olympus TOUGH TG5 review

19 Jun 2017 Ken McMahon

The TOUGH TG5 is a high quality waterproof camera from Olympus that's designed for rugged photography. Waterproof to 15m, freezeproof to -10c, and sealed from dust and sand, you can take it anywhere. Find out why it's the best rugged camera Ken's tested in his review!

Fujifilm Instax SQ10 review

12 Jun 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm SQ10 is the latest Instax cameras which can output small instant prints. It's the first model in the series to output square photos and the first to employ a digital sensor, screen and storage, letting you choose what and when to print. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Panasonic Lumix TZ90 / ZS70 review

05 Jun 2017 Ken McMahon

The Lumix TZ90, or ZS70 as it's known in North America, is the latest in Panasonic's enormously successful pocket travel zoom series. It packs a 30x / 24-720mm zoom, 4k video, RAW files, built-in EVF and now features a tilting touchscreen and 20MP. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Fujifilm X100F review

30 May 2017 Gordon Laing

Fujifilm's X100F is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts and street photographers. Fourth in the X100 series, the X100F packs Fuji's latest 24MP sensor into a fixed-lens 35mm f2 compact with a hybrid viewfinder, AF joystick and ISO dial, and as such becomes a compact fixed lens version of the X-Pro2. Check out my full review!

Panasonic Lumix GX800 / GX850 review

15 May 2017 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GX800 / GX850 is an entry-level mirrorless camera that's aimed at anyone upgrading from a phone or compact camera. It features a 16 Megapixel Micro Four Thirds sensor, 1080p or 4k video, built-in Wifi and a touchscreen that flips up by 180 degrees for selfie shooting. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Sony Alpha A9 review

28 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

Sony's Alpha A9 is a new flagship mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor and fully electronic shutter featuring 20fps shooting, silent operation, 1/32000 shutter, 4k video, dual SD slots, bigger battery, touchscreen and AF joystick. I've been testing a final production sample, so check out my review-in-progress!

Fujifilm XT20 review

17 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XT20 is a mid-range mirrorless camera that takes the 24 Megapixel sensor, image processor and AF of the XT2, and complements them with a touchscreen and popup flash. So you get the quality of the XT2 in a smaller and more affordable body - find out if it's for you in my in-depth review!

Nikon D7500 preview

12 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

The D7500 is Nikon's latest upper mid-range DSLR, successor to the D7200 and slotting between the D5600 and D500. It inherits the 20.9 Megapixel sensor and image processor of the D500, to deliver the same image quality and 4k video. The 51 point AF of the D7200 remains, but it now shoots faster at 8fps. It loses the twin SD…

Panasonic Lumix FZ80 / FZ82 review

10 Apr 2017 Ken McMahon

Panasonic's Lumix FZ80 / FZ82 is a super-zoom camera with a 60x / 20-1200mm range, 18 Megapixels and 4k video. The screen's now touch-sensitive and both it and the viewfinder are more detailed than before. There's also 1080p at 120fps and USB charging. Find out if it's the bridge super-zoom for you in Ken's in-depth review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.com

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.co.uk

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.de

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.fr

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.es

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.it

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.ca

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.com

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2017 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey