In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

DJI Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 Review

13 Aug 2018 Adam Juniper

The Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 is the latest version of DJI's hugely popular drone series aimed at enthusiasts. Equipped with a 1in sensor camera and an improved radio system, it's the best Phantom yet, but is it right for you? Adam finds out in his Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 review!

Olympus PEN EPL9 review

06 Aug 2018 Ken McMahon

The Olympus PEN EPL9 is a stylish entry-level mirrorless camera aimed at bloggers or social photographers wanting to upgrade their smartphone photography. It features a 16 Megapixel Four Thirds sensor, 4k video, Bluetooth and Wifi. Find out if it's the best budget mirrorless in Ken's review!

Canon SX740 HS review - preview

31 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Canon SX740 HS is a pocket super-zoom with a 40x / 24-960mm range, 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k video, Wifi and Bluetooth. It's a mild refresh over the SX730 HS, but now employs the latest DIGIC 8 processor to supports 4k video and 10fps bursts. Here's my preview.

Fujifilm XA5 review

30 Jul 2018 Ken McMahon

The Fujifilm XA5 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, tilting touchscreen, Bluetooth and Wifi. Successor to the XA3, it's Fujifilm's smallest and lightest mirrorless body with an X mount. Find out if its right for you in Ken's review!

Fujifilm XT100 review

23 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T100 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, aimed at beginners, social photographers and vloggers, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in viewfinder and tilting touchscreen that can flip sideways to face the subject. Find out if it's right for you in my final review!

Fujifilm XF10 review - preview

19 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XF10 is a high-end compact camera aimed at enthusiasts, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, fixed 28mm f2.8 equivalent lens, touchscreen, Wifi and Bluetooth. Find out more about this unofficial successor to the X70, how it compares and where it fits in the range in my preview!

Parrot Anafi review

16 Jul 2018 Adam Juniper

The Parrot Anafi is a mid-range drone with 4k video and a powered gimbal. Parrot's most sophisticated drone to date, it's pitched squarely against the DJI Mavic Air, undercutting it on price and boasting some unique features. Adam takes it for a spin in his full review!

Nikon COOLPIX P1000 review - preview

10 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Nikon COOLPIX P1000 is a DSLR-styled super-zoom camera with a massive 125x range, taking it from an equivalent of 24-3000mm. The P1000 has a 16 Megapixel sensor, can film 4k video and has a built-in OLED viewfinder and fully-articulated screen. Check out my preview!

Panasonic Lumix FT7 / TS7 review

09 Jul 2018 Ken McMahon

The Panasonic Lumix FT7 / TS7 is the company's latest rugged waterproof compact. Waterproof to 31 metres, It replaces the Lumix FT5 / TS5 with a 20.4 Megapixel sensor, a stabilised 4.6x zoom and, for the first time on an FT model, a built-in electronic viewfinder. Check out Ken's final review!

Sony RX100 VI review so far

12 Jun 2018 Gordon Laing

The Sony RX100 VI is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts. It takes the earlier Mark V with its 20 MP sensor, confident focusing, 4k video and super slow motion, but squeezes a longer 24-200mm range into essentially the same body. Check out my hands-on preview with samples!

Fujifilm Instax SQ6 review

28 May 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm Instax SQ6 is an analogue instant camera that looks like the classic Instagram logo. It's Fujifilm's second instant camera to use the Instax Square format that outputs 2.4x2.4in prints, but unlike last year's digital SQ10, embraces the analogue process. Check out my review!

Canon EOS 4000D review

14 May 2018 Ken McMahon

Canon's EOS 4000D is a low-priced DSLR that aims to make creative photography more affordable. It offers an 18 Megapixel APSC sensor, 1080p video, 9-point AF, 3fps and Wifi. There's few frills, but it's a solid spec for the money. Check out my review!

Panasonic Lumix GX9 review

07 May 2018 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GX9 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 20 Megapixel Four Thirds sensor, built-in stabilisation, a viewfinder and screen which both tilt, 4k video and Wifi with Bluetooth. It may follow the GX8, but is pitched a little lower with a smaller body too. See my review!

Canon EOS 2000D / Rebel T7 review

30 Apr 2018 Ken McMahon

Canon's EOS 2000D / Rebel T7 is an entry-level DSLR aimed at beginners, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 1080p video, 9-point AF, 3fps shooting, Wifi and NFC. It may lack the frills of higher-end bodies, but provides the basics at a low price. Check out my review!

Canon EOS M50 review

17 Apr 2018 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M50 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, viewfinder, Wifi and Bluetooth, and becomes Canon's first mirrorless with 4k video, a fully-articulated touch-screen, eye detection and silent shooting options. Find out more in my review!

Sony A9 review

09 Apr 2018 Gordon Laing

Sony's Alpha A9 is a pro mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor and fully electronic shutter featuring 20fps shooting, silent and vibration-free operation, no viewfinder blackout, 4k video, and autofocus across the whole frame. Find out why it's as compelling for sports pros as it is wedding and event shooters in my review!

Fujifilm XH1 review

26 Mar 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-H1 is the new flagship in the mirrorless X-series. It takes the X-T2 with its 24 Megapixel APSC X-Trans III sensor and adds built-in stabilisation, a touch-screen, bigger grip, enhanced movie features and Bluetooth. Find out more in my in-depth review!

Sony A7 III review

12 Mar 2018 Gordon Laing

The Sony Alpha A7 III is the latest 'entry-level' model in the full-frame Alpha mirrorless series. It features a new 24 MP back-illuminated sensor, built-in stabilisation, a 693-point AF system, 10fps shooting, 4k video, and the longest battery of a mirrorless to date. Check out my in-depth review!

Panasonic Lumix TZ200 ZS200 review

05 Mar 2018 Ken McMahon

Panasonic's Lumix TZ200 / ZS200 is its new flagship travel zoom camera. Like its predecessor it packs a 1in / 20 Megapixel sensor, viewfinder, touchscreen and 4k video into a pocket body, but extends the zoom to 15x and adds 1080 / 120p video and Bluetooth. Find out more in my review!

Fujifilm XP130 review

19 Feb 2018 Ken McMahon

The Fujifilm XP130 is a rugged compact with 16 Megapixels, a 5x zoom, 3in screen and Wifi with Bluetooth. It's waterproof down to 20m, freezeproof to -10C and can withstand a drop from height of 1.75 metres. Find out how it compares in Ken's review!

Hasselblad X1D-50C review

12 Feb 2018 Gordon Laing

The Hasselblad X1D-50c is a mirrorless medium format digital camera with a large 50 Megapixel sensor, electronic viewfinder, touchscreen, Wifi and GPS, packed into a rugged compact body. Doug put it through its paces and I interviewed him about his experiences in our review!

Panasonic Lumix G9 review

05 Feb 2018 Gordon Laing

Panasonic's Lumix G9 is a high-end mirrorless camera and joint flagship with the GH5. It shares the 20 Megapixel sensor with 4k movies up to 60p, but enhances the photo quality, improves stabilisation, boasts a huge viewfinder and shoots at 20fps with AFC. Check out my in-depth review!

DJI Mavic Air preview

26 Jan 2018 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic Air is a compact but capable drone pitched between the entry-level Spark and higher-end Mavic Pro. It shares its design aesthetic with the Spark, but sports more advanced features and foldable legs for a smaller footprint. Find out more in our preview!

Canon G1X Mark III review

22 Jan 2018 Gordon Laing

Canon's PowerShot G1X Mark III is a high-end compact sporting the same 24 Megapixel APS-C sensor as the EOS 80D. The Mark III also squeezes a 3x / 24-72mm zoom, EVF, fully-articulated touchscreen, Wifi and 1080p video into its weatherproof body. Check out my in-depth review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.com

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.co.uk

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.de

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.fr

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.es

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.it

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.ca

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.com

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2018 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey