In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Fujifilm XH2S review

16 Jul 2022 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-H2S is a high-end mirrorless camera with a new 26 MP stacked sensor, 40fps bursts, IBIS and 6.2k video. I've now completed my final in-depth review!

Insta360 ONE RS 1-inch 360 Edition review

28 Jun 2022 Gordon Laing

The ONE RS 1-inch 360 Edition from Insta360 captures immersive photos or videos you can explore in headsets or scroll-around on screens, but what makes it stand out are larger 1in sensors. Find out how it performs in our review!

Canon EOS R10 review-so-far

24 May 2022 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R10 is a mid-range cropped-frame mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APS-C sensor and 4k 60p video. In my hands-on first-looks review I'll show you everything I know so far!

Canon EOS R7 review-so-far

24 May 2022 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R7 is a high-end cropped-frame mirrorless camera with a 32MP APSC sensor, 4k 60p video and IBIS. Canon’s calling it their ultimate APSC camera. Find out why in my hands-on first-looks review!

Accsoon M1 HDMI recorder review

05 Apr 2022 Gordon Laing

The Accsoon M1 is an adapter that lets you use an Android phone as an HDMI monitor, recorder, or streamer. It could save you money and weight over a dedicated recorder, so find out if it's right for you in my review!

Nikon Z9 review so far

28 Mar 2022 Gordon Laing

The Z9 is Nikon’s flagship camera, engineered to delight pro sports and wildlife photographers, high-end videographers and pretty much everyone inbetween. Find out how it performed during an afternoon of track cycling at London’s Olympic Velodrome!

Fujifilm INSTAX mini EVO review

07 Mar 2022 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX mini EVO is a digital instant camera with a screen and a built-in printer to make physical copies. It can also be used as a wireless printer for your phone. But does it lack the vintage charm we know and love from analogue INSTAX cameras? Find out in my review!

Panasonic Lumix GH6 review

22 Feb 2022 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GH6 is the latest in a hugely popular series of mirrorless cameras aimed at hybrid shooters and videographers. Based on the Micro Four Thirds standard, the GH6 boasts 4k 120p, internal 5.7k ProRes, unlimited recording with active cooling and a new 25 MP sensor! Find out more in my review!

OM System Olympus OM-1 review

15 Feb 2022 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OM-1 is the flagship mirrorless camera from OM System, sharing the same name as the classic film SLR celebrating its 50th anniversary. OM System gave me a brief chance to try out the OM-1 for my hands-on preview, so I can tell you all about what’s new and how it fits into the line-up.

Canon EOS R5C review

19 Jan 2022 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R5C is a hybrid cinema camera based on the EOS R5 and aimed at pro videographers. It resolves many of the frustrations of the original model, now able to avoid overheating thanks to a cooling fan and vents. There’s more besides so join me for my hands-on review of the R5C vs the original R5!

DJI Mavic 3 Review

13 Dec 2021 Adam Juniper

The Mavic 3 is DJI’s flagship folding camera drone. It's the first to feature dual cameras mounted on the same gimbal: a Hasselblad four-thirds sensor and a 28x hybrid zoom. Find out why it's best in its class in our review!

Sony A7 IV review

22 Oct 2021 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7 IV is a mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 33 Megapixels, 10fps bursts, 10-bit 4k up to 60p, webcam capabilities and a flip-out screen. Find out if this feature-packed camera will share the success of the Mark III in my in-depth review!

Canon EOS R3 review

14 Sep 2021 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R3 is high-end mirrorless camera aimed at pros who demand the fastest speed and toughest body. It’s Canon’s most powerful mirrorless camera to date, so I've put together an in-depth review for you!

Fujifilm GFX50S II review so far

02 Sep 2021 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX50S Mark II is a medium format mirrorless camera with 51.4 Megapixels and built-in stabilisation. It takes the body of the GFX100S but fits it with the 51.4 Megapixel sensor from the original GFX models to hit a more affordable price point while still delivering more than enough detail for most of us. Here’s my review so far!

Polaroid Now Keith Haring review

23 Aug 2021 Gordon Laing

The Polaroid Now is an instant camera that delivers large square prints with minimal effort. It’s available in a variety of finishes including a Keith Haring edition adorned with the pop artist’s iconic graphics. Find out how it compares to Polaroid Go and Fujifilm’s INSTAX in my review!

Canon XF605 review so far

18 Aug 2021 Gordon Laing

The Canon XF605 is a professional camcorder aimed at solo videographers. It sports a built-in 15x stabilised zoom, a 1in-type sensor with Dual Pixel CMOS AF, unlimited 4k video up to 60p, and a broad range of pro connectivity. Find out more in my review so far!

Polaroid Go review

28 Jun 2021 Gordon Laing

The Polaroid Go is the World’s smallest analogue instant camera and the cutest camera I’ve ever used. It uses new Polaroid Go film that produces tiny square prints in the classic Polaroid style. Essentially a shrunken version of the Polaroid Now, I took it around Brighton in my review, comparing it to the INSTAX Mini!

Panasonic Lumix GH5 II review so far

25 May 2021 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GH5 Mark II is a mirrorless camera based on the Micro Four Thirds format aimed at hybrid shooters and videographers. Announced in May 2021, it’s the successor to the four year old GH5, a popular workhorse for pro-videographers. Updates include live streaming direct from the camera, expanded video modes and log as standard. Find out more in…

Fujifilm GFX 100S review

03 May 2021 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 100S is a medium format mirrorless camera with 100 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation and 4k video. This fourth model in the GFX series inherits the sensor from the flagship GFX 100 but packs it into a more compact and much more affordable body. Find out why it's the best GFX to date in my review!

Fujifilm INSTAX Mini 40 review

21 Apr 2021 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX Mini 40 is the latest instant camera to use Fujifilm’s enormously popular INSTAX Mini film. It's essentially the Mini 11 with vintage styling, but as you'll find out in my review, that's not necessarily a bad thing.

DJI Air 2S review

15 Apr 2021 Adam Juniper

The DJI Air 2S is a mid-range drone with a half hour flight time, powerful obstacle avoidance, and a one-inch sensor camera capturing 5.4k video or 20 Megapixel photos. It makes a number of improvements over its predecessor to become arguably the best consumer drone to date. Check out our review!

Sony A1 review

05 Apr 2021 Gordon Laing

The Sony Alpha 1 is a high-end mirrorless camera with a 50 Megapixel full-frame sensor, built-in stabilisation, 30fps bursts and a wide array of video modes including 4k 120p and 8k 30p. It’s positioned above the A7 and A9, combining speed, high resolution and pro video with a price tag to match. Find out if it's the ultimate mirrorless in…

DJI FPV review

02 Mar 2021 Adam Juniper

The FPV is DJI's first drone designed for 'first-person-view' racing with goggles, while also sporting reasonable camera capabilities. Can DJI take-on a racing market dominated by DIY drones? Find out in Adam's review!

Fujifilm XE4 review so far

27 Jan 2021 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-E4 is a mid-range mirrorless camera aimed at those who want the quality and lenses of the X-system in a compact body. Like earlier models in the X-E series, the X-E4 features a rangefinder-styled body with an electronic viewfinder built-into the corner, with upgrades including the latest 26 Megapixel X-Trans IV sensor and a tilting screen that can…

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2022 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Website design by Coolgrey