In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Canon EOS M6 II review so far

20 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M6 Mark II is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 32.5 Megapixel APSC sensor, uncropped 4k video at 25 or 30p with Dual Pixel AF, 14fps shooting with autofocus, a tilting touchscreen and slide-on electronic viewfinder. Check out my sample movies, images, vlog test and overview video!

Canon EOS 90D review so far

13 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 90D is an upper mid-range DSLR with a 32.5 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel AF for live view and movies, 45-point AF through the viewfinder, 10fps shooting, uncropped 4k video at 25 or 30p, and a fully-articulated touchscreen. Check out my first-looks video and sample images and movies!

Sony A6600 review

09 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6600 is an upper mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in stabilisation, 4k video, 11fps bursts with autofocus, and increased battery life. It replaces the three-year-old A6500 as Sony’s flagship body and in my in-depth review I'll compare all of its pros and cons to rivals to help you decide!

Sony A6100 review so far

02 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6100 is an upper entry-level mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k video, 11fps shooting, viewfinder and tilting touchscreen. Announced in August 2019, it’s the official successor to the five and a half year old A6000, greatly improving the AF and video features. Check out my hands-on review-so-far!

Sony A7r IV review

26 Aug 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7r Mark IV is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 61 Megapixels, 10fps shooting, 4k video up to 30p, built-in stabilisation and a Pixel Shift Composite mode that generates images with up to 240 Megapixels. Find out if it's the high-res body for you in my full review!

Canon PowerShot G5X II review

21 Aug 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon PowerShot G5X Mark II is a high-end compact with a 1in sensor, 5x / 24-120mm zoom, popup viewfinder, tilting touchscreen, fast bursts and 4k video. Canon’s redesigned the body to become more pocketable while squeezing-in a longer zoom range. Find out if it's your ideal compact in my full review!

Canon PowerShot G7X III review

19 Aug 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon G7X Mark III is a compact aimed at enthusiasts and vloggers. It keeps the 24-100mm f1.8-2.8 lens and much the same body of the G7X II but updates the sensor for faster shooting and uncropped 4k video, and becomes the first 1in compact with a mic input and live streaming straight to YouTube. Check out my in-depth review!

Nikon COOLPIX W150 review

12 Aug 2019 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX W150 is an affordable rugged waterproof compact designed for active kids and families. It'll survive falls of 1.8m, temperatures of -10 Celsius and work up to 10m underwater. Take it to the beach, on the piste, by the pool or in the sea without worrying. Find out why every family needs a rugged camera in Ken's COOLPIX…

Fujifilm XP140 review

05 Aug 2019 Ken McMahon

The Fujifilm FinePix XP140 is a mid-priced waterproof camera with 16 Megapixels, a 5x / 28-140mm zoom and rugged credentials including an impressive 25m depth rating, the ability to operate down to -10 c and survive falls from 1.8m. Ken compared it to pricier and cheaper options to help you make the right choice!

Olympus TOUGH TG6 review

29 Jul 2019 Ken McMahon

The Olympus TOUGH TG-6 is the latest model in the company's massively popular rugged series. It’s waterproof to 15 metres, freezeproof to -10C, can withstand a crushing force of 100Kg and a drop from 2.1m. It keeps the 25-100mm zoom of its predecessor with its bright aperture and unsurpassed macro, but upgrades the screen and underwater modes. Find out if…

Sony RX100 VII review

25 Jul 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony RX100 VII is a high-end compact designed for travel, action, video and vlogging, with a 20 Megapixel 1in sensor, 24-200mm zoom, flip screen, popup viewfinder, fast burst shooting, 4k video and mic input. Find out if it’s the compact for you in my review-so-far!

Fujifilm GFX 100 review

23 Jul 2019 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 100 is a medium-format mirrorless camera with 100 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, phase-detect autofocus, a large and very detailed viewfinder and 4k video. The third model in Fujifilm’s GFX series combines industry-leading resolution with the faster handling and video capabilities of smaller cameras. Check out my final in-depth review!

Canon Zoemini S IVY Cliq+ review

27 Jun 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon Zoemini S, or IVY CLIQ+, is a pocketable instant camera that captures 8 Megapixel images and outputs them as 2x3in instant prints one minute after taking the shot. You can also save images onto an SD card or print from your phone via Bluetooth. Find out how Canon’s debut instant camera measures-up in my review!

Fujifilm GFX 50R review so far

10 Jun 2019 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 50R is a rangefinder-styled medium format mirrorless camera with 50 Megapixels and a built-in electronic viewfinder. It’s thinner and lighter than the original GFX 50S but sports the same quality. Check out my sample images from Brighton and Tokyo in my review-so-far!

Panasonic Lumix G90 G95 review

03 Jun 2019 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix G90 / G95 is a mid-range mirrorless camera based on the Micro Four Thirds standard, with a 20 Megapixel sensor, built-in stabilisation, viewfinder, fully-articulated touchscreen, and unlimited 4k recording. Find out how it compares to its rivals in my in-depth review!

Panasonic Lumix S1H review - preview

31 May 2019 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S1H is a full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at pro videographers, boasting 6K video at 24p / 3:2, 5.9K up to 30p in 16:9, as well as 4K / C4k in 10 bit up to 60p. Find out more in my preview!

Panasonic Lumix S1 review

14 May 2019 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S1 is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 24 MP, built-in stabilisation and 4k 60p video. Launched alongside the 47 MP Lumix S1R, they’re Panasonic's debut bodies in their L-mount alliance with Leica and Sigma.Find out how the more affordable S1 performs for photos and video in my in-depth and updated review!

Canon EOS 250D Rebel SL3 review

07 May 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 250D / Rebel SL3 is a compact DSLR aimed at first-time buyers looking for a step-up from the cheapest models. You get a 24MP APSC sensor, optical viewfinder, fully-articulated touchscreen and mic input, and while the 4k is limited, the 1080 enjoys great autofocus. Check out my in-depth review!

Canon EOS RP review

01 Apr 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS RP is an entry-level full-frame mirrorless camera with 26 MP, an electronic viewfinder, fully-articulated touchscreen and cropped 4k video. Pitched at a lower-level than the EOS R, it’s Canon’s most affordable, not to mention lightest, full-frame body to date. Find out if it's right for you in my full review!

Fujifilm XT30 review

18 Mar 2019 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T30 is a mid-range mirrorless, aimed at enthusiasts who want the quality and flexibility of the X-system, but in a smaller, lighter and more affordable package than the flagship X-T3. Indeed it becomes the second body to feature the 26 Megapixel X-Trans IV sensor. Check out my in-depth review!

Zeiss Batis 40mm f2 CF review

11 Mar 2019 Thomas

The Zeiss Batis 40mm f2 CF is a short standard prime lens designed for Sony e-mount mirrorless cameras. The 40mm focal length falls between more common 35mm and 50mm models, but is closer to ‘normal’ coverage on a full-frame system, while the close focusing distance makes it more useful than many rivals. Find out if it’s for you in our…

Olympus OM-D E-M1X review

06 Feb 2019 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OM-D E-M1X is a high-end mirrorless camera aimed at sports and wildlife pros, featuring a 20 MP Four Thirds sensor, 18fps with CAF, 4k up to 30p, up to 7.5 stops of stabilisation, and claims of the best weather-proofing around. It’s also the largest, heaviest and priciest OMD yet. Find out if it’s the ideal pro action camera…

Panasonic Lumix S1R review

01 Feb 2019 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S1R is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 47 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation and 4k 60p video. Launched alongside the 24 Megapixel Lumix S1, they’re the debut bodies in a new L-mount alliance with Leica and Sigma. Find out more in my preview!

Sony A6400 review

23 Jan 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6400 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k video, powerful AF, built-in viewfinder and touchscreen that flips-up by 180 degrees to face the subject. Successor to the A6300, it's Sony’s best camera yet for vlogging. Check out my full review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2019 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey