Cameras

Olympus TOUGH TG5 review

19 Jun 2017 Ken McMahon

The TOUGH TG5 is a high quality waterproof camera from Olympus that's designed for rugged photography. Waterproof to 15m, freezeproof to -10c, and sealed from dust and sand, you can take it anywhere. Find out why it's the best rugged camera Ken's tested in his review!

Fujifilm Instax SQ10 review

12 Jun 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm SQ10 is the latest Instax cameras which can output small instant prints. It's the first model in the series to output square photos and the first to employ a digital sensor, screen and storage, letting you choose what and when to print. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Panasonic Lumix TZ90 / ZS70 review

05 Jun 2017 Ken McMahon

The Lumix TZ90, or ZS70 as it's known in North America, is the latest in Panasonic's enormously successful pocket travel zoom series. It packs a 30x / 24-720mm zoom, 4k video, RAW files, built-in EVF and now features a tilting touchscreen and 20MP. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Fujifilm X100F review

30 May 2017 Gordon Laing

Fujifilm's X100F is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts and street photographers. Fourth in the X100 series, the X100F packs Fuji's latest 24MP sensor into a fixed-lens 35mm f2 compact with a hybrid viewfinder, AF joystick and ISO dial, and as such becomes a compact fixed lens version of the X-Pro2. Check out my full review!

Panasonic Lumix GX800 / GX850 review

15 May 2017 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GX800 / GX850 is an entry-level mirrorless camera that's aimed at anyone upgrading from a phone or compact camera. It features a 16 Megapixel Micro Four Thirds sensor, 1080p or 4k video, built-in Wifi and a touchscreen that flips up by 180 degrees for selfie shooting. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Sony Alpha A9 review

28 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

Sony's Alpha A9 is a new flagship mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor and fully electronic shutter featuring 20fps shooting, silent operation, 1/32000 shutter, 4k video, dual SD slots, bigger battery, touchscreen and AF joystick. I've been testing a final production sample, so check out my review-in-progress!

Fujifilm XT20 review

17 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XT20 is a mid-range mirrorless camera that takes the 24 Megapixel sensor, image processor and AF of the XT2, and complements them with a touchscreen and popup flash. So you get the quality of the XT2 in a smaller and more affordable body - find out if it's for you in my in-depth review!

Nikon D7500 preview

12 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

The D7500 is Nikon's latest upper mid-range DSLR, successor to the D7200 and slotting between the D5600 and D500. It inherits the 20.9 Megapixel sensor and image processor of the D500, to deliver the same image quality and 4k video. The 51 point AF of the D7200 remains, but it now shoots faster at 8fps. It loses the twin SD…

Panasonic Lumix FZ80 / FZ82 review

10 Apr 2017 Ken McMahon

Panasonic's Lumix FZ80 / FZ82 is a super-zoom camera with a 60x / 20-1200mm range, 18 Megapixels and 4k video. The screen's now touch-sensitive and both it and the viewfinder are more detailed than before. There's also 1080p at 120fps and USB charging. Find out if it's the bridge super-zoom for you in Ken's in-depth review!

Panasonic Lumix GH5 review

27 Mar 2017 Gordon Laing

The Lumix GH5 is Panasonic's flagship camera, aimed at enthusiasts and video pros. It features a 20 Megapixel sensor that's stabilized in the body, there's twin SD slots, quicker focusing, 9fps bursts, Wifi and Bluetooth. But it's the video that really impresses: unlimited 4k up to 60p with internal recording. Check out my in-depth Lumix GH5 review!

Canon EOS M5 review

20 Mar 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS M5 is a mid-range mirrorless featuring a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel CMOS AF, built-in OLED electronic viewfinder and a tilting 3.2in touchscreen. It'll shoot at 7fps with CAF, film 1080 60p video, and offers an always-on low-power Bluetooth link. Is it the mirrorless for you? Find out in Gordon's review.

Canon EOS M6 preview

15 Feb 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS M6 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel CMOS AF, a tilting touch-screen and 1080p video. The addition of Bluetooth maintains a connection with your phone and if you want a viewfinder, an optional accessory mounts on the hotshoe. Find out more in my hands-on Canon EOS M6 preview!

Canon EOS 77D preview

15 Feb 2017 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 77D is a mid-range DSLR, aimed as a step-up from entry-level models. It employs a 24 Megapixel sensor with Dual Pixel CMOS AF, the optical viewfinder features a new 45-point / all cross-type AF system, and there's also a fully-articulated 3in touch-screen and built-in Wifi with Bluetooth. Find out more in my Canon EOS 77D preview!

Canon EOS Rebel T7i / 800D preview

15 Feb 2017 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 800D, or Rebel T7i as it's known in North America, is an upper entry-level DSLR, aimed at photographers wanting a step-up from the most basic models. It features a 24 Megapixel sensor with Dual Pixel CMOS AF, a 45-point viewfinder AF system, and a fully-articulated touch-screen. Find out more in my EOS 800D / T7i preview!

Panasonic Lumix G80 / G85 review

31 Jan 2017 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix G80 / G85 is a mid-range mirrorless camera based on the Micro Four Thirds standard. It employs a 16 Megapixel sensor which supports 1080 and 4k video, the latter exploited in Panasonic's 4K Photo modes. The built-in IS has been upgraded, the body now weather-sealed and the viewfinder enlarged. Find out why it's one of the best…

Fujifilm GFX 50S preview

25 Jan 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 50S is a medium format mirrorless camera with a 51.4 Megapixel sensor that's 1.7 times larger than the full-frame 35mm format. It's the first model in Fujifilm's new GFX system, aimed at photographers who want the ultimate in image quality. I've been shooting with a pre-production body and all three of the new lenses, so check out…

Olympus OMD EM1 Mark II review

23 Jan 2017 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OMD EM1 Mark II is the company's flagship mirrorless camera. It boosts the resolution to 20 Megapixels, improves the AF system, shoots faster at 18fps with CAF or 60fps with SAF, films 4k video and features a fully-articulated touch-screen and a weather-proof body with twin SD slots. Check out my OMD EM1 Mark II review!

Sony Cyber-shot RX10 III review

09 Jan 2017 Ken McMahon

The RX10 III updates Sony's high-end Bridge Super-zoom retaining its predecessor's 1 inch 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k video, super-slow motion modes, electronic viewfinder and flip-up 3-inch screen. What's new is the lens, tripling the reach of the earlier RX10 II with a range of 24-600mm. Find out if it's the bridge camera for you in Ken's review.

Sony RX100 V review

19 Dec 2016 Gordon Laing

Sony's RX100 V is the fifth model in its enormously successful line of compacts for enthusiasts. It keeps the body, tilting selfie-screen, popup viewfinder and 24-70mm lens of the Mark IV. But the 20 Megapixel sensor now features 315 embedded phase-detect AF points and shoots at 24fps with CAF. Find out if it's the best high-end compact in my review!

Nikon COOLPIX B700 review

06 Dec 2016 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX B700 is a mid-range super-zoom with a 60x range and 16 Megapixels. It has a hinged screen, records 4k video and features built-in Wifi with Nikon's SnapBridge technology. It's a good specification for the money, but up against compelling competition. Find out of it's worth spending the extra in Ken's review!

Sony Alpha A6500 review

30 Nov 2016 Gordon Laing

The Alpha A6500 is Sony's most powerful mirrorless camera with an APSC sensor to date. Arriving just eight months after the previous Alpha A6300, the new A6500 unsurprisingly inherits much of that model's style and capabilities: the same flat-topped compact body with a built-in viewfinder and tilting screen, the same effective autofocus system with fast burst shooting, and the…

Panasonic Lumix FZ2000 / FZ2500 review

28 Nov 2016 Ken McMahon

The Panasonic Lumix FZ2000 / FZ2500 is a high-end DSLR-styled super-zoom camera with a 20x / 24-480mm range, 1in / 20 Megapixel sensor, large EVF, fully-articulated touchscreen and a wealth of pro movie options including unlimited 4k video with 10-bit HDMI output. Is it the bridge you've been waiting for? Find out in Ken's review.

Nikon COOLPIX B500 review

23 Nov 2016 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX B500 is a budget super-zoom with 16 Megapixels and a 40x optical. It has a hinged screen, is powered by four AA batteries and features built-in Wifi with Nikon's SnapBridge. It's a good specification for the money, but up against compelling competition. Does the B500 hit a sweetspot? Find out in Ken's review!

Panasonic Lumix LX10 / LX15 review

15 Nov 2016 Gordon Laing

Panasonic's Lumix LX10 / LX15 is a premium compact with a 1in / 20 Megapixel sensor, 3x / 24-72mm zoom, 4k video and tilting touchscreen. The LX10 / LX15 boasts the brightest lens in its class with an f1.4-2.8 aperture and very close focusing too. Find out how it compares against Canon's G7X Mark II and Sony's RX100 series in…

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2017 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey