In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Canon EOS C70 review - preview

24 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS C70 is the smallest and lightest member of the Cinema EOS range and the first to employ the RF lens mount. It’s aimed at documentary, news, corporate, social media and event videography, combining the pro capabilities of the Cinema EOS series with the compact form factor of the EOS R range. Find out more in my preview!

Fujifilm INSTAX SQ1 review

21 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX SQ1 is the latest instant camera from Fujifilm to use INSTAX square film. Like the hugely popular INSTAX Mini series, the SQ1 is a fully analogue camera, ejecting small prints which gradually develop before your eyes. Find out which INSTAX is best for you in my review!

GoPro Hero 9 Black review

16 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The GoPro Hero 9 is the 2020 edition of the popular action camera series that’s also carved a successful niche in the vlogging and webcam Worlds. It’s a rugged block of a camera, waterproof to 10m / 33feet, that now captures 5k video or 20 Megapixel photos, has improved stabilisation and timelapse facilities as well as a new front screen…

Sony A7C review so far

15 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7C is a mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 24 Megapixels, 4k video up to 30p, built-in stabilisation, rangefinder styling and a fully-articulated touchscreen. It’s Sony’s smallest and lightest full-framer to date, packing the photo and movie quality of the A7 III into a more compact body that’s barely larger or heavier than the A6600. Find out more in…

Panasonic Lumix S5 review

02 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S5 is a mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 24 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, a fully-articulated touchscreen and 10 bit 4k up to 60p. In my full review find out why the most affordable full-framer from Panasonic to date could also be it’s most compelling.

Autel EVO II Review

24 Aug 2020 Adam Juniper

The Autel EVO II is the best folding drone money can buy, comfortably knocking the ageing Mavic 2 series off its flagship spot thanks to its more capable airframe, better flight time and, of course, headline-grabbing 8K video. Find out more in our full review!

Canon EOS R6 review

10 Aug 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R6 is an upper mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 20 Megapixels, 4k 60p video, built-in stabilisation, bursts up to 20fps and a fully-articulated touchscreen. Find out how it performs for photography in my latest update!

Sony A7S III review

28 Jul 2020 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7S III is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at pro videographers. It films 4k 120p, has a flip-screen, the best EVF to date and much more! Find out why it could be the best pro video camera in my review!

Canon EOS R5 review

20 Jul 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R5 is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera with built-in stabilisation, 20fps shooting, 8k video and dual card slots. The third EOS R body looks set to transform Canon’s full-frame mirrorless system. My review now includes a full report on the R5 for photography!

DJI Mavic Air 2 Review

29 Jun 2020 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic Air 2 is a mid-range drone aimed at anyone who wants a step-up from entry-level models without breaking the bank. Find out why Adam was impressed in his review!

Panasonic Lumix G100 review

24 Jun 2020 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix G100 is a compact mirrorless camera designed for vlogging and creative video, as well as photography. I tried it out for my first-looks review!

Samsung Galaxy S20 review

09 Jun 2020 Gordon Laing

The Galaxy S20 is Samsung’s flagship phone for 2020 and its best yet for photography. Available in three models, the top-end Ultra packs three cameras, one with 108 Megapixels and another with an optical zoom. All can also film 8k video. Check out my sample images from the S20!

Ricoh WG-70 review

08 Jun 2020 Ken McMahon

The Ricoh WG-70 is a rugged compact that’s waterproof to 14 metres, can withstand a 1.6m drop and can be used down to -10C. Find out if it's the tough camera for you in our review!

Sony ZV-1 review - preview

26 May 2020 Gordon Laing

The Sony ZV-1 is a compact camera aimed at vloggers and video creators, inheriting the sensor and lens of the RX100 V(A), but adding a mic input, hotshoe, an upgraded built-in mic, side-hinged screen and a bunch of software improvements. Find out if it’s a G7X killer in my preview!

Panasonic Lumix S1H review so far

25 May 2020 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S1H is a full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at pro videographers, boasting 6K video at 24p / 3:2, 5.9K up to 30p in 16:9, as well as 4K / C4k in 10 bit up to 60p. In my new update I've tested the 5.9k RAW output!

Fujifilm XT4 review

11 May 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T4 is a high-end mirrorless camera with a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k up to 60p, 15fps bursts, built-in stabilisation and a fully-articulated touchscreen. Is it the best APSC camera to date? Check out my in-depth review!

Fujifilm X100V review

16 Mar 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X100V is a high-end compact camera featuring a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor, fixed 23mm f2 lens, hybrid viewfinder, tilting touch-screen and 4k video. It features a raft of upgrades over its predecessors including weathersealing. Check out my final in-depth review!

Fujifilm INSTAX Mini 11 review

04 Mar 2020 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX Mini 11 is the latest low-cost instant camera to use Fujifilm's popular INSTAX Mini film. Find out why it's the best yet in my review!

PowerVision PowerEgg X review

02 Mar 2020 Adam Juniper

The PowerEgg X is a drone, a gimbal-stabilised camcorder and camera. Buy the more expensive Wizard edition and it can even fly in the rain and land on a pond. Find out if it's right for you in Adam's review!

Canon EOS 1Dx III review

24 Feb 2020 Gordon Laing

The EOS 1Dx Mark III is Canon's latest flagship DSLR aimed at professional sports and wildlife photographers. I've been testing a final production body to bring you new tests, samples and a new video review of the movie mode!

Olympus OMD EM1 III review so far

12 Feb 2020 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OMD EM1 III is a high-end mirrorless camera aimed at photographers and videographers who value speed, robustness and portability. It has a 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k up to 30p, built-in stabilisation with up to 7.5 stops of compensation and 18fps bursts with autofocus, all packed into a tough weather-proof body. I went hands-on for my review-so-far!

Fujifilm XT200 review - preview

23 Jan 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T200 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, featuring a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in viewfinder, fully-articulated 3.5in touchscreen, mic input and uncropped 4k video. Find out more in my preview!

Nikon D780 review - preview

07 Jan 2020 Gordon Laing

The Nikon D780 is a DSLR with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor, uncropped 4k video with autofocus, 7fps bursts and a tilting touchscreen. Essentially upgrading the best-selling D750 with the live view and movie benefits of the Z6 mirrorless, it looks set to be a tempting option for those who still prefer DSLR viewfinders and bodies. Check out my preview.…

Nikon COOLPIX A1000 review

30 Dec 2019 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX A1000 is a pocket super-zoom camera with a 35x range that updates the earlier A900 with a decent electronic viewfinder, touch screen, some new controls, and RAW shooting, all at a price that’s very competitive. In his full review, Ken compares it against its major rival from Panasonic!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2020 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey