In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Fujifilm X100V review

16 Mar 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X100V is a high-end compact camera featuring a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor, fixed 23mm f2 lens, hybrid viewfinder, tilting touch-screen and 4k video. It features a raft of upgrades over its predecessors including weathersealing. Check out my final in-depth review!

Canon EOS R5 review - preview

13 Mar 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R5 is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera with built-in stabilisation, 20fps shooting, 8k video and dual card slots. The third EOS R body looks set to transform Canon’s full-frame mirrorless system. Find out all the facts so far in my preview!

Fujifilm INSTAX Mini 11 review

04 Mar 2020 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX Mini 11 is the latest low-cost instant camera to use Fujifilm's popular INSTAX Mini film. Find out why it's the best yet in my review!

PowerVision PowerEgg X review

02 Mar 2020 Adam Juniper

The PowerEgg X is a drone, a gimbal-stabilised camcorder and camera. Buy the more expensive Wizard edition and it can even fly in the rain and land on a pond. Find out if it's right for you in Adam's review!

Fujifilm XT4 preview

26 Feb 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T4 is a high-end mirrorless camera with a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k up to 60p, 15fps bursts, built-in stabilisation and a fully-articulated touchscreen. I went hands-on for my preview!

Canon EOS 1Dx III review

24 Feb 2020 Gordon Laing

The EOS 1Dx Mark III is Canon's latest flagship DSLR aimed at professional sports and wildlife photographers. I've been testing a final production body to bring you new tests, samples and a new video review of the movie mode!

Olympus OMD EM1 III review so far

12 Feb 2020 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OMD EM1 III is a high-end mirrorless camera aimed at photographers and videographers who value speed, robustness and portability. It has a 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k up to 30p, built-in stabilisation with up to 7.5 stops of compensation and 18fps bursts with autofocus, all packed into a tough weather-proof body. I went hands-on for my review-so-far!

Samsung Galaxy S20 review so far

11 Feb 2020 Gordon Laing

The Galaxy S20 is Samsung’s flagship phone for 202 and its best yet for photography. Available in three models, the top-end Ultra packs three cameras, one with 108 Megapixels and another with a 10x optical zoom. All can also film 8k video. Find out more in my hands-on preview!

Fujifilm XT200 review - preview

23 Jan 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T200 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, featuring a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in viewfinder, fully-articulated 3.5in touchscreen, mic input and uncropped 4k video. Find out more in my preview!

Nikon D780 review - preview

07 Jan 2020 Gordon Laing

The Nikon D780 is a DSLR with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor, uncropped 4k video with autofocus, 7fps bursts and a tilting touchscreen. Essentially upgrading the best-selling D750 with the live view and movie benefits of the Z6 mirrorless, it looks set to be a tempting option for those who still prefer DSLR viewfinders and bodies. Check out my preview.…

Nikon COOLPIX A1000 review

30 Dec 2019 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX A1000 is a pocket super-zoom camera with a 35x range that updates the earlier A900 with a decent electronic viewfinder, touch screen, some new controls, and RAW shooting, all at a price that’s very competitive. In his full review, Ken compares it against its major rival from Panasonic!

Panasonic Lumix TZ95 ZS80 review

16 Dec 2019 Ken McMahon

The Panasonic Lumix TZ95 / ZS80 is a pocket super-zoom camera packing a 30x optical range, 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k video, flip-up touchscreen and built-in viewfinder. It updates its predecessor with a more detailed viewfinder and Bluetooth for easier wireless. In his full review, Ken compares it against the Nikon COOLPIX A1000 and other rivals!

Olympus OMD EM5 III review

09 Dec 2019 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OMD EM5 III is a mid-range mirrorless camera aimed at those who value portability and handheld use without compromising features and quality. It inherits the 20 Megapixel sensor from the EM1 II which finally brings it confident autofocus and 4k video, while also boasting improved built-in stabilisation in a slightly lighter but still weather-sealed body. Check out my…

DJI Mavic Mini review

03 Dec 2019 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic Mini is a compact and lightweight drone weighing just 249g, with a half hour maximum flight time and a 12 Megapixel camera with 2.7k video on a three-axis stabilised gimbal. It's DJI's smallest, lightest and cheapest drone to date, aimed at first-time pilots who want to explore aerial photo and videography. Find out why it could be…

Fujifilm X-Pro 3 review

20 Nov 2019 Gordon Laing

Fujifilm’s X-Pro3 becomes the joint flagship in the mirrorless X-series, sharing the same 26 Megapixel APSC sensor as the X-T3, but adding the hybrid optical and electronic viewfinder of earlier models coupled with a cunning approach to displays and some neat processing extras. A different camera deserves a different review, so check out my hands-on field test from Florence, Italy!

Sigma fp review - sample images

16 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sigma fp is a 24 Megapixel full-frame camera with 4k video, Cinema DNG and an L-mount. It's Sigma's first body to employ the L-mount and the company is steadily making all of its ART prime lenses as well as selected zooms available in native versions. Ahead of my review, check out my sample images and movies!

Canon EOS M200 review

14 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M200 is an entry-level mirrorless interchangeable lens camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, tilting touchscreen and cropped 4k video. Successor to the EOS M100, it becomes Canon’s smallest, lightest and cheapest mirrorless in the current range. Find out if it's the ideal budget camera in my full review!

Nikon Z50 review - preview

10 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Nikon Z50 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 20.88 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k video, viewfinder, tilting touchscreen and 11fps bursts. Announced in October 2019, it’s Nikon’s first DX-format mirrorless camera, which means it uses a cropped APSC sensor. I went hands-on for my preview!

Canon EOS 90D review

07 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 90D is an upper mid-range DSLR with a 32.5 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel AF for live view and movies, 45-point AF through the viewfinder, 10fps shooting, uncropped 4k video at 25 or 30p, and a fully-articulated touchscreen. Find out whether this new DSLR is right for you in my full review packed with comparisons!

Sony A9 II review - preview

03 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A9 II is a high-end 24.2 Megapixel full-frame mirrorless camera, aimed at professional sports photographers. It combines the core A9 features of 20fps silent shooting and zero blackout with a raft of body upgrades from the A7r IV and the latest AF and processing to become Sony’s most professional body. Find out more in my preview!

Canon SX70 HS review

02 Oct 2019 Ken McMahon

The Canon SX70 HS is a super-zoom camera with DSLR-styling, 20 Megapixels and a 65x / 21-1365mm optical zoom. The SX70 HS keeps the body, zoom and flip-screen of its predecessor, but upgrades the resolution and viewfinder while adding 4k video and 10fps. Find out if it's still King of the super-zooms in our full review!

Canon EOS M6 II review

30 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M6 Mark II is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 32.5 Megapixel APSC sensor, uncropped 4k video at 25 or 30p with Dual Pixel AF, 14fps shooting with autofocus, a tilting touchscreen and slide-on electronic viewfinder. Find out how it compares to the EOS M50, EOS 90D, Sony A6400 and Fujifilm X-T30 in my in=depth review!

Nikon COOLPIX B600 review

24 Sep 2019 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX B600 is DSLR-styled 'bridge' super-zoom camera sporting a 60x / 24-1440mm range at an affordable price. In his review, Ken compares it to models above and below it in Nikon's range as well as Canon's best-selling PowerShot SX70 HS. Find out which super-zoom will be best for you in his full review!

Sony A6600 review

09 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6600 is an upper mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in stabilisation, 4k video, 11fps bursts with autofocus, and increased battery life. It replaces the three-year-old A6500 as Sony’s flagship body and in my in-depth review I'll compare all of its pros and cons to rivals to help you decide!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2020 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey