In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Polaroid Go review

28 Jun 2021 Gordon Laing

The Polaroid Go is the World’s smallest analogue instant camera and the cutest camera I’ve ever used. It uses new Polaroid Go film that produces tiny square prints in the classic Polaroid style. Essentially a shrunken version of the Polaroid Now, I took it around Brighton in my review, comparing it to the INSTAX Mini!

Canon EOS R3 review so far

02 Jun 2021 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R3 is high-end mirrorless camera aimed at pros who demand the fastest speed and toughest body. It’s Canon’s most powerful mirrorless camera to date, and In my latest update I got to see it in person!

Panasonic Lumix GH5 II review so far

25 May 2021 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GH5 Mark II is a mirrorless camera based on the Micro Four Thirds format aimed at hybrid shooters and videographers. Announced in May 2021, it’s the successor to the four year old GH5, a popular workhorse for pro-videographers. Updates include live streaming direct from the camera, expanded video modes and log as standard. Find out more in…

Fujifilm GFX 100S review

03 May 2021 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 100S is a medium format mirrorless camera with 100 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation and 4k video. This fourth model in the GFX series inherits the sensor from the flagship GFX 100 but packs it into a more compact and much more affordable body. Find out why it's the best GFX to date in my review!

Fujifilm INSTAX Mini 40 review

21 Apr 2021 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX Mini 40 is the latest instant camera to use Fujifilm’s enormously popular INSTAX Mini film. It's essentially the Mini 11 with vintage styling, but as you'll find out in my review, that's not necessarily a bad thing.

DJI Air 2S review

15 Apr 2021 Adam Juniper

The DJI Air 2S is a mid-range drone with a half hour flight time, powerful obstacle avoidance, and a one-inch sensor camera capturing 5.4k video or 20 Megapixel photos. It makes a number of improvements over its predecessor to become arguably the best consumer drone to date. Check out our review!

Sony A1 review

05 Apr 2021 Gordon Laing

The Sony Alpha 1 is a high-end mirrorless camera with a 50 Megapixel full-frame sensor, built-in stabilisation, 30fps bursts and a wide array of video modes including 4k 120p and 8k 30p. It’s positioned above the A7 and A9, combining speed, high resolution and pro video with a price tag to match. Find out if it's the ultimate mirrorless in…

DJI FPV review

02 Mar 2021 Adam Juniper

The FPV is DJI's first drone designed for 'first-person-view' racing with goggles, while also sporting reasonable camera capabilities. Can DJI take-on a racing market dominated by DIY drones? Find out in Adam's review!

Fujifilm XE4 review so far

27 Jan 2021 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-E4 is a mid-range mirrorless camera aimed at those who want the quality and lenses of the X-system in a compact body. Like earlier models in the X-E series, the X-E4 features a rangefinder-styled body with an electronic viewfinder built-into the corner, with upgrades including the latest 26 Megapixel X-Trans IV sensor and a tilting screen that can…

DJI Pocket 2 review

07 Dec 2020 Gordon Laing

The DJI Pocket 2 is a small camera designed for filming handheld video. Like the original Osmo Pocket, it employs a gimbal-mounted camera for smooth stabilisation with the electronics packed into a small stick-like handle, so you’re ready for action without any accessories. Find out if the upgrades make it the best small camera for handheld filming!

DJI Mini 2 Review

24 Nov 2020 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mini 2 is a brand new replacement for the 249g Mavic Mini. It drops the "Mavic" but retains essentially the same folding airframe. Why, you might wonder, is a drone getting a significant refresh less than 13 months after launch? Find out in my full review!

Sony ZV1 vs A7C review

26 Oct 2020 Gordon Laing

In this review I’ve directly compared the Sony ZV1 against the Sony A7C, two very different cameras but both aimed at a very similar audience. The ZV1 is a fixed-lens compact while the A7C is a full-frame mirrorless that costs around three times the price. Find out which is best for video creators in my review!

Fujifilm XS10 review so far

15 Oct 2020 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-S10 represents a new branch in the X-series, delivering the power and quality of the X-T series with a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor and uncropped 4k video, but with a more approachable control system, along with built-in stabilisation. Find out everything you need to know in my hands-on first-looks review!

Canon EOS 850D Rebel T8i review

05 Oct 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 850D / Rebel T8i is a mid-range DSLR with a 24mp APSC sensor, 7fps bursts, 4k video and a fully-articulated screen. It sits at the top of the triple-digit EOS or Rebel series, which puts it directly below the EOS 90D. Find out how they compare in my review!

Canon EOS C70 review - preview

24 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS C70 is the smallest and lightest member of the Cinema EOS range and the first to employ the RF lens mount. It’s aimed at documentary, news, corporate, social media and event videography, combining the pro capabilities of the Cinema EOS series with the compact form factor of the EOS R range. Find out more in my preview!

Fujifilm INSTAX SQ1 review

21 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX SQ1 is the latest instant camera from Fujifilm to use INSTAX square film. Like the hugely popular INSTAX Mini series, the SQ1 is a fully analogue camera, ejecting small prints which gradually develop before your eyes. Find out which INSTAX is best for you in my review!

GoPro Hero 9 Black review

16 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The GoPro Hero 9 is the 2020 edition of the popular action camera series that’s also carved a successful niche in the vlogging and webcam Worlds. It’s a rugged block of a camera, waterproof to 10m / 33feet, that now captures 5k video or 20 Megapixel photos, has improved stabilisation and timelapse facilities as well as a new front screen…

Sony A7C review so far

15 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7C is a mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 24 Megapixels, 4k video up to 30p, built-in stabilisation, rangefinder styling and a fully-articulated touchscreen. It’s Sony’s smallest and lightest full-framer to date, packing the photo and movie quality of the A7 III into a more compact body that’s barely larger or heavier than the A6600. Find out more in…

Panasonic Lumix S5 review

02 Sep 2020 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S5 is a mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 24 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, a fully-articulated touchscreen and 10 bit 4k up to 60p. In my full review find out why the most affordable full-framer from Panasonic to date could also be it’s most compelling.

Autel EVO II Review

24 Aug 2020 Adam Juniper

The Autel EVO II is the best folding drone money can buy, comfortably knocking the ageing Mavic 2 series off its flagship spot thanks to its more capable airframe, better flight time and, of course, headline-grabbing 8K video. Find out more in our full review!

Canon EOS R6 review

10 Aug 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R6 is an upper mid-range full-frame mirrorless camera with 20 Megapixels, 4k 60p video, built-in stabilisation, bursts up to 20fps and a fully-articulated touchscreen. Find out how it performs for photography in my latest update!

Sony A7S III review

28 Jul 2020 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7S III is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at pro videographers. It films 4k 120p, has a flip-screen, the best EVF to date and much more! Find out why it could be the best pro video camera in my review!

Canon EOS R5 review

20 Jul 2020 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R5 is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera with built-in stabilisation, 20fps shooting, 8k video and dual card slots. The third EOS R body looks set to transform Canon’s full-frame mirrorless system. My review now includes a full report on the R5 for photography!

DJI Mavic Air 2 Review

29 Jun 2020 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic Air 2 is a mid-range drone aimed at anyone who wants a step-up from entry-level models without breaking the bank. Find out why Adam was impressed in his review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2020 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Website design by Coolgrey