In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Olympus OMD EM5 III review

09 Dec 2019 Gordon Laing

The Olympus OMD EM5 III is a mid-range mirrorless camera aimed at those who value portability and handheld use without compromising features and quality. It inherits the 20 Megapixel sensor from the EM1 II which finally brings it confident autofocus and 4k video, while also boasting improved built-in stabilisation in a slightly lighter but still weather-sealed body. Check out my…

DJI Mavic Mini review

03 Dec 2019 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic Mini is a compact and lightweight drone weighing just 249g, with a half hour maximum flight time and a 12 Megapixel camera with 2.7k video on a three-axis stabilised gimbal. It's DJI's smallest, lightest and cheapest drone to date, aimed at first-time pilots who want to explore aerial photo and videography. Find out why it could be…

Fujifilm X-Pro 3 review

20 Nov 2019 Gordon Laing

Fujifilm’s X-Pro3 becomes the joint flagship in the mirrorless X-series, sharing the same 26 Megapixel APSC sensor as the X-T3, but adding the hybrid optical and electronic viewfinder of earlier models coupled with a cunning approach to displays and some neat processing extras. A different camera deserves a different review, so check out my hands-on field test from Florence, Italy!

Canon EOS 1Dx Mark III review - preview

24 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The EOS 1Dx Mark III is Canon's latest flagship DSLR aimed at professional sports and wildlife photographers. Teased in a development announcement in October 2019, Canon's unveiled a handful of specs to whet our appetites, so in my preview I'll tell you everything we know so far!

Sigma fp review - sample images

16 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sigma fp is a 24 Megapixel full-frame camera with 4k video, Cinema DNG and an L-mount. It's Sigma's first body to employ the L-mount and the company is steadily making all of its ART prime lenses as well as selected zooms available in native versions. Ahead of my review, check out my sample images and movies!

Canon EOS M200 review

14 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M200 is an entry-level mirrorless interchangeable lens camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, tilting touchscreen and cropped 4k video. Successor to the EOS M100, it becomes Canon’s smallest, lightest and cheapest mirrorless in the current range. Find out if it's the ideal budget camera in my full review!

Nikon Z50 review - preview

10 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Nikon Z50 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 20.88 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k video, viewfinder, tilting touchscreen and 11fps bursts. Announced in October 2019, it’s Nikon’s first DX-format mirrorless camera, which means it uses a cropped APSC sensor. I went hands-on for my preview!

Canon EOS 90D review

07 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 90D is an upper mid-range DSLR with a 32.5 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel AF for live view and movies, 45-point AF through the viewfinder, 10fps shooting, uncropped 4k video at 25 or 30p, and a fully-articulated touchscreen. Find out whether this new DSLR is right for you in my full review packed with comparisons!

Sony A9 II review - preview

03 Oct 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A9 II is a high-end 24.2 Megapixel full-frame mirrorless camera, aimed at professional sports photographers. It combines the core A9 features of 20fps silent shooting and zero blackout with a raft of body upgrades from the A7r IV and the latest AF and processing to become Sony’s most professional body. Find out more in my preview!

Canon SX70 HS review

02 Oct 2019 Ken McMahon

The Canon SX70 HS is a super-zoom camera with DSLR-styling, 20 Megapixels and a 65x / 21-1365mm optical zoom. The SX70 HS keeps the body, zoom and flip-screen of its predecessor, but upgrades the resolution and viewfinder while adding 4k video and 10fps. Find out if it's still King of the super-zooms in our full review!

Canon EOS M6 II review

30 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M6 Mark II is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 32.5 Megapixel APSC sensor, uncropped 4k video at 25 or 30p with Dual Pixel AF, 14fps shooting with autofocus, a tilting touchscreen and slide-on electronic viewfinder. Find out how it compares to the EOS M50, EOS 90D, Sony A6400 and Fujifilm X-T30 in my in=depth review!

Nikon COOLPIX B600 review

24 Sep 2019 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX B600 is DSLR-styled 'bridge' super-zoom camera sporting a 60x / 24-1440mm range at an affordable price. In his review, Ken compares it to models above and below it in Nikon's range as well as Canon's best-selling PowerShot SX70 HS. Find out which super-zoom will be best for you in his full review!

Sony A6600 review

09 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6600 is an upper mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in stabilisation, 4k video, 11fps bursts with autofocus, and increased battery life. It replaces the three-year-old A6500 as Sony’s flagship body and in my in-depth review I'll compare all of its pros and cons to rivals to help you decide!

Sony A6100 review so far

02 Sep 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6100 is an upper entry-level mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k video, 11fps shooting, viewfinder and tilting touchscreen. Announced in August 2019, it’s the official successor to the five and a half year old A6000, greatly improving the AF and video features. Check out my hands-on review-so-far!

Sony A7r IV review

26 Aug 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7r Mark IV is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 61 Megapixels, 10fps shooting, 4k video up to 30p, built-in stabilisation and a Pixel Shift Composite mode that generates images with up to 240 Megapixels. Find out if it's the high-res body for you in my full review!

Canon PowerShot G5X II review

21 Aug 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon PowerShot G5X Mark II is a high-end compact with a 1in sensor, 5x / 24-120mm zoom, popup viewfinder, tilting touchscreen, fast bursts and 4k video. Canon’s redesigned the body to become more pocketable while squeezing-in a longer zoom range. Find out if it's your ideal compact in my full review!

Canon PowerShot G7X III review

19 Aug 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon G7X Mark III is a compact aimed at enthusiasts and vloggers. It keeps the 24-100mm f1.8-2.8 lens and much the same body of the G7X II but updates the sensor for faster shooting and uncropped 4k video, and becomes the first 1in compact with a mic input and live streaming straight to YouTube. Check out my in-depth review!

Nikon COOLPIX W150 review

12 Aug 2019 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX W150 is an affordable rugged waterproof compact designed for active kids and families. It'll survive falls of 1.8m, temperatures of -10 Celsius and work up to 10m underwater. Take it to the beach, on the piste, by the pool or in the sea without worrying. Find out why every family needs a rugged camera in Ken's COOLPIX…

Fujifilm XP140 review

05 Aug 2019 Ken McMahon

The Fujifilm FinePix XP140 is a mid-priced waterproof camera with 16 Megapixels, a 5x / 28-140mm zoom and rugged credentials including an impressive 25m depth rating, the ability to operate down to -10 c and survive falls from 1.8m. Ken compared it to pricier and cheaper options to help you make the right choice!

Olympus TOUGH TG6 review

29 Jul 2019 Ken McMahon

The Olympus TOUGH TG-6 is the latest model in the company's massively popular rugged series. It’s waterproof to 15 metres, freezeproof to -10C, can withstand a crushing force of 100Kg and a drop from 2.1m. It keeps the 25-100mm zoom of its predecessor with its bright aperture and unsurpassed macro, but upgrades the screen and underwater modes. Find out if…

Sony RX100 VII review

25 Jul 2019 Gordon Laing

The Sony RX100 VII is a high-end compact designed for travel, action, video and vlogging, with a 20 Megapixel 1in sensor, 24-200mm zoom, flip screen, popup viewfinder, fast burst shooting, 4k video and mic input. Find out if it’s the compact for you in my review-so-far!

Fujifilm GFX 100 review

23 Jul 2019 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 100 is a medium-format mirrorless camera with 100 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, phase-detect autofocus, a large and very detailed viewfinder and 4k video. The third model in Fujifilm’s GFX series combines industry-leading resolution with the faster handling and video capabilities of smaller cameras. Check out my final in-depth review!

Canon Zoemini S IVY Cliq+ review

27 Jun 2019 Gordon Laing

The Canon Zoemini S, or IVY CLIQ+, is a pocketable instant camera that captures 8 Megapixel images and outputs them as 2x3in instant prints one minute after taking the shot. You can also save images onto an SD card or print from your phone via Bluetooth. Find out how Canon’s debut instant camera measures-up in my review!

Fujifilm GFX 50R review so far

10 Jun 2019 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 50R is a rangefinder-styled medium format mirrorless camera with 50 Megapixels and a built-in electronic viewfinder. It’s thinner and lighter than the original GFX 50S but sports the same quality. Check out my sample images from Brighton and Tokyo in my review-so-far!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2019 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey