In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Canon SX740 HS review

17 Sep 2018 Ken McMahon

The Canon SX740 HS is a pocket super-zoom with a 40x / 24-960mm range, 20 Megapixel sensor, 4k video, Wifi and Bluetooth. It's a mild refresh over the SX730 HS, but now employs the latest DIGIC 8 processor to support 4k video and 10fps bursts. Find out if it's for you in my review.

Fujifilm XT3 review so far

10 Sep 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T3 is a high-end mirrorless camera which debuts the new 26 Megapixel X-Trans IV sensor with much improved autofocus, burst shooting and movie capabilities, including 30fps bursts and 4k video at 60p in 10 bit. My review-so-far includes sample images, movies and my first-looks video!

Canon EOS R review so far

05 Sep 2018 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 30 Megapixels, Dual Pixel CMOS AF, 4k video, a 3.69 Million dot EVF and fully-articulated touchscreen. It’s the first full frame mirrorless camera from Canon and launches the new RF lens mount. Discover the highlights in my first-looks video review!

Panasonic Lumix LX100 II review so far

27 Aug 2018 Ken McMahon

The Panasonic Lumix LX100 II is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts. It inherits the controls, viewfinder, multi-aspect ratios and 24-75mm f1.7-2.8 lens of the original Mark I but upgrades the resolution, adds a touchscreen, Bluetooth and the latest 4K Photo modes. Check out Ken's review-so-far!

Nikon Z6 review so far

24 Aug 2018 Gordon Laing

The Nikon Z6 is a full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at enthusiasts, featuring 24 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, 273 embedded AF points and 12fps burst shooting. Check out my hands-on preview!

DJI Mavic 2 Pro / Zoom review

24 Aug 2018 Adam Juniper

The DJI Mavic 2 is a mid-range drone available in two versions with different cameras: the Zoom has a 2x optical zoom and 1/2.3in sensor, and the Pro has a fixed lens but a larger 1in sensor for a slightly higher price. Find out if these are the drones you're looking for in Adam's review!

Nikon Z7 review so far

23 Aug 2018 Gordon Laing

The Nikon Z7 is a high-end full-frame mirrorless camera aimed at enthusiasts and professionals, featuring 45 Megapixels, built-in stabilisation, 493 embedded AF points and 9fps burst shooting. I went hands-on for my preview!

DJI Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 Review

13 Aug 2018 Adam Juniper

The Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 is the latest version of DJI's hugely popular drone series aimed at enthusiasts. Equipped with a 1in sensor camera and an improved radio system, it's the best Phantom yet, but is it right for you? Adam finds out in his Phantom 4 Pro+ V2.0 review!

Olympus PEN EPL9 review

06 Aug 2018 Ken McMahon

The Olympus PEN EPL9 is a stylish entry-level mirrorless camera aimed at bloggers or social photographers wanting to upgrade their smartphone photography. It features a 16 Megapixel Four Thirds sensor, 4k video, Bluetooth and Wifi. Find out if it's the best budget mirrorless in Ken's review!

Fujifilm XA5 review

30 Jul 2018 Ken McMahon

The Fujifilm XA5 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, tilting touchscreen, Bluetooth and Wifi. Successor to the XA3, it's Fujifilm's smallest and lightest mirrorless body with an X mount. Find out if its right for you in Ken's review!

Fujifilm XT100 review

23 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T100 is an entry-level mirrorless camera, aimed at beginners, social photographers and vloggers, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, built-in viewfinder and tilting touchscreen that can flip sideways to face the subject. Find out if it's right for you in my final review!

Fujifilm XF10 review - preview

19 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XF10 is a high-end compact camera aimed at enthusiasts, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, fixed 28mm f2.8 equivalent lens, touchscreen, Wifi and Bluetooth. Find out more about this unofficial successor to the X70, how it compares and where it fits in the range in my preview!

Parrot Anafi review

16 Jul 2018 Adam Juniper

The Parrot Anafi is a mid-range drone with 4k video and a powered gimbal. Parrot's most sophisticated drone to date, it's pitched squarely against the DJI Mavic Air, undercutting it on price and boasting some unique features. Adam takes it for a spin in his full review!

Nikon COOLPIX P1000 review - preview

10 Jul 2018 Gordon Laing

The Nikon COOLPIX P1000 is a DSLR-styled super-zoom camera with a massive 125x range, taking it from an equivalent of 24-3000mm. The P1000 has a 16 Megapixel sensor, can film 4k video and has a built-in OLED viewfinder and fully-articulated screen. Check out my preview!

Panasonic Lumix FT7 / TS7 review

09 Jul 2018 Ken McMahon

The Panasonic Lumix FT7 / TS7 is the company's latest rugged waterproof compact. Waterproof to 31 metres, It replaces the Lumix FT5 / TS5 with a 20.4 Megapixel sensor, a stabilised 4.6x zoom and, for the first time on an FT model, a built-in electronic viewfinder. Check out Ken's final review!

Sony RX100 VI review

12 Jun 2018 Gordon Laing

The Sony RX100 VI is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts. It takes the earlier Mark V with its 20 MP sensor, confident focusing, 4k video and super slow motion, but squeezes a longer 24-200mm range into essentially the same body. Check out my hands-on preview with samples!

Fujifilm Instax SQ6 review

28 May 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm Instax SQ6 is an analogue instant camera that looks like the classic Instagram logo. It's Fujifilm's second instant camera to use the Instax Square format that outputs 2.4x2.4in prints, but unlike last year's digital SQ10, embraces the analogue process. Check out my review!

Canon EOS 4000D review

14 May 2018 Ken McMahon

Canon's EOS 4000D is a low-priced DSLR that aims to make creative photography more affordable. It offers an 18 Megapixel APSC sensor, 1080p video, 9-point AF, 3fps and Wifi. There's few frills, but it's a solid spec for the money. Check out my review!

Panasonic Lumix GX9 review

07 May 2018 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GX9 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 20 Megapixel Four Thirds sensor, built-in stabilisation, a viewfinder and screen which both tilt, 4k video and Wifi with Bluetooth. It may follow the GX8, but is pitched a little lower with a smaller body too. See my review!

Canon EOS 2000D / Rebel T7 review

30 Apr 2018 Ken McMahon

Canon's EOS 2000D / Rebel T7 is an entry-level DSLR aimed at beginners, sporting a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, 1080p video, 9-point AF, 3fps shooting, Wifi and NFC. It may lack the frills of higher-end bodies, but provides the basics at a low price. Check out my review!

Canon EOS M50 review

17 Apr 2018 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS M50 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, viewfinder, Wifi and Bluetooth, and becomes Canon's first mirrorless with 4k video, a fully-articulated touch-screen, eye detection and silent shooting options. Find out more in my review!

Sony A9 review

09 Apr 2018 Gordon Laing

Sony's Alpha A9 is a pro mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor and fully electronic shutter featuring 20fps shooting, silent and vibration-free operation, no viewfinder blackout, 4k video, and autofocus across the whole frame. Find out why it's as compelling for sports pros as it is wedding and event shooters in my review!

Fujifilm XH1 review

26 Mar 2018 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-H1 is the new flagship in the mirrorless X-series. It takes the X-T2 with its 24 Megapixel APSC X-Trans III sensor and adds built-in stabilisation, a touch-screen, bigger grip, enhanced movie features and Bluetooth. Find out more in my in-depth review!

Sony A7 III review

12 Mar 2018 Gordon Laing

The Sony Alpha A7 III is the latest 'entry-level' model in the full-frame Alpha mirrorless series. It features a new 24 MP back-illuminated sensor, built-in stabilisation, a 693-point AF system, 10fps shooting, 4k video, and the longest battery of a mirrorless to date. Check out my in-depth review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.com

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.co.uk

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.de

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.fr

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.es

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.it

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.ca

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it from amazon.com

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2018 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey