In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Fujifilm X100V long term review

31 Dec 2023 Gordon Laing

This is my long-term review of the Fujifilm X100V, a camera that’s become a bit of a modern classic, not to mention a regular companion on my own trips for several years. As the X100V approaches its fourth birthday, a successor is inevitable, but it’s worth discussing what makes it special and equally what it doesn’t do so well.

Nikon D80 RETRO review

29 Dec 2023 Gordon Laing

The Nikon D80 is a classic DSLR from 2006 with one of the last large CCD sensors in the series. Find out why it's become the best DSLR under $99 in my retro review!

Sony A9 III review so far

30 Nov 2023 Gordon Laing

The Sony Alpha 9 III is a supremely quick 24 MP full-frame camera, with a global shutter that allows 120fps bursts, flash sync up to 1/80,000 and photos and videos that are free from distortion. Here's my review so far!

DJI Osmo Pocket 3 review

17 Nov 2023 Gordon Laing

The DJI Osmo Pocket 3 is a compact camera aimed at vloggers and content creators. It continues the concept of previous models, but improves on them in every regard. Find out why you'll want it in our review!

Panasonic Lumix G9 II review

14 Sep 2023 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix G9 Mark II is a mirrorless camera sporting a new 25 MP Micro Four Thirds sensor with even faster bursts and phase-detect autofocus! Find out more in my review!

Fujifilm GFX 100 II review

14 Sep 2023 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 100 II is a medium format mirrorless camera with a new 102 MP sensor, 8fps bursts and 8k video. Find out why it's their best GFX to date in my review!

Sony A6700 review

12 Jul 2023 Gordon Laing

The Sony A6700 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor, 4k 120 video and IBIS. It's Sony’s first new hybrid APSC camera in four years, so find out how it performs in my in-depth review!

Fujifilm instax SQ40 review

16 Jun 2023 Gordon Laing

The SQ40 is an analogue instant camera that uses Fujifilm's instax Square film. Like the Mini 40, the SQ40 swaps pastel colours for a more serious look. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Fujifilm XS20 review

30 May 2023 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-S20 is a compact mid-range mirrorless camera with a 26 Megapixel APSC sensor, 6.2k open gate video and IBIS. Find out if it's your ideal camera in my review!

Canon EOS R100 review

25 May 2023 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R100 is a compact entry-level mirrorless camera with a cropped APSC sensor aimed at anyone wanting a step-up in control and quality over their phone. Find out what’s new - or missing - versus the R50, R10 and R7 in my review so far!

Canon PowerShot V10 review

11 May 2023 Gordon Laing

The Canon PowerShot V10 is a vlogging camera that combines the quality of the popular G7X III with a bunch of features tailor-made for those who love making videos. Here's my review!

Sony ZV-E1 review

29 Mar 2023 Gordon Laing

The Sony ZV-E1 is a full-frame mirrorless camera which packs the A7S III sensor into a smaller body with features designed to make filming easier, especially if you’re a team of one. Here's my review!

Fujifilm INSTAX Mini 12 review

07 Mar 2023 Gordon Laing

The INSTAX Mini 12 is the latest instant camera to use Fujifilm’s enormously popular INSTAX Mini film. Find out in my review why the upgrades over the 11 make it the best budget instant camera!

Canon EOS R50 review

08 Feb 2023 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R50 is a tiny mirrorless camera aimed at those looking to raise their game from a phone or basic model, or anyone simply wanting one of the cutest little cameras around. Here's my review!

Canon EOS R8 review

08 Feb 2023 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R8 is a compact full-frame mirrorless camera that packs the photo, video and autofocus quality of the R6 II into a smaller, lighter and much more affordable body. There’s obviously sacrifices, but does it now become the best value full-framer? Find out in my review!

Canon EOS R6 Mark II review

23 Jan 2023 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R6 Mark II is a full-frame mirrorless camera with a new 24 Megapixel sensor and uncropped 4k up to 60p. Find out all about it in my review!

Panasonic Lumix S5 II review

04 Jan 2023 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix S5 II is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 24 Megapixels, 6k video, and in a first for a Lumix, PDAF! Find out everything in my in-depth review!

Canon EOS R7 review

08 Dec 2022 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS R7 is a high-end cropped-frame mirrorless camera with a 32MP APSC sensor, 4k 60p video and IBIS. Canon’s calling it their ultimate APSC camera. Find out why in my in-depth review!

Sony A7R V review

28 Nov 2022 Gordon Laing

The Sony A7R Mark V is a full-frame mirrorless camera with 61 Megapixels, 8k video and a new AF system with AI to better track subjects. Check out my in-depth review!

Fujifilm XT5 review

14 Nov 2022 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-T5 is a mirrorless camera with a 40 Megapixel APSC sensor, 6.2k video, built-in stabilisation, tilting screen and the classic control dials many of you love from previous models. Check out my full review!

Canon SELPHY CP1500 review

03 Oct 2022 Gordon Laing

The Canon SELPHY CP1500 is a compact photo printer that can make lab-quality 6x4in postcard prints from your phone, computer or camera. Find out why you'd want it in my review!

Fujifilm XH2 review

08 Sep 2022 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-H2 is a high-end mirrorless camera with a new 40 Megapixel APSC sensor and 8k video. Check out my full review!

Fujifilm XH2S review

16 Jul 2022 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm X-H2S is a high-end mirrorless camera with a new 26 MP stacked sensor, 40fps bursts, IBIS and 6.2k video. I've now completed my final in-depth review!

Insta360 ONE RS 1-inch 360 Edition review

28 Jun 2022 Gordon Laing

The ONE RS 1-inch 360 Edition from Insta360 captures immersive photos or videos you can explore in headsets or scroll-around on screens, but what makes it stand out are larger 1in sensors. Find out how it performs in our review!

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

In Camera by Gordon Laing

Buy it at Amazon!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2022 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Website design by Coolgrey