In-depth reviews by Gordon Laing and friends

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Cameras

Fujifilm Instax Mini 9 review

14 Aug 2017 Gordon Laing

The Instax Mini 9 is the latest affordable instant camera to use Fujifilm's hugely popular Instax Mini film. It's based on the best-selling Mini 8 and adds a selfie mirror and close-up accessory, as well as coming in five pastel colours. Find out if it's the best low-cost instant camera in my review!

Nikon Coolpix W100 review

07 Aug 2017 Ken McMahon

Nikon's COOLPIX W100 is a low-priced rugged camera designed for active kids and adults. Waterproof to 10m, freeze-proof and surviving drops from 1.8m, it's a camera you can take anywhere. Find out why it's one of the best waterproof compacts in Ken's review!

Nikon Coolpix W300 review

31 Jul 2017 Ken McMahon

The Nikon COOLPIX W300 is a rugged waterproof compact with a 5x optical zoom and a 16 Megapixel sensor. It keeps the 24-120mm zoom of the earlier AW130 and 30m water-proofness, and upgrades it with 4k video and better wireless. Find out why it's a great all-rounder in Ken's review!

Canon EOS 200D / Rebel SL2 review

25 Jul 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS 200D / Rebel SL2 is a compact DSLR that's a step-up from entry-level models. Available in three colours, it sports a 24MP sensor with confident movie focusing, a fully-articulated touchscreen, and Wifi with Bluetooth. Find out why it's one of the best DSLRs for the money in my review!

DJI Spark review

17 Jul 2017 Adam Juniper

The Spark is DJI's smallest and most affordable drone to date, opening the possibility - and fun - of a flying camera to anyone considering a premium compact. Drone expert Adam Juniper took the Spark on holiday for his in-depth review. Find out why he loved it and why you need one!

Fujifilm Finepix XP120 review

10 Jul 2017 Ken McMahon

Fujifilm's FinePix XP120 is a waterproof camera that can dive to 20m and survive temperatures of -10c as well as drops from 1.75m. There's a 5x / 28-140mm zoom, 3in screen and Wifi. Ken compared it to the high-end Olympus TOUGH TG5 in his review. Find out which is your ideal waterproof camera!

Canon PowerShot SX730 HS review

03 Jul 2017 Ken McMahon

The PowerShot SX730 HS is Canon's flagship pocket superzoom. Like its predecessor, it packs 20 Megapixels and a 40x / 24-960mm zoom into a pocket body, now with a tilting screen and Bluetooth. Find out how it compares to the Lumix TZ90 / ZS70 in Ken's review!

Canon EOS 6D Mark II preview

29 Jun 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS 6D Mark II is an 'affordable' full-frame DSLR which upgrades the original 6D with a higher resolution 26MP sensor, improved autofocus, faster burst shooting, greater connectivity and an articulated touchscreen. Find out more in my hands-on preview!

Olympus TOUGH TG5 review

19 Jun 2017 Ken McMahon

The TOUGH TG5 is a high quality waterproof camera from Olympus that's designed for rugged photography. Waterproof to 15m, freezeproof to -10c, and sealed from dust and sand, you can take it anywhere. Find out why it's the best rugged camera Ken's tested in his review!

Fujifilm Instax SQ10 review

12 Jun 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm SQ10 is the latest Instax cameras which can output small instant prints. It's the first model in the series to output square photos and the first to employ a digital sensor, screen and storage, letting you choose what and when to print. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Panasonic Lumix TZ90 / ZS70 review

05 Jun 2017 Ken McMahon

The Lumix TZ90, or ZS70 as it's known in North America, is the latest in Panasonic's enormously successful pocket travel zoom series. It packs a 30x / 24-720mm zoom, 4k video, RAW files, built-in EVF and now features a tilting touchscreen and 20MP. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Fujifilm X100F review

30 May 2017 Gordon Laing

Fujifilm's X100F is a high-end compact aimed at enthusiasts and street photographers. Fourth in the X100 series, the X100F packs Fuji's latest 24MP sensor into a fixed-lens 35mm f2 compact with a hybrid viewfinder, AF joystick and ISO dial, and as such becomes a compact fixed lens version of the X-Pro2. Check out my full review!

Panasonic Lumix GX800 / GX850 review

15 May 2017 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix GX800 / GX850 is an entry-level mirrorless camera that's aimed at anyone upgrading from a phone or compact camera. It features a 16 Megapixel Micro Four Thirds sensor, 1080p or 4k video, built-in Wifi and a touchscreen that flips up by 180 degrees for selfie shooting. Find out if it's for you in my review!

Sony Alpha A9 review

28 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

Sony's Alpha A9 is a new flagship mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel full-frame sensor and fully electronic shutter featuring 20fps shooting, silent operation, 1/32000 shutter, 4k video, dual SD slots, bigger battery, touchscreen and AF joystick. I've been testing a final production sample, so check out my review-in-progress!

Fujifilm XT20 review

17 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm XT20 is a mid-range mirrorless camera that takes the 24 Megapixel sensor, image processor and AF of the XT2, and complements them with a touchscreen and popup flash. So you get the quality of the XT2 in a smaller and more affordable body - find out if it's for you in my in-depth review!

Nikon D7500 preview

12 Apr 2017 Gordon Laing

The D7500 is Nikon's latest upper mid-range DSLR, successor to the D7200 and slotting between the D5600 and D500. It inherits the 20.9 Megapixel sensor and image processor of the D500, to deliver the same image quality and 4k video. The 51 point AF of the D7200 remains, but it now shoots faster at 8fps. It loses the twin SD…

Panasonic Lumix FZ80 / FZ82 review

10 Apr 2017 Ken McMahon

Panasonic's Lumix FZ80 / FZ82 is a super-zoom camera with a 60x / 20-1200mm range, 18 Megapixels and 4k video. The screen's now touch-sensitive and both it and the viewfinder are more detailed than before. There's also 1080p at 120fps and USB charging. Find out if it's the bridge super-zoom for you in Ken's in-depth review!

Panasonic Lumix GH5 review

27 Mar 2017 Gordon Laing

The Lumix GH5 is Panasonic's flagship camera, aimed at enthusiasts and video pros. It features a 20 Megapixel sensor that's stabilized in the body, there's twin SD slots, quicker focusing, 9fps bursts, Wifi and Bluetooth. But it's the video that really impresses: unlimited 4k up to 60p with internal recording. Check out my in-depth Lumix GH5 review!

Canon EOS M5 review

20 Mar 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS M5 is a mid-range mirrorless featuring a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel CMOS AF, built-in OLED electronic viewfinder and a tilting 3.2in touchscreen. It'll shoot at 7fps with CAF, film 1080 60p video, and offers an always-on low-power Bluetooth link. Is it the mirrorless for you? Find out in Gordon's review.

Canon EOS M6 preview

15 Feb 2017 Gordon Laing

Canon's EOS M6 is a mid-range mirrorless camera with a 24 Megapixel APSC sensor, Dual Pixel CMOS AF, a tilting touch-screen and 1080p video. The addition of Bluetooth maintains a connection with your phone and if you want a viewfinder, an optional accessory mounts on the hotshoe. Find out more in my hands-on Canon EOS M6 preview!

Canon EOS 77D preview

15 Feb 2017 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 77D is a mid-range DSLR, aimed as a step-up from entry-level models. It employs a 24 Megapixel sensor with Dual Pixel CMOS AF, the optical viewfinder features a new 45-point / all cross-type AF system, and there's also a fully-articulated 3in touch-screen and built-in Wifi with Bluetooth. Find out more in my Canon EOS 77D preview!

Canon EOS Rebel T7i / 800D preview

15 Feb 2017 Gordon Laing

The Canon EOS 800D, or Rebel T7i as it's known in North America, is an upper entry-level DSLR, aimed at photographers wanting a step-up from the most basic models. It features a 24 Megapixel sensor with Dual Pixel CMOS AF, a 45-point viewfinder AF system, and a fully-articulated touch-screen. Find out more in my EOS 800D / T7i preview!

Panasonic Lumix G80 / G85 review

31 Jan 2017 Gordon Laing

The Panasonic Lumix G80 / G85 is a mid-range mirrorless camera based on the Micro Four Thirds standard. It employs a 16 Megapixel sensor which supports 1080 and 4k video, the latter exploited in Panasonic's 4K Photo modes. The built-in IS has been upgraded, the body now weather-sealed and the viewfinder enlarged. Find out why it's one of the best…

Fujifilm GFX 50S preview

25 Jan 2017 Gordon Laing

The Fujifilm GFX 50S is a medium format mirrorless camera with a 51.4 Megapixel sensor that's 1.7 times larger than the full-frame 35mm format. It's the first model in Fujifilm's new GFX system, aimed at photographers who want the ultimate in image quality. I've been shooting with a pre-production body and all three of the new lenses, so check out…

Looking for all my reviews at cameralabs? Here’s a complete list of my camera reviews, previews and samples pages, although some of the oldest are in the process of being added. Don’t worry, you can still find them by using the search tool above. If you’re looking for my recommendations of the best cameras I’ve reviewed, head over to my best DSLR, best mirrorless camera, best point and shoot camera or best superzoom camera guides, or if you’re into lenses, check out my best Canon lenses, best Nikon lenses or best Micro Four Thirds lenses guides!

 

Canon camera reviews


Fujifilm camera reviews


Nikon camera reviews


Olympus camera reviews


Panasonic camera reviews


Sony camera reviews


Buy Gordon a coffee to support cameralabs!

Like my reviews? Buy me a coffee!

Follow Gordon Laing

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2017 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

Website design by Coolgrey