Support Cameralabs by shopping at our partner stores or donating via Paypal
 






Follow my RSS feed at Camera Labs RSS Feed
 
  Latest camera reviews

Sony Cyber-shot W830
Nikon COOLPIX L830
Nikon D750
Canon SX400 IS
Sony Cyber-shot H400
Panasonic Lumix LX100
Canon SX60 HS
Canon ELPH 340 IXUS 265
Canon G7X
Nikon COOLPIX P530
Canon SX520 HS
Canon G1 X Mark II
Panasonic Lumix FZ1000
Panasonic TZ60 / ZS40
Sony RX100 III review
Sony A3000 review
Canon EOS 1200D T5
Sony WX350
Nikon P600
Sony Alpha A5000
Sony Cyber-shot HX400V
Panasonic Lumix GH4
Panasonic TS5 FT5
Sony Alpha A6000
Canon SX700 HS
Canon SX600 HS
Olympus TOUGH TG2
Nikon AW1
Nikon D3300
Fujifilm XT1
Olympus STYLUS 1
Sony Cyber-shot RX10
Olympus OMD EM1
Panasonic Lumix GM1
Nikon D610
Sony Alpha A7
Nikon D5300
Canon PowerShot A2500
Sony Alpha A7r
Canon ELPH 130 IXUS 140
Nikon COOLPIX P520
Nikon COOLPIX L820
Canon PowerShot S120
Panasonic Lumix GX7
Canon SX510 HS
Canon PowerShot G16
Fujifilm X20
Panasonic FZ70 / FZ72
Canon EOS 70D
Sony RX100 II
Canon ELPH 330 IXUS 255
Panasonic Lumix GF6
Fujifilm XM1
Olympus EP5
Panasonic Lumix LF1
Panasonic TZ35 / ZS25
Olympus XZ2
Sony HX300
Panasonic Lumix G6
Sony HX50V
Fujifilm X100S
Canon SX280 HS
Canon EOS SL1 / 100D
Panasonic TZ40 / ZS30
Nikon D7100
Nikon COOLPIX A
Fujifilm X-E1
Canon EOS 6D
Nikon D5200
Panasonic Lumix GH3
Canon PowerShot S110
Panasonic Lumix G5
Sony NEX-6
Panasonic Lumix FZ200
Canon PowerShot SX50 HS
Nikon COOLPIX P7700
Olympus E-PL5
Canon EOS M
Panasonic TS20 / FT20
Canon PowerShot G15
Nikon D600
Nikon COOLPIX L810
Canon PowerShot D20
Sony RX100
Panasonic Lumix LX7
Canon SX500 IS
Fujifilm HS30 EXR
Sony HX200V
Panasonic FZ60 / FZ62
Canon 520HS / 500HS
Canon 110HS / 125HS
Nikon D800
Canon EOS T4i / 650D
Canon PowerShot A3400
Panasonic ZS15 / TZ25
Olympus E-M5
Nikon D3200
Fujifilm X-Pro1
Canon PowerShot A2300
Canon SX240 / SX260
Samsung NX200
Sony Alpha SLT-A77
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Panasonic ZS20 / TZ30
Canon PowerShot G1 X
Sony NEX-7
Panasonic GX1
Olympus E-PM1
Nikon V1
Sony NEX-5N
Canon EOS T3 / 1100D
Canon EOS 600D / T3i
Nikon D7000
Canon EOS 60D
Canon EOS 550D / T2i
Canon EOS 7D

All camera reviews
 
 
   
 
  Best Buys: our top models
   
  Best Canon lens
Best Nikon lens
Best Sony lens
Best budget DSLR
Best mid-range DSLR
Best semi-pro DSLR
Best point and shoot
Best superzoom
Best camera accessories
   
 



Camera Labs Forum

Any questions, comments or a great tip to share? Join my Camera forum and let everyone know!
   
 
  DSLR Tips



 
Support me when shopping at Amazon by clicking through to them here! The prices are the same, but they share some profit, and that's what pays for my work! Thanks, Gordon
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX35 Gordon Laing, March 2008

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX35 gallery

The following images were taken with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX35. The FX35 was set to Normal recording mode with Auto White Balance and the Standard Colour mode. Optical Image Stabilisation was enabled for all these handheld images.

The individual exposure mode, file sizes, shutter speeds, aperture, ISO and lens focal length are listed for each image.

The crops are taken from the original files, reproduced at 100% and saved in Adobe Photoshop CS2 as JPEGs with the default Very High quality preset, while the resized images were made in Photoshop CS2 and saved with the default High quality preset.

The three crops are typically taken from far left, central and far right portions of each image.


Landscape: 4.27MB, Normal mode, 1/800, f4.5, ISO 100, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  Our first shot was taken with the FX35 fully zoomed-out to an equivalent of 25mm on a sunny day at a sensitivity of 100 ISO - as such, it represents ideal conditions.

If you're familiar with the Camera Labs Galleries, you'll immediately notice this shot is capturing a much wider field of view than other cameras even at 28mm - our first shot with the Lumix TZ5 was taken from the same spot.

So the FX35 can capture a big view with its 25mm coverage and there's no fringing to complain about here, but sadly the crops reveal some processing artefacts even at 100 ISO.
     


Landscape: 4.62MB, Normal mode, 1/800, f4, ISO 100, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  Our second shot was taken under similarly bright conditions at 100 ISO, so again represents the FX35's best potential quality.

The crops reveal the new lens performs well at its widest equivalent of 25mm, capturing images with plenty of detail and no fringing to worry about.

The lighting and detail here also hide any issues with noise and processing, although as we'll see on the next image, there are issues even at 100 ISO.
     


Landscape: 4.71MB, Normal mode, 1/500, f3.5, ISO 100, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  Our third image again illustrates the wide angle coverage of the FX35 when zoomed-out to an equivalent of 25mm.

The photo was taken close to the tree, but easily squeezed it all in, making the FX35 a boon in situations when you can't step back any further.

The crops unsurprisingly show some distortion close to the corners, but they're still optically well-corrected.

Sadly there is however quite visible noise in shadow areas, despite the 100 ISO sensitivity.
     


Portrait: 4.40MB, Normal mode, 1/800, f5.6, ISO 200, 4.4-17.6mm at 17.6mm (equivalent to 100mm)

  After three shots zoomed-out to the widest setting, here's one with the FX35 zoomed-into an equivalent of 100mm.

We increased the sensitivity to 200 ISO, selected Face Detection and forced the flash to fire.

Face Detection locked onto the subject with no problem, and the flash filled-in any harsh shadows.

The increase to 200 ISO though has resulted in noticeable noise and processing artefacts, especially on flat colours when viewed at 100%.
     


Landscape: 4.33MB, Normal mode, 1/800, f7.1, ISO 200, 4.4-17.6mm at 17.6mm (equivalent to 100mm)


    This next shot was again taken with theFX35 zoomed-into 100mm and at 200 ISO.

Again we're pleased to report an absence of coloured fringing, and the FX35 had no problems focusing on this approaching boat. But again if you're viewing at 100%, you'll see noise throughout the image.

This will only bother pixel peepers or people who want big prints, but it's definitely worth noting the FX35 has noise throughout its range if you're looking for it.
     
   
     
   


Macro: 4.30MB, Normal mode, 1/800, f6.3, ISO 400, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  For this macro shot we increased the sensitivity to 400 ISO and positioned the camera as close as it could focus - at a distance of 5cm.

The lighting and subject matter can be quite forgiving on noise and processing artefacts here, although look closely and you'll see the drop in quality resulted from the increase in sensitivity.

However the optics again perform well and at 5cm you can enjoy some decent close-up results.

     


Indoor: 4.12MB, Normal mode, 1/40, f2.8, ISO 400, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  Our first indoor shot was taken at a sensitivity of 400 ISO and with the FX35's AF mode set to Face Detection.

The camera locked onto the subject, although at 400 ISO, there's significant noise and processing artefacts when viewed at 100%.

Flat areas of colour show noticeable speckling, while fine details around the eyelid are quite mottled.

     


Indoor: 2.82MB, Normal mode, 1/20, f2.8, ISO 800, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  Our second indoor shot was taken with the sensitivity increased to 800 ISO, and as you'd expect, there's a further drop in quality along with a rise in noise and processing artefacts.

That said, if you're printing small or not looking too closely, it can be acceptable for some situations, while the stabilisation (here used in Mode 2) has eliminated any camera shake.
     


Indoor: 2.37MB, Normal mode , 1/60, f2.8, ISO 1600, 4.4-17.6mm at 4.4mm (equivalent to 25mm)

  Our final shot was taken with the FX35 at 1600 ISO, and unsurprisingly the quality has fallen further.

Noise has now become quite obtrusive, detail has been lost, and there's also a fall in saturation on the image viewed in its entirety at a reduced size.

Like other compacts, 1600 ISO remains an overly ambitious sensitivity, that's best used for emergencies only.
   

 

If you found this review useful, please support us by shopping below!
All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2014 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs