Support Cameralabs by shopping at our partner stores or donating via Paypal
 






Follow my RSS feed at Camera Labs RSS Feed
 
  Latest camera reviews

Canon SX520 HS
Canon G1 X Mark II
Panasonic Lumix FZ1000
Panasonic TZ60 / ZS40
Sony RX100 III review
Sony A3000 review
Canon EOS 1200D T5
Sony WX350
Nikon P600
Sony Alpha A5000
Sony Cyber-shot HX400V
Panasonic Lumix GH4
Panasonic TS5 FT5
Sony Alpha A6000
Canon SX700 HS
Canon SX600 HS
Olympus TOUGH TG2
Nikon AW1
Nikon D3300
Fujifilm XT1
Olympus STYLUS 1
Sony Cyber-shot RX10
Olympus OMD EM1
Panasonic Lumix GM1
Nikon D610
Sony Alpha A7
Nikon D5300
Canon PowerShot A2500
Sony Alpha A7r
Canon ELPH 130 IXUS 140
Nikon COOLPIX P520
Nikon COOLPIX L820
Canon PowerShot S120
Panasonic Lumix GX7
Canon SX510 HS
Canon PowerShot G16
Fujifilm X20
Panasonic FZ70 / FZ72
Canon EOS 70D
Sony RX100 II
Canon ELPH 330 IXUS 255
Panasonic Lumix GF6
Fujifilm XM1
Olympus EP5
Panasonic Lumix LF1
Panasonic TZ35 / ZS25
Olympus XZ2
Sony HX300
Panasonic Lumix G6
Sony HX50V
Fujifilm X100S
Canon SX280 HS
Canon EOS SL1 / 100D
Panasonic TZ40 / ZS30
Nikon D7100
Nikon COOLPIX A
Fujifilm X-E1
Canon EOS 6D
Nikon D5200
Panasonic Lumix GH3
Canon PowerShot S110
Panasonic Lumix G5
Sony NEX-6
Panasonic Lumix FZ200
Canon PowerShot SX50 HS
Nikon COOLPIX P7700
Olympus E-PL5
Canon EOS M
Panasonic TS20 / FT20
Canon PowerShot G15
Nikon D600
Nikon COOLPIX L810
Canon PowerShot D20
Sony RX100
Panasonic Lumix LX7
Canon SX500 IS
Fujifilm HS30 EXR
Sony HX200V
Panasonic FZ60 / FZ62
Canon 520HS / 500HS
Canon 110HS / 125HS
Nikon D800
Canon EOS T4i / 650D
Canon PowerShot A3400
Panasonic ZS15 / TZ25
Olympus E-M5
Nikon D3200
Fujifilm X-Pro1
Canon PowerShot A2300
Canon SX240 / SX260
Samsung NX200
Sony Alpha SLT-A77
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Panasonic ZS20 / TZ30
Canon PowerShot G1 X
Sony NEX-7
Panasonic GX1
Olympus E-PM1
Nikon V1
Sony NEX-5N
Canon EOS T3 / 1100D
Canon EOS 600D / T3i
Nikon D7000
Canon EOS 60D
Canon EOS 550D / T2i
Canon EOS 7D

All camera reviews
 
 
   
 
  Best Buys: our top models
   
  Best Canon lens
Best Nikon lens
Best Sony lens
Best budget DSLR
Best mid-range DSLR
Best semi-pro DSLR
Best point and shoot
Best superzoom
Best camera accessories
   
 



Camera Labs Forum

Any questions, comments or a great tip to share? Join my Camera forum and let everyone know!
   
 
  DSLR Tips



 
Support me by shopping at Amazon!
Olympus µ 790 SW / Stylus 790 SW Gordon Laing, December 2007

Olympus µ 790 SW / Stylus 790 SW gallery

The following images were taken with the Olympus Stylus 790 SW. The 790 SW was set to its best-quality SHQ mode, with Auto White Balance and ESP Metering.

The individual exposure mode, file sizes, shutter speeds, aperture, ISO and lens focal length are listed for each image.

The crops are taken from the original files, reproduced at 100% and saved in Adobe Photoshop CS2 as JPEGs with the default Very High quality preset, while the resized images were made in Photoshop CS2 and saved with the default High quality preset.

The three crops are typically taken from far left, central and far right portions of each image.

Landscape: 2.88MB, Program, 1/500, f5, ISO 80, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equivalent to 38mm)

  Our first sample image was taken on a bright day with the 790 SW zoomed-out to wide angle and set to its lowest 80 ISO sensitivity. As such this represents perfect conditions.

Larger objects in the shot are resolved well with a good amount of detail, but the finest details in other areas are often lost to image processing and optical softness.

It's not a bad result, but as we'll see, the 790 SW is not a compact for the pixel-peepers among us.
 
     


Landscape: 2.90MB, Program, 1/400, f5, ISO 100, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equivalent to 38mm)

  Another shot taken at wide angle on a sunny day with the 790 SW set to 100 ISO.

As before, the equivalent focal length of 38mm isn't as wide as some compacts these days and anyone wanting to grab a big vista - or a large group shot - will be better served by a model with 28mm.

The crops as above are reasonably detailed and there's no detrimental effect of increasing to 100 ISO - as you'd hope.
 
     


Landscape: 2.86MB, Program, 1/30, f3.5, ISO 100, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equivalent to 38mm)


    Our final 100 ISO sample, although this time taken under very dim conditions.

As before, the 'widest' equivalent of 38mm has resulted in a tighter crop than many compacts these days, but the biggest issue here is the lack of optical or sensor-shift anti-shake facilities. In the absence of either, and not wanting to increase the sensitivity, we've had to balance the camera on a ledge.

The crops are ok, but lacking the ultimate crispness and detail of better models.
 
     
   
     
   


Portrait: 2.63MB, Program, 1/640, f8, ISO 200, 6.7-20.1mm at 20.1mm (equivalent to 114mm)

  This portrait shot was taken with the 790 SW fully zoomed-in to an equivalent of 114mm and the sensitivity increased to 200 ISO.

There's no manual control over aperture, so if you want a smaller depth-of-field, you'll need to put the camera into its Portrait preset.

The increase to 200 ISO has resulted in some softening of the image when viewed at 100%, but printed or viewed smaller, it's still acceptable.
 
     


Macro: 2.83MB, Program, 1/1000, f7.1, ISO 400, 6.7-20.1mm at 9mm (equivalent to 51mm)

  For this macro shot we increased the sensitivity to 400 ISO and positioned the camera as close at it would focus.

The crops again show a lack of ultimate sharpness and detail, but it's an acceptable result for this subject matter.
 

     


Indoor: 3.12MB, Program, 1/50, f3.5, ISO 400, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equivalent to 38mm)

 

Another shot at 400 ISO, this time taken in dimmer indoor lighting conditions.

The finer details in the crops have become quite smudged by image processing, so you'd only want to use the 790 SW in such conditions for smaller prints or viewing on-screen at less than 100%.

 
     


Indoor: 2.97MB, Program, 1/20, f3.5, ISO 800, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equivalent to 38mm)

  Our next indoor sample was taken under very dim conditions at an increased sensitivity of 800 ISO and there's a significant increase in noise levels, along with a further loss of detail.

We're getting to the point where you'd really only want to use this under emergency situations or for small reproductions.
 
     


Indoor: 3.30MB, Program, 1/100, f3.5, ISO 1600, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equivalent to 38mm)

  Our final high sensitivity indoor shot was taken with the 790 SW set to 1600 ISO, where there's a further increase in noise and loss of detail.

Even the full image shrunk down to 440 pixels wide here shows some evidence of noise, so this setting, like most compacts, really is for emailing only.
 
     


Underwater: 2.71MB, Underwater Snapshot, 1/400, f3.5, ISO 80, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equiv 38mm)

  Of course the big selling point of the Olympus 790 SW is its ability to work underwater without a housing at depths up to 3m.

To put it to the test we dived into Queenstown's Lake Wakatipu for the following three images. Many thanks to Camilla and Michael who braved the lake's chilly temperatures with me!

All three shots were taken with the 790 SW's Underwater Snapshot scene preset and the internal flash, although there was quite a lot of sunlight just below the surface.
 
     


Underwater: 2.52MB, Underwater Snapshot, 1/500, f3.5, ISO 80, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equiv 38mm)

  The Underwater Snapshot scene preset uses auto ISO, and in our three examples selected the camera's lowest setting of 80 ISO.

There were unsurprisingly many shots which didn't work out, but those which did were sharp and detailed.

The camera was easy to operate underwater, but the screen could be hard to see at times - it's a shame there wasn't also an optical viewfinder.
 
     


Underwater: 2.70MB, Underwater Snapshot, 1/400, f3.5, ISO 80, 6.7-20.1mm at 6.7mm (equiv 38mm)

  This image shows the Sony SPK-HCC underwater housing used to protect our camcorder while filming the underwater segments for our Olympus 790 SW video tour.

It's a good accessory, although again the screen proved hard to view at times.

All in all the 790 SW performed very comfortably underwater, but the chilly waters exhausted a fully-charged battery in 45 minutes of solid shooting.
 
     


If you found this review useful, please support us by shopping below!
All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2014 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs