Support Cameralabs by shopping at our partner stores or donating via Paypal
 






Follow my RSS feed at Camera Labs RSS Feed
 
  Latest camera reviews

Sigma DP1 Quattro
Sony Cyber-shot W830
Nikon COOLPIX L830
Nikon D750
Canon SX400 IS
Sony Cyber-shot H400
Panasonic Lumix LX100
Canon SX60 HS
Canon ELPH 340 IXUS 265
Canon G7X
Nikon COOLPIX P530
Canon SX520 HS
Canon G1 X Mark II
Panasonic Lumix FZ1000
Panasonic TZ60 / ZS40
Sony RX100 III review
Sony A3000 review
Canon EOS 1200D T5
Sony WX350
Nikon P600
Sony Alpha A5000
Sony Cyber-shot HX400V
Panasonic Lumix GH4
Panasonic TS5 FT5
Sony Alpha A6000
Canon SX700 HS
Canon SX600 HS
Olympus TOUGH TG2
Nikon AW1
Nikon D3300
Fujifilm XT1
Olympus STYLUS 1
Sony Cyber-shot RX10
Olympus OMD EM1
Panasonic Lumix GM1
Nikon D610
Sony Alpha A7
Nikon D5300
Canon PowerShot A2500
Sony Alpha A7r
Canon ELPH 130 IXUS 140
Nikon COOLPIX P520
Nikon COOLPIX L820
Canon PowerShot S120
Panasonic Lumix GX7
Canon SX510 HS
Canon PowerShot G16
Fujifilm X20
Panasonic FZ70 / FZ72
Canon EOS 70D
Sony RX100 II
Canon ELPH 330 IXUS 255
Panasonic Lumix GF6
Fujifilm XM1
Olympus EP5
Panasonic Lumix LF1
Panasonic TZ35 / ZS25
Olympus XZ2
Sony HX300
Panasonic Lumix G6
Sony HX50V
Fujifilm X100S
Canon SX280 HS
Canon EOS SL1 / 100D
Panasonic TZ40 / ZS30
Nikon D7100
Nikon COOLPIX A
Fujifilm X-E1
Canon EOS 6D
Nikon D5200
Panasonic Lumix GH3
Canon PowerShot S110
Panasonic Lumix G5
Sony NEX-6
Panasonic Lumix FZ200
Canon PowerShot SX50 HS
Nikon COOLPIX P7700
Olympus E-PL5
Canon EOS M
Panasonic TS20 / FT20
Canon PowerShot G15
Nikon D600
Nikon COOLPIX L810
Canon PowerShot D20
Sony RX100
Panasonic Lumix LX7
Canon SX500 IS
Fujifilm HS30 EXR
Sony HX200V
Panasonic FZ60 / FZ62
Canon 520HS / 500HS
Canon 110HS / 125HS
Nikon D800
Canon EOS T4i / 650D
Canon PowerShot A3400
Panasonic ZS15 / TZ25
Olympus E-M5
Nikon D3200
Fujifilm X-Pro1
Canon PowerShot A2300
Canon SX240 / SX260
Samsung NX200
Sony Alpha SLT-A77
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Panasonic ZS20 / TZ30
Canon PowerShot G1 X
Sony NEX-7
Panasonic GX1
Olympus E-PM1
Nikon V1
Sony NEX-5N
Canon EOS T3 / 1100D
Canon EOS 600D / T3i
Nikon D7000
Canon EOS 60D
Canon EOS 550D / T2i
Canon EOS 7D

All camera reviews
 
 
   
 
  Best Buys: our top models
   
  Best Canon lens
Best Nikon lens
Best Sony lens
Best budget DSLR
Best mid-range DSLR
Best semi-pro DSLR
Best point and shoot
Best superzoom
Best camera accessories
   
 



Camera Labs Forum

Any questions, comments or a great tip to share? Join my Camera forum and let everyone know!
   
 
  DSLR Tips



 
Free Shipping on ALL Products
Nikon COOLPIX P90 Gordon Laing, April 2009

Nikon COOLPIX P90 Gallery

The following images were taken with a Nikon COOLPIX P90. The P90 was set to 12M Fine JPEG quality, Auto White Balance and Matrix metering. Vibration Reduction (VR) was enabled for all these handheld images.

The individual exposure mode, file sizes, shutter speeds, aperture, ISO and lens focal length are listed for each image.

The crops are taken from the original files, reproduced at 100% and saved in Adobe Photoshop CS4 as JPEGs with the Very High quality preset, while the resized images were made in Photoshop CS4 and saved with the default High quality preset.

The three crops are typically taken from far left, central and far right portions of each image.

Note: you may wish to open a number of galleries for direct comparison of detail and noise: Canon PowerShot SX10 IS sample images and Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28 sample images.


Landscape: 4.89MB, Program, 1/320, f6.3, ISO 64, 4.6-110.4mm at 4.6mm (26mm equivalent)

  This first shot was taken with the COOLPIX P90 zoomed-out and set to its lowest 64 ISO sensitivity. The tilting monitor allowed us to easily frame this shot with the camera held-high, and the 26mm wide angle has captured a large field-of-view.

The image is pretty sharp with only minimal softening in the corners and no evidence of fringing despite areas of high contrast.

The crops are clean and detailed, but lacking the ultimate crispness of the best models out there. It should be noted they also already have a fair amount of sharpening applied.
     


Landscape: 5.28MB, Program, 1/250, f7.1, ISO 100, 4.6-110.4mm at 4.6mm (26mm equivalent)

  Another shot taken under bright light with the lens zoomed-out and the sensitivity nudged up to 100 ISO.

This shot was taken at a very low angle, made easy by the P90's tilting monitor.

As above, there's no fringing to complain about and only minimal fringing. Again though there's a lack of crispness despite sharpening artefacts, and the nudge to 100 ISO has resulted in subtle noise textures in the sky.
     


Landscape: 4.69MB, Program, 1/800, f8, ISO 200, 4.6-110.4mm at 44mm (250mm equivalent)


    The steamship was docked during our test period, so we stood well back and zoomed-in on its fixed position with the lens roughly halfway through its range. Again the tilting monitor proved useful to frame the shot with the camera held out to one side.

The jump to 200 ISO has seen an increase in visible noise and a softening of edges. There's also now evidence of coloured fringing in areas of high contrast which wasn't apparent at wide-angle.
     
   
     
   


Wildlife: 4.91MB, Program, 1/360, f5, ISO 64, 4.6-110.4mm at 110.4mm (624mm equivalent)

  The headline feature of the P90 is of course its 24x optical zoom range. Above we were zoomed roughly halfway, and now here we're zoomed all the way into its maximum focal length. The duck looks relatively close, but we were actually positioned at quite a distance.

Focusing is quite quick under good light, but it can take a few seconds before the VR settles-down and stabilises the view by which time your subject may have waddled out of view. We grabbed the shot this time though and with the sensitivity reduced to the minimum 64 ISO, the crops are clean and detailed.
     


Portrait: 4.12MB, Program, 1/400, f6.3, ISO 200, 4.6-110.4mm at 26mm (150mm equivalent)

  Here we zoomed roughly one quarter of the way through the lens range and set the sensitivity to 200 ISO. The focusing mode was set to Face Detection, allowing the P90 to lock onto the subject with ease.

The crops of the subject are sharp, although like the sample above, there's noise artefacts appearing in areas of flat colour or shadows, and a reduced crispness to edges.

The P90's aperture can be opened about one stop wider at this focal length, but like all compacts, the background won't become as blurred as with a DSLR.
     


Macro: 5.09MB, Program, 1/230, f5, ISO 400, 4.6-110.4mm at 12mm (68mm equivalent)

  The COOLPIX P90 has a closest focusing distance of 1cm in Macro mode, but we couldn't persuade it to focus that close to our motherboard.

We did however find superior results could be had from a few cm distant and with the lens zoomed-in to around 3x - an equivalent of 68mm here.

Zooming-in has avoided geometric distortions, but even in areas that are in focus, the 100% crops look a little soft. This is partly down to the increase to 400 ISO.

     


Indoor: 4.87MB, Program, 1/80, f3.2, ISO 400, 4.6-110.4mm at 4.6mm (26mm equivalent)

  Our first indoor shot was taken with the P90 set to 400 ISO and once again zoomed-out.

We manually set the AF mode to Face Detection, after which it locked-onto our subject.

The 400 ISO sensitivity has inevitably seen an increase in noise textures and a softening of edges, but the crops show there's still a decent amount of detail, and noise levels are acceptable for most prints.
     


Indoor: 5.06MB, Program, 1/16, f2.8, ISO 800, 4.6-110.4mm at 4.6mm (26mm equivalent)

  Our second indoor was taken with the P90's sensitivity increased to 800 ISO.

The camera's VR anti-shake had no problems with a 1/16 exposure here, and in our tests offered three stops of compensation.

There's a noticeable increase in noise levels here, along with a reduction in fine detail.

Fine for small prints, but it won't hold up to close examination on larger prints or on-screen by pixel-peepers.
   

 


Indoor: 5MB, Program, 1/180, f3.5, ISO 1600, 4.6-110.4mm at 4.6mm (26mm equivalent)

  Our final shot was taken with the P90 at 1600 ISO, and noise levels have taken a dramatic turn for the worse. On the upside, restrained noise reduction has avoided the usual smearing and mushiness, but most will still find the textures unacceptable for anything other than emergency use.

The P90 then goes onto offer 3200 and 6400 ISO options, albeit at a greatly reduced resolution of 3 Megapixels. You can see samples of them and other sensitivities in our High ISO Noise results page.
     


All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2014 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.

/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs