Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 5:41 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:46 pm 
I thought I would write an opinion on my first additional lens purchase. I am no professional when it comes to photography so you can get an idea of the lens from a newbie's prospective.

Today I bought this new lens, the first additional lens I have purchased for my Sony A100 to compliment the 18 - 70 kit lens.

Here are some sample shots I have taken from my window to demo the view and range.

Sony 18-70 kit lens at 18mm:

Sony 18-70 kit lens at 70mm:

Sony 75-300mm lens at 75mm:

Sony 75-300mm lens at 300mm:

As you can see it greatly expands the zoom length from the kit lens that comes with the sony alpha camera's and produces a nice open wide landscape view all the way out with a nice close telephoto view with this additional 75-300mm lens.

I haven’t had a chance to fully test it out yet and these are the only few photo's I have taken from my window but so far im very pleased with it and look forward to taking photo's with it. I will finally be able to get closer and take photo's that I was previously unable to when I only had the kit lens.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:22 am 
Hello tobywuk!

Good to see you have made the first user review/lens gallery of this great kit lens.

Would be nice to see more details when you have explored it further. Oh and could you try some macro shots? After all the Sony lens catalogue has this lens as one of the highest Max. Magnification Ratio among the Alpha lenses of ~0.2 or so.

Also, I have added this thread to the list of Sony user reviews.

SnS 8)

Edit: Corrected typo.

Last edited by SCREAMnSHOUT on Tue Jun 10, 2008 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 10:07 am