Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 5:53 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: K20d and D5000
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:21 pm 
Hi

I am new to photography and I would be interested in buying a dslr. In order to choose which equipment to get, I have red a lot of different reviews but for some reasons I can t really make my mind.

I would use this camera for action/extrene sports (fast fps would be a plus), landscapes and portaits.

I have a budget of 800$(US) and I have narrowed my choices to:

Pentax K20d (which versatile lens should i add to it?). Would Built in stabilization be one of the main reason to lean into the pentax direction? I have red that fps is not the best on this dslr.
Nikon D5000 kit (I don t really mind about the Video capabilities)
Any other suggestion would be apreciated.

Thanks in advace for all your advices

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:00 pm 

Get the K20D if you're into outdoors photographing, since it has some great weather sealing. The D5000 has better noise performance, a bit better image quality, and a tiltable screen.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:19 pm 
I am assuming that video isn't a deal-breaker for you -- so, I'd also consider the Canon xsi, and Olympus e-620. Both are very good cameras and will give you lots of room to grow.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:31 am 

Citruspers wrote:
Get the K20D if you're into outdoors photographing, since it has some great weather sealing. The D5000 has better noise performance, a bit better image quality, and a tiltable screen.

ISO performance yes, but the K20D's detail is unbeatable in its class

www.flickr.com/glxlr

Post subject: Re: K20d and D5000
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:32 am