Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:47 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:30 pm 

Hello!

First of all I want to thank the crew behind Camera Labs for an excellent website and forum.

Even though I’m new to the world of DSLRS I’m a frequent user of tech forums, and as such I know that if you want input you better make a detailed and thorough initial post. So pour yourself a cup of tea ( or coffee if you prefer ) and prepare for a long read.

I've spent the last months reading reviews and forum posts on this site and other sites on the net, and I feel that I've ran into the dilemma. The more I dig down in specs of different camera models the more uncertain I am of which will be the perfect fit for me. When ever I've found a camera I'm happy with it is only a matter of days before a different model seems to be more interesting.

What I'm looking for is basically a camera that doesn't exist. A list of the specs I'm looking for.

- A camera with a comfortable grip
- Has a slightly smaller form factor since I will bring it with me on hiking in the outdoors. The D90 is an example of a camera that is too bulky.
- A good optical view finder.
- Has a kit lens that is OK or better than the average kit lens.
- Good battery life
- Preferably don't cost more than $800
- In house mechanism to counter camera shake.
- Live view is a plus, but is not crucial.
- Some what up to date with for example anti dust facilities.
- Some form of protection against the elements. I live in northern Sweden, so I'd like to be able to use the camera in serious sub zero temperatures.