Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 141
Location: UK
Guillaume wrote:
Yup, when you purchase Aperture 2 you just get a serial number you have to enter in the trial version and...voilà :D

So yes, the trial version and full version are exactly the same.


excellent, how big is it to donwload?
and i suppose once you buy the retail version you have the CD if you need to re-install it right??
Merci Guillaume!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:04 am
Posts: 134
Location: California
Yanacek wrote:
Guillaume wrote:
Yup, when you purchase Aperture 2 you just get a serial number you have to enter in the trial version and...voilà :D

So yes, the trial version and full version are exactly the same.


excellent, how big is it to donwload?
and i suppose once you buy the retail version you have the CD if you need to re-install it right??
Merci Guillaume!


The download is under 200Mb and the full version on the DVD that comes in the box is 3Gb because there are around 2.8Gb of pictures you can experiment with.

If you already have the trial installed there is an option to authorize or buy the full program each time you launch the application. So when you buy a serial number, just click authorize and enter it and your good to go

_________________
1D Mark III | 5D Mark II | G9

Canon EF 24-70mm F2.8 L | 70-200 f4 L IS | 50 f1.8 II | 85 f1.2 Mark II L

580EX | 580 EX II

iMac, i7 MacBook Pro + Aperture & CS5 Master collection
My website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:19 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Lyon & Grenoble, France
You can download the trial here:

http://apple.com/aperture/trial

And of course you get a nice DVD when you buy it ;)

_________________
Image
D40 User


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 141
Location: UK
thanks!

I realise it's a personal preference, but for mac users out there, have you imported your whole iPhoto library into Aperture (I presume it duplicates all your photos into the Aperture library) then delete your photos in iPhoto and never ever again set life to iPhoto? :) or how is youur mac set up?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:19 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Lyon & Grenoble, France
Yup, import from iPhoto and delete everything related to iPhoto. Furthermore, I reinstalled my mac recently, and I didn't even bother to reinstall iPhoto.

In my sense, there's no point in keeping iPhoto once you have Aperture. Both of them use a same amount of resources, but Aperture is much more powerful.

_________________
Image
D40 User


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 141
Location: UK
thanks!
I shall either download the demo sometime this week or buy it! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 141
Location: UK
umm... silly question probably... and i've been reading the manual over and over... but i just can't seem to grasp it lol
what's the difference between projects and albums?
are the pictures in albums just duplicate of the ones in projects?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 12:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:50 pm
Posts: 249
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Well, I don't really know I just had a look and it seems more like a organization thing than anything else. Im going to use an example of a wedding. OK you got heaps of photos from the wedding you would make a project called Wedding. Then you make albums from that for like cake cutting and things like that. And then I guess you can have more options but Im too tired to look into it.

_________________
Camera: Canon 40D, 17-85mm IS
Knowledge of Photography: Hours of reading and videos.
Computer: iMac 24inch 3.06Ghz 4gb ram 500gb HD Nvidia 8800 GS 512mb


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:04 am
Posts: 134
Location: California
Projects are where the pictures are stored. For example say I got out and take several hundred pictures today. I will first import them into Aperture under one project, drag it into a folder I have sorted (For camera then type of pictures) so for the previous example it would be Canon G9 -> Wedding -> 3-14-08 smith + adams.

The pictures are only able to be stored into one project, so if you delete that project, all the images in that one project will be deleted. Albums are different, you can have the same picture into multiple albums and when they are deleted, you images are not.

Smart Albums are great, because if you keyword your pictures you can make an album with all of the pictures you have key worded. For instance I have a landscape and portrait album for all of the pictures that fit into each category. Its easy to keyword by using the keywords hud or selecting the metadata tab on the left. With the keyword hud you can click which word you want and add it instantly to the picture. If key-wording is a habit you can keep up every time after you import, it will become a lot easier to find your pictures.

_________________
1D Mark III | 5D Mark II | G9

Canon EF 24-70mm F2.8 L | 70-200 f4 L IS | 50 f1.8 II | 85 f1.2 Mark II L

580EX | 580 EX II

iMac, i7 MacBook Pro + Aperture & CS5 Master collection
My website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 141
Location: UK
Oh ok I get it, thanks!
so when you make changes to your photos does it matter which images you make the changes to? or does it have to be the one that's in the project?
I downloaded the trial, I'm having lots of fun with it, especially the clone tool, i made someone disappear! mwahahahaha


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 9:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 141
Location: UK
does anyone know how to turn a photo into a sketch/drawing-like photo? I've been playing around but I haven't found any settings that do that yet...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:19 pm
Posts: 84
Location: Lyon & Grenoble, France
You could probably have some kind of result by playing with edges, contrast and saturation , but I'd recommend using a program made for digital creation such as Photoshop (keep in mind that Aperture, Lightroom and others programs like that are NOT made for digital cration - they are photography workflows ).

_________________
Image
D40 User


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:07 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 12:39 pm
Posts: 601
Location: France
Bonjour,

I downloaded the trial version of Aperture 2 and played with it. The interface is much better and clearer than 1.5's one.

However, on my iMac G5 2.1 MHz with 1.5 GB of RAM, it appears to be painfully slow. I'm afraid Aperture 2.0 requires more power and more space, so I dumbed it :(

I keep working with iPhoto and, on special occasions when I have to deal with RAW pictures, I use the :arrow: Pentax Photo Laboratory, now in version 3.5. It works hand in hand with my K10D pictures.

Best regards,

_________________
--- rei_vilo
Pentax K-5 + BG4 + DA* 16-50 + DA* 50-135 + DA* 60-250 + AF-540FGZ
reivilophotography.weebly.com


Last edited by rei_vilo on Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:04 am
Posts: 134
Location: California
rei_vilo wrote:
Bonjour,

I downloaded the trial version of Aperture 2 and played with it. The interface is much better and clearer than 1.5's one.

However, on my iMac G5 2.1 MHz with 1.5 MB of RAM, it appears to be painfully slow. I'm afraid Aperture 2.0 requires more power and more space, so I dumbed it :(

I keep working with iPhoto and, on special occasions when I have to deal with RAW pictures, I use the :arrow: Pentax Photo Laboratory, now in version 3.5. It works hand in hand with my K10D pictures.

Best regards,


Are you sure you have a G5 iMac with 2.1 MHz and only 1.5MB of RAM?

_________________
1D Mark III | 5D Mark II | G9

Canon EF 24-70mm F2.8 L | 70-200 f4 L IS | 50 f1.8 II | 85 f1.2 Mark II L

580EX | 580 EX II

iMac, i7 MacBook Pro + Aperture & CS5 Master collection
My website


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 12:39 pm
Posts: 601
Location: France
Bonsoir Zerimar,

You're right :!: it's not MB but GB :lol: Next time, it'll be TB :wink:

_________________
--- rei_vilo
Pentax K-5 + BG4 + DA* 16-50 + DA* 50-135 + DA* 60-250 + AF-540FGZ
reivilophotography.weebly.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group