Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:27 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 7:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 7:33 pm
Posts: 2
Hi

I've got the original 14-140 with my GH3. This is absolutely fantastic for video but I don't like the results I get for photographs due to a lack of dynamic range. You can see this in Photoshop with the histogram bunched up in the middle with no shadow or highlight. I was thinking I was doing something wrong and considering changing camera to the GH4 until I saw the Camera Labs review pictures on the new 14-140 on the GH4 exhibiting exactly the same problem!

This is very noticeable on these images plus the background in the first image appears to have a large amount of what looks like heat haze, which can't be right.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/cameralabs/14005019863
http://www.flickr.com/photos/cameralabs/14005019863

Is this unique to the 14-140 series? All my attempts to fix this in photoshop have resulted in hours of experimentation just to get an "ok" picture.

If anyone has any constructive ideas on how this can be fixed I would gratefully appreciate it.

David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 1:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am
Posts: 733
Quote:
I've got the original 14-140 with my GH3. This is absolutely fantastic for video but I don't like the results I get for photographs due to a lack of dynamic range. You can see this in Photoshop with the histogram bunched up in the middle with no shadow or highlight.

I'm not following how you're determining that this is a problem with the lens, much less all 14-140mm lenses. (I own two original 14-140mm lenses, BTW.) The histogram being bunched in the middle just means that the light level is bunched in the middle. e.g. in the photos you linked to, there aren't a lot of shadows, so that's what I'd expect the histogram to look like. Have you tried, for example, shooting indoors (without additional lights/flashes) during the day with a window in the background?

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 9:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 7:33 pm
Posts: 2
Hi Maesto

Thanks for the posting. Using this lens alone produces dramatic falloff in both the the highlights and the shadows, both indoors and outdoors and the histogram used is only a middle third. As stated I have to work much harder with images produced using this lens as the images fall apart very easily in to produce images that are just ok. I never had this problem on my Nikon D70s.

I am of the opinion that the lens is optimised for video which I think is fantastic, but not for photography. I briefly borrowed a 12-32 and a 45-150 and I got better results with more dynamic range and a full histogram that barely need retouching in photoshop.

I was wondering if I had a bad copy as I've seen some stunning examples on flickr taken with both 14-140's but as you seem to think this is normal I'll sell the lens and get a 12-32 and a 45-150.

Thanks

David


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 2:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am
Posts: 733
Quote:
Using this lens alone produces dramatic falloff in both the the highlights and the shadows, both indoors and outdoors and the histogram used is only a middle third.

I haven't noticed any difference between either of my 14-140mm lenses and my other lenses. But you got me curious, so I just put together a quick and dirty comparison between one of my 14-140s and my 75mm (which is generally considered to be one of the best m4/3 lenses currently available). I deliberately chose a very non-contrasty scene similar to the one in the pics you linked to, and yes, this does result in the histogram being bunched in the middle. But note that this is for both lenses. There is very little difference between the histogram for the 14-140mm and the 75mm. (And what little difference there is is most likely due to the slightly different framing -- I did say this was "quick and dirty".)

Are you sure you used the same settings when you tested? If so, you may have a bad copy.

Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2014 1:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 12:48 am
Posts: 3
I use the original 14-140 with my GH1 and GH2 -- and upgraded to the 14-140 II last summer. Use with my GH3 (now departed) and my Gh4 (for about one day) has all be satisfying: I really like this lens!

It must be good. I have the 12-35 & 35-100 f/2.8 zoom lenses but the 14-140 II seems to be on my GH3/4 about 90% of the time.

_________________
Phil Wheeler
Panasonic GH4; FZ200


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group