Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 7:10 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: PC freezing!
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:29 pm 
My PC freezes for a millisecond every 2-3 seconds and I don't know why! I've replaced the CPU, motherboard, heatsink, fan and main HDD to a SSD (do sig now out of date) and still it is doing it. After replacing the HDD with an SSD it ran really well for a few weeks but it's doing it again now. Maybe it's somethin software related? I did a clean install on the SSD which but when the problem came back I rolled Windows back to that point and it made no difference. I've done lots of searching on Google and there are so many causes. Last night I did a memtest for 16 passes and it came back with no errors. One thing I haven't looked at is the PSU since I don't have a spare but I'm thinking that's less likely seeing as it's relatively new.

SPEC: Intel Q9650 @ 3GHz, XFX Geforce 275GTX, 4GB Corsair XMS2 RAM, Corsair HX 620W, ASRock P43DE.

PLEASE, does anyone have any idea or know of a forum where I might be able to get some help?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 8:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8032
Location: UK
A bit generic perhaps, but check any/all of the following:
* check all hardware is plugged in tightly, in particular the gfx card and its power feed if it has one
* update gfx drivers to latest version
* run LinX for a bit. Is your system different with it running?
* run FurMark for a bit. Is your system different with it running?
* run the latest chipset support software (assumes Intel chipset, which that mobo seems to have). You might also look up the correct version of disk controller drivers while at intel.
* does windows device manager report anything unusual on the hardware?
* check if there is a newer bios for the mobo

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:38 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9822
Location: UK
.
You could also try disabling your Internet Security Suite software temporarily (probably best to disconnect the network cable first!).

Have you run Task Manager with the Processes tab active (show from all users). If a process's CPU usage is spiking every 2-3 seconds then that might be a clue.

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:54 pm 
Thank you for the really fast responses but after weeks of trying to get this sorted I may have just found the answer. I've been testing different configurations tonight with my hardware and so far whilst the Wifi card is out the freezing stops! Is that a legitimate cause or wishful thinking? When I put the card back in the freezing comes back but only when the system is stressed (playing Crysis) and not as bad as before. How would the WiFi card do that? Dodgy hardware? Thinking about it the card is new, got it just before Christmas but never really put the two together. I did look at task manager and there are CPU spikes, although not on all cores, but haven't isolated the process. Trying too many things at once perhaps.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 10:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9822
Location: UK
.
Interesting. I've not used it so I can't exactly recommend it but DPC Latency Checker might be useful. If you do try it I'd be interested to hear how it pans out...

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:59 pm
Posts: 6009
Location: The Netherlands
I'd say it's faulty and it's polled every couple of seconds. I've had kind of the same problem with a disconnected external Sata drive.

_________________
I take pictures so quickly, my highschool was "Continuous High".


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group