Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 12:29 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 8:22 pm
Posts: 498
Location: 1 AU from the nearest star
Greetings Pentax users.

I normally don't look at the Pentax section.
I'm a Canon user and don't have any plans to switch over.

However, my father-in-law has a Pentax camera and I was looking at it the other day.

One thing that seems really minor, but I liked a lot, was the hood. On his Pentax camera, the hood for his lens has a little section that pops out. I surmised that this allows for easy access to a polarizer filter and then explained it to my father-in-law. I thought it was a really nice feature to make using a hood easier.

I know this is a minor thing as most people don't think about their hoods, but there have been times where I've wished I had something like this on my gear.

_________________
Canon 5DIII, Rebel XTi/400D
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II, 24-105mm f/4L, 50mm f/1.4, 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DO, 85mm f/1.8
Sigma 150mm F2.8 EX Macro

Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II
Canon 430EX II
Opteka 13mm, 21mm, and 31mm extension tubes
Vivitar 50mm f/1.8 for OM System


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:45 pm 
You mean those hoods of the Limiteds? :) They are nice! :)


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 7:27 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Wales
The kit lens has this feature on the hood :D

It is for the use of circular polarisers.

Perhaps you could 'convert' your Canon lens hoods - time to reach for the dremel :lol:

_________________
K10D + optimistic idiocy

My pic's - http://www.flickr.com/photos/10126769@N05/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:16 pm 
Maybe somebody could put me right on this, if I'm in error.

Pentax DSLRs have an additional "Sv" - Sensitivity Priority" Mode on the dial. The ISO is user-set, and the camera then does the Aperture and Shutter. In "Program" Mode, it seems to do all 3, but WB can be set, rather than being camera-set, as in "Auto" Mode.

With my Fuji HS10, I rarely use Program Mode (apart from Slow Sync Flash, which doesn't work in other Modes) - but in Program you can select ISO as Auto within Ranges - 100-400, 100-800 - or tell it which ISO to use.

I've been assuming that DSLRs also have similar Program Mode settings - or, do they not? That is - if they do - why would Pentax have a Program Mode where ISO apparently isn't set - and Sensitivity Mode, where it is?

I don't yet have my K-5 to try this out - I'm going by the Manual - Page 95.

But, looking at other DSLRs, they seem not to have a "Sensitivity Mode" - so - as I'd been assuming - do they in Program Mode have Auto-ISO, Ranges for ISO, and User-Select 1 ISO....?

Dave.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group