Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:55 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 3:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:06 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Seattle (Home) ~ Taipei (Work)
Please forgive my ignorance and thanks in advance for your patience.

I'm upgrading my MacBook Pro 2.2GHz from 2GB to 4GB or ram. Right now I have 2GB of DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz.

My question is this: Will any DDR2 ram work for me or does it need to say DDR2 SDRAM 667MHz? I've seen DDR2 ram for sale, but it did not specifically say "SDRAM" on the box. Can I just assume it's SDRAM or is that a special type or ram?

Thanks to all the tech gurus for the help.

-steve

_________________
Leica M9, Nikon D300s, Leica X1, Canon S95, Zero Image 6x9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:13 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 10:43 am
Posts: 512
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
I'm not sure, but afair SR-RAM is stanard (at least for PC's), and u should therefore assume that it's SD even if they dont say so. That being said, its always a good idea to be sure, and i havent played with this stuff for a while, so wait for someone else to comment as well :p

_________________
Jake

Canon EOS 400D + EF-S 17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS + EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS + EF 50mm f/1.8
My Photos - My webpage (danish)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hi
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 6:51 pm 
I checked the tech specs and it says that you have 2 SO-Dimm PC2-5300 667Mhz DDR2 modules. If you have 2 installed that means that you have to buy 2 more but 2GB each.

You have to ask for the exact type, in this case SO-Dimm (SD) PC2-5300 667Mhz DDR2 NONECC UNBUFFERED 200 pin. If you are sure what it is, then there is no problem.


Cheers


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 9:06 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hi, I'd recommend entering your model into the memory advisor tool at www.crucial.com (or www.crucial.com/uk for the Brist here!) - it'll reliably tell you what memory you can use, and then try and sell you some.

I use Crucial memory on all my systems - good value and no complaints...

(The high-performance guys may prefer Corsair though, but again I've had good results with Crucial's own Ballistix brand for extreme overclocking!)

Gordon


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:36 pm 
I think all ram is SDRAM nowadays? Just make sure you get SO-DIMMs and not DIMMs.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2008 11:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:06 pm
Posts: 312
Location: Seattle (Home) ~ Taipei (Work)
Great! Thanks for all the help. I went to Crucial's site and they returned this after putting in all my laptop info:

4GB kit (2GBx2), 200-pin SODIMM, DDR2 PC2-5300 memory

So it does look like SDRAM is just standard these days. And thanks for the advice about ordering SODIMM chips instead of DIMMs.

-steve

_________________
Leica M9, Nikon D300s, Leica X1, Canon S95, Zero Image 6x9


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:28 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 12:40 am
Posts: 1330
Location: Scotland
No complaints with Corsair here.

Zorro 8)

_________________
http://zorrofox4.deviantart.com/

Image

Various lenses, SB800 & Manfrotto 190 with 460MG head


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group