Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 9:52 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 6:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
In Win7, Control Panel > System > Advanced System Settings > Advanced tab > Performance - Settings > Advance tab > Virtual Memory - Change.

Mine is set to System Managed.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:54 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Sparta Greece
Ok thanks, went there and the automatically manage paging file size for all drives is checked, then in the box below there is C: [ACER] system managed
then below it has [ACER] D: None
then on the bottom it says
Total paging file size for all drives
minimum allowed 16mb
recommended 4599mb
currently allocated 3066mb

does this seem right?
thanks;)

_________________
Canon 5D II, EF 24-105 f4 L IS, EF 16-35 2.8 L, EF 100 2.8 L IS Macro, EF 70-200 2.8 IS L II, Canon S90, Canon speedLight 580 EX II LowePro Sling Bag 302 AW, Photoshop CS5 Extended, Paint Shop Pro X3.

http://www.pbase.com/spartanwarrior


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 8:38 am
Posts: 357
SpartanWarrior wrote:
Ok can someone tell me how to check virtual memory?


Have you tried first as I suggested changing the memory allocation within photoshop's preferences? Photoshop can run in to trouble if you allocate too much or too little memory % in the preferences.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
I guess that should be ok. 3GB of virtual memory should be ok, as it isn't best to use a lot of it anyway. Back to the original problem with CS5 complaining about lack of ram, I guess overall system ram shouldn't be a problem. Isn't there a setting somewhere in PS on how much ram it is allowed to use? I guess that would be the next stop but I haven't looked where that is yet myself.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:54 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Sparta Greece
Yes photoshop has that, I went in there already and it says available RAM 1632 even if I crank that to 100% it still doesn't work, that is strange it says that since I have 3gb of RAM.

_________________
Canon 5D II, EF 24-105 f4 L IS, EF 16-35 2.8 L, EF 100 2.8 L IS Macro, EF 70-200 2.8 IS L II, Canon S90, Canon speedLight 580 EX II LowePro Sling Bag 302 AW, Photoshop CS5 Extended, Paint Shop Pro X3.

http://www.pbase.com/spartanwarrior


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
What operating system do you have? 32-bit or 64-bit? If 64-bit, are you running the 64-bit version of PS?

I just checked on mine, and if I run the 32 bit version it reports I have about 3GB of ram, 7GB if I run 64-bit (I have 8GB physical).

Also make sure scratch disk is on and set to somewhere with free space.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:54 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Sparta Greece
It's 32 bit, and when you download CS5 from adobe it doesn't ask you if you have 32 or 64 bit, I guess it figures it out itself.
now on the scratch disk I don't know what you mean by that is it the C: DISK?

_________________
Canon 5D II, EF 24-105 f4 L IS, EF 16-35 2.8 L, EF 100 2.8 L IS Macro, EF 70-200 2.8 IS L II, Canon S90, Canon speedLight 580 EX II LowePro Sling Bag 302 AW, Photoshop CS5 Extended, Paint Shop Pro X3.

http://www.pbase.com/spartanwarrior


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
I can't remember now, think it might have been an option on install.

Anyways, the scratch disk is the bit under the ram usage section in PS options.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:54 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Sparta Greece
Ya that's right, I have it set as D: as the main since it is 250mb free and have C: 2nd maybe I have that wrong?

_________________
Canon 5D II, EF 24-105 f4 L IS, EF 16-35 2.8 L, EF 100 2.8 L IS Macro, EF 70-200 2.8 IS L II, Canon S90, Canon speedLight 580 EX II LowePro Sling Bag 302 AW, Photoshop CS5 Extended, Paint Shop Pro X3.

http://www.pbase.com/spartanwarrior


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
As long as you have a scratch disk and there is space on it, should be ok.

Did you really mean 250MB? That's not a lot...

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 7:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:54 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Sparta Greece
Each scratch disk has 250mb so 500mb, but my computer takes up space also you pictures and so on, what do you mean it's not alot? how much you supposed to have?

_________________
Canon 5D II, EF 24-105 f4 L IS, EF 16-35 2.8 L, EF 100 2.8 L IS Macro, EF 70-200 2.8 IS L II, Canon S90, Canon speedLight 580 EX II LowePro Sling Bag 302 AW, Photoshop CS5 Extended, Paint Shop Pro X3.

http://www.pbase.com/spartanwarrior


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 8:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 7999
Location: UK
I assume you mean GB, in which case everything is ok. 250MB isn't a lot of space.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2010 8:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:54 pm
Posts: 89
Location: Sparta Greece
See I am so confused about this contant aware I can't think straight, yes your right it is 250GB each;)
anyway I just bought this nice Toshiba 64 bit today and will pick it up on Thursday;)

_________________
Canon 5D II, EF 24-105 f4 L IS, EF 16-35 2.8 L, EF 100 2.8 L IS Macro, EF 70-200 2.8 IS L II, Canon S90, Canon speedLight 580 EX II LowePro Sling Bag 302 AW, Photoshop CS5 Extended, Paint Shop Pro X3.

http://www.pbase.com/spartanwarrior


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group