Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lightroom 2.6
PostPosted: Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
Hi Guys
I have noticed a strange bug when I downloaded my photos directly from my compact flash.
I always do it with any developp settings, I just changed from raw to DNG, add my metadata... but since few days, Lightroom add some recovery, fill light, too much black, clarity and a lot of brightness and contrast...

and for sure it's totally wrong, my images are overexposed and full of noise

Somebody got already this bug ?
Thanks a lot, T

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 7:51 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:38 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Have you reset the default controls settings in develop? Maybe somehow when you open a new image the settings from a previous image are being carried over.

I just replicated the issue after opening an image with quite heavy PP, then opening another and clicking on the Previous button. The settings from the first image were applied to the last one and the image was overexposed/noisy.

_________________
Image
Canon EOS 50D/EF-S 18-55mm IS/EF-S 55250mm IS/EF 50mm F1.8 II /Lowepro AW Slingshot 200/ Digital Ixus 860 IS

PC>Q6700/MSI P45 Zilent/6GB 800mhz DDR2/2x 4870 1GB/Samsung Spinpoint F1 500GB/Maxtor 200GB+80GB


My Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 1:31 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
Hello Mike
let me share the panels
one the left when I upload the file and on the right what I should get

Image

What do you think ?
what is amazing that when I upload from the 40D, I don't have this bug...

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:30 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:38 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Wiltshire, United Kingdom
That is very strange, and with those settings its no wonder the pictures are looking messed up!

Also strange that its only doing it with the 5D and not the 40D :?

All I can think to try is go to Develop/Set default settings... and click on Restore Adobe Defaults. Other than that I'm out of ideas. Good luck, or should that be bon chance!

_________________
Image
Canon EOS 50D/EF-S 18-55mm IS/EF-S 55250mm IS/EF 50mm F1.8 II /Lowepro AW Slingshot 200/ Digital Ixus 860 IS

PC>Q6700/MSI P45 Zilent/6GB 800mhz DDR2/2x 4870 1GB/Samsung Spinpoint F1 500GB/Maxtor 200GB+80GB


My Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
it's what I am doing ;-)
very strange this bug suddenly

Thanks for your time

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:38 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Wiltshire, United Kingdom
No problem bud, if you find the cause and a solution it would be handy if you could post it here as I for one would be very interested!

_________________
Image
Canon EOS 50D/EF-S 18-55mm IS/EF-S 55250mm IS/EF 50mm F1.8 II /Lowepro AW Slingshot 200/ Digital Ixus 860 IS

PC>Q6700/MSI P45 Zilent/6GB 800mhz DDR2/2x 4870 1GB/Samsung Spinpoint F1 500GB/Maxtor 200GB+80GB


My Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 3:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
Fir sure I will
doing some tests and I come to you later

Thanks, T

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
look what I found Mike
http://lightroom-blog.com/2009/01/why-l ... cs-on.html

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 1:38 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Interesting...So are you sorted now?

_________________
Image
Canon EOS 50D/EF-S 18-55mm IS/EF-S 55250mm IS/EF 50mm F1.8 II /Lowepro AW Slingshot 200/ Digital Ixus 860 IS

PC>Q6700/MSI P45 Zilent/6GB 800mhz DDR2/2x 4870 1GB/Samsung Spinpoint F1 500GB/Maxtor 200GB+80GB


My Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
kind of.... but I will digg more to know why.. i will keep you posted ;-)

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:25 pm
Posts: 2619
Location: Scotland
When importing from your card or folder there will be a drop down setting on the lightroom import window to add a develop setting, change this to none and all should be fine.

Also note that lightroom has a bad RAW convertor and can change the colour data slightly to the of the actual RAW.

Also to note when looking at the image on the back of the camera, this image is a processed image from the camera (jpeg) and when importing to the computer is a RAW (unprocessed) so it will look different. Using lightroom tools (exposure, white-balance) will fix this to your taste.

_________________
Mark Osborne
My life through an iPhone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 8:00 pm
Posts: 280
Location: Anguilla
Hi Orsan
it's exactly what I am doing each time none each time ;-)
and I converted RAW to PNG also.

Thanks, T

_________________
Thierry Dehove
http://www.thierrydehove.com/2009/01/04/professional-photography-studio-equipment/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group