Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
its only using 350MB... mine uses over 1GB all the time... 2GB when im editing.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 12:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
ALSO!

EVERYONE!

Remember to set your cache above 1GB as well! (set it to 50GB tbh)

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 8:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 227
Location: Largs, Scotland
DD_nVidia wrote:
its only using 350MB... mine uses over 1GB all the time... 2GB when im editing.


But that's an ever changing number and at the time of the snap shot I had only opened up the programme. I am not aware of any way to force LR to use more memory as the system determines whats available and where to allocate it :?:

However, you got me thinking :idea:

As an exercise I had a look at LR3 and LR2 system info while doing editing and other tasks, all in 1.1 ratio. It would appear that LR3 doesn't grab as much memory right out the box i.e at startup, and it is more efficient i.e. releasing memory quicker when not needed. This wasn't a bench test by any means, but if you have a look at the two and compare I am sure you will find it interesting.

_________________
Alan
D4 & D700
Image

http://www.alanwilliamsphotography.co.uk
BLOG: http://www.ayrshireweddingphotographer.org

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 2:36 pm 
It's stopped using up all my CPU power while doing nothing, frankly, I wouldn't mind if it used up 100% of my CPU load if it worked fast but right now it's no faster than LR2.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2009 6:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
Yeah I've noticed when using the new colour noise reduction, sharpening and vingetting tools at once along with a bunch of other edits on a ISO 6,400 shot, it takes a half-second when zoomed in for it to apply the changes.

Adobe obviously called when I was out, they wanted there real time back, -_-

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 9:47 am 
How can I add a printer to adobe reader? I am trying to print a PDF from adobe reader and it doesn't have the right printer. The printer shows up on my computer, just not in adobe reader. Any suggestions?
______________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 4:52 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7920
Location: Germany
One of the features of Lightroom 3 is a new, improved RAW-converter.
But:
As I understand the RAW-converter for LR 2 and Photoshop CS4 are identical. As CS4 is not ripe for a new release (or is it?) I suspect that the new RAW-converter will be operational with Phtoshop CS 4 too.
So does this mean for users of LR2 and CS4 that you can get the new RAW-converter for free, but it will only work with CS4 (and LR3) but not with LR2 **confused**

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 10:53 pm 
Never heard of Lightroom until I had joined this forum. Downloading and looking forward to having a dabble.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 7:38 am 
Thomas wrote:
One of the features of Lightroom 3 is a new, improved RAW-converter.
But:
As I understand the RAW-converter for LR 2 and Photoshop CS4 are identical. As CS4 is not ripe for a new release (or is it?) I suspect that the new RAW-converter will be operational with Phtoshop CS 4 too.
So does this mean for users of LR2 and CS4 that you can get the new RAW-converter for free, but it will only work with CS4 (and LR3) but not with LR2 **confused**


The Lightroom 3 beta expires in April. So it's logical to assume that a release will arrive at around that time. Photoshop CS3 was released in April 2007, CS4 followed in October 2008 which is an 18 month period. This makes a CS5 release in April 2010 a very high possibility.

This is why I'm holding off any purchases until May 2010. I can live without Photoshop and Lightroom for now, so no sense in rushing to get these packages. Elements will meet my needs in the time being.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 2:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7920
Location: Germany
Yeah, it seems like Adobe will be on an "update cycle" for most of its products again :?
That would easily explain how the new CRAW-converter will be integrated in LR 3 and PS CS 5 simultaneously.

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 9:49 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9805
Location: UK
Hi folks,

Adobe has released a new beta of Lightroom 3 which you can find here. From that page:
    New in Lightroom 3 Beta 2

  • Improved performance throughout the application for faster importing and loading of images
  • Native tethered shooting support for select Nikon and Canon DSLR cameras
  • Luminance noise reduction has been added to the previous color noise reduction improvements available in the first public beta for outstanding overall high ISO quality
  • Support for importing and managing video files from DSLR cameras for better overall photographic workflow control
  • Improvements to the import experience in the first beta to reflect public feedback
  • Improved watermarking functionality from the first beta to reflect public feedback

    Lightroom 3 beta 2 builds on the enhancements introduced in the first Lightroom 3 beta release:
  • Brand new performance architecture, building for the future of growing image libraries
  • State-of-the-art noise reduction to help you perfect your high ISO shots
  • Watermarking tool that helps you customize and protect your images with ease
  • Portable sharable slideshows with audio—designed to give you more flexibility and impact on how you choose to share your images, you can now save and export your slideshows as videos and include audio
  • Flexible customizable print package creation so your print package layouts are all your own
  • Film grain simulation tool for enhancing your images to look as gritty as you want
  • New import handling designed to make importing streamlined and easy
  • More flexible online publishing options so you can post your images online to certain online photo sharing sites directly from inside Lightroom 3 beta (may require third-party plug-ins)
The current Lightroom 3 public beta 2 will expire on June 30, 2010.

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 10:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:03 am
Posts: 854
Location: Paris, London
Thanks for the info. I will try the new version, as the old beta crashed when I imported photos from a network drive so I could not use it (I could have, but did not want to spend time and effort moving the photos I wanted to import from the network to my PC before imnporting...).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:02 pm 
I'm slightly annoyed by this. I was hoping that LR 3 and CS5 would be released in April which was when the old beta expired. Looks like I'll have to save and wait a bit longer.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:25 am 
i am EXTREMELY impressed with the noise reduction.

i am considering buying it as soon as it comes out, just for that.

the new import screen is much more efficient as well.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 24, 2010 7:36 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8022
Location: UK
pgtips, you might not need to wait that much longer...

http://cs5launch.adobe.com/

CS5 launch 12th April.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group