Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 11:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
Thomas - what?

No bluray support... thats a bit mad? I thought if everything was HDCP compatible it would work fine?

What about all the HTPC's going to be shipping with windows 7 and bluray drives... I doubt they just wont play movies. You'll need software to do it, sure, but thats a given, just like you needed dvd playback software on XP back in the day.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7920
Location: Germany
Ah, sorry: "bluray support" in this case means "free bluray support".
You still have to buy a third-party decoder for bluyray.

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
They not ship a) with the HTPC or b) with the drive?

I'm sure I remember DVD drives shipping with it at one point

and most computers if not all ship with dvd decoding software if you buy from a company.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:26 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7920
Location: Germany
If you buy a bluray drive there normally is some crippled version of a player. With my drive it was PowerDVD9 with only stereo sound. Buying the full version was something in the range of another 90EUR. So this doubles the price of switching to W7 :shock:

"and most computers if not all ship with dvd decoding software if you buy from a company." DVD:yes, Bluray:???

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 4:37 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:23 pm
Posts: 2341
Location: Fife, Scotland
I ment to say bluray not dvd there haha!

Yeah I can't imagine any machine which is advertised to play back bluray from any of the big vendors being crippled by software... They'll buy licenses in the hundreds of thousands so it'll cost them a LOT less.

_________________
Canon EOS 5DmkII + BG-E6 + Canon EOS 40D + BG-E2N + Canon EOS 33
Canon 17-40 F/4L USM + Canon 24-70 F/2.8L USM + Canon 28mm F/1.8 USM + Canon 70-200 F/2.8L USM IS + Canon 85mm F/1.8 USM
Canon Speedlite 580EX II + Canon Speedlite 540EZ + 2 x Nikon SB-80DX
Cactus V2s Wireless Trigger - 5 x Cactus V2s Wireless Reciever

MY FLICKR!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 5:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8021
Location: UK
Still installing...

Found a new feature which is interesting to me - the ability to create a backup image of the system from within the system without reverting to 3rd party tools. Might be handy for those who reinstall regularly too. Do the install and configuration once, save the image and restore later if you need a fresh start without having to install and configure every little detail again.

Some usage differences compared to XP will take some getting used to. I use the "show desktop" button a lot on the quick launch positioned near the start button, but the aero peak is now in the bottom right corner. The new enforced start menu still sucks. So now do I have a million items docked onto the taskbar so I can avoid it at all costs?

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9805
Location: UK
Hi popo,

That facility exists in Vista as well if you have the right edition. It worked very well when I suffered a HDD failure on my Media PC. I still think it a pity that the old XP NTBackup utility wasn't retained as well but I find that Super Flexible File Synchronizer backups to network storage plus the new Windows backup image to a USB HDD cover all the bases.

Bob.

P.S. As I understand it W7 "Home Premium" and below don't include the backup software but maybe I've got it wrong. :?

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 6:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8021
Location: UK
I already do file level backups, but until now not had the ability to do images. The new install I have of Win7 HP certainly gives the option to do an image backup. With some 30GB of space used, it created a 10GB file on an external USB drive. Note it only works on NTFS destinations but fortunately windows comes with the "convert" command line tool for quick and simple migration.

I went back to my Vista Home Premium box to double check. That does offer a backup utility but no image creating option.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 50/1.8, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 15-85 IS
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS, Celestron 1325/13
Tinies: Sony HX9V.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 9:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9962
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
So does anyone have any recommended software for playback of Blu ray on Windows 7? I was using Power DVD under XP, but may switch to Total Media Theater.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 10:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:46 pm
Posts: 945
Location: Norway
Bob Andersson wrote:
.
But remember that if you are about to do a fresh install then you should "deactivate" your apps where appropriate before you do anything else. Failure to do so may mean that when you reinstall them and use your activation code that activation may fail as the code has been used too many times. This happened to me earlier this year with two apps and I ended up wasting a lot of time persuading the companies concerned that I wasn't a pirate. :roll:

Bob.

Anyone who knows whether I have to do this with Microsoft Office 2007?

_________________
Some flappy mirrors and lots of glass


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:20 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7920
Location: Germany
As far as I see, Office 2007 has no deactivate button.
But you should be careful with Adobe CS software.

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 9:38 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9805
Location: UK
Thomas wrote:
As far as I see, Office 2007 has no deactivate button.
But you should be careful with Adobe CS software.

Same deal with Outlook 2003 which makes it all the more galling when I had to 'phone up Microsoft to get their permission to reinstall my software.

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 1:53 pm 
Gordon Laing wrote:
So does anyone have any recommended software for playback of Blu ray on Windows 7? I was using Power DVD under XP, but may switch to Total Media Theater.


Gordon, if your PC is HP I would recommend HP Quickplay. Apparently WMP12 will be blue ray compatible

Or get a PS3... 8)


I would like to say Windows 7 is really great, but I still feel nostalgic for XP.


Last edited by lowliferider on Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:12 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:08 pm
Posts: 7920
Location: Germany
"Apparently WMP12 will be blue ray compatible"
Really? WMP11 could not even play a DVD if you didn't install a decoder first. Quote from MS-central: "To play DVDs using the Player, you must have a DVD drive and a software or hardware DVD decoder installed on your computer. By default, Windows does not include a DVD decoder."
Same holds true for WMP12 under W7: DVD/DluRay-decoding is NOT included in WMP12 :shock:

_________________
Thomas (beware: Nikon-fanboy and moderator!) My Lens Reviews, My Pictures, My Photography Blog
D800+assorted lenses


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:35 pm 
I don't know but found this link:
http://windows7news.com/2009/10/13/how- ... windows-7/

maybe windows7 is not that bad after all- But I'm still buying an Imac the 27'' one in December...


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 82 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group