Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:46 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:23 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Right, currently my laptop is rather like a guinea pig in a science lab, it's basically my test machine. Currently i have got Windows 7 Beta, (build 7000 i think, 32-Bit) installed. But here's the thing, its a C2D 1.6Ghz, and it has 1GB of RAM, would it be capable of running 64 Bit OS, like the W7 64 Bit RC? With only 1GB of ram, as currently i have a DVD with W7 64 RC on, but have run out of DVD's, and can't be bothered to go and buy some more :lol: Anyway your input on this would be appreaciated.
Cheers

I dont really care about what Microsoft recommends, i just want to see if it will work!

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 12:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 6:00 pm
Posts: 2781
It should be able to run it, but I don't think it will run it well. 64 bit applications will consume more memory than 32 bit ones. In addition to that, if you're running a mix of 32 bit and 64 bit applications then Windows will need to keep a copy of the 32 bit and 64 bit system libraries in memory. While this doesn't necessarily double the memory footprint of the OS it will substantially increase it.

With Windows 7, you might get away with 1 GB if you're doing nothing much with the machine. The moment you start running applications, your performance is going to rapidly suffer.

_________________
PhilipGoh.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 1:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2007 9:17 am
Posts: 3662
It will work but there's not much point in running a 64 bit OS on a system with 1GB as it's designed to utilise much more.

If you're trying to compare the difference in performance between the RC and beta version, this probably would not be the most conclusive test.

_________________
Graham
Flickr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 12:32 pm
Posts: 6
Quote:
It will work but there's not much point in running a 64 bit OS on a system with 1GB as it's designed to utilise much more.


What that says - main reason for 64 bit is to allow the use more than 4GB of RAM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
I know about the advantages of a 64 Bit OS, but anyway i think i'll try and stick with W7 32 bit, for the moment.
On a second note is it possible to install a OS like W7 without burning the image to a DVD?
Cheers

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 256
Location: Holland
please be aware that for windows 64 bit you also need 64 bit drivers, and the can be quite rare for some older hardware

_________________
www.pimvandevelde.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:09 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:47 pm
Posts: 25
podgeorge wrote:
is it possible to install a OS like W7 without burning the image to a DVD?


Yes but you will need more drive space since they'll copy more files to the drive. you need 9gigs free to install if I remember right.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 7:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:46 pm
Posts: 2091
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Thanks, and i am well aware about the 64 bit drivers....etc Anyway i think i'll just get a blank DVD when i'm next out, that'll probably be easier :wink:
Thanks guys for all your input!

_________________
Ed

Image
Canon 40D + Grip | Sigma 10-20 EX | 17-85 | Sigma 70-200 f/2.8 EX II | 50 F/1.8 | 430 EX II + Other Stuff
Flickr
Portfolio - Not recently updated!
Saving for: -


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group