Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 4:22 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Raid 1 Help
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 6:36 pm 
Hi Guys,
I am thinking about using a Raid 1 setup, to mirror my HDD, in my Computer, i would appreaciate it if someone could tell me whats involved in this process, or give me some info on the subject. The only reason i wan't to do this, is because i could do with a new external HDD, as the one i have got now is a little small, also its just a hassel trying to remember to backup.
Thanks

P.S. Purely for some background info, i currently have a single 640GB HDD, and that is what i would like to mirror. Oh and btw i am using Vista.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 6:52 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 4:30 pm
Posts: 9833
Location: UK
Hi Ed,

I think your first port of call may be your motherboard manual. If it supports RAID 1 then that saves a few pennies which would otherwise have to be spent on a controller card.

More knowledgeable members may have a workaround but I think you'll find that adding a second hard drive (same size and similar performance) and configuring the two as RAID from the BIOS means wiping the first disk. If you can't effectively back it up then that means getting two new disks for your array and using the current disk as a, possibly temporary, D: drive so you can copy your data across to the new array after you've installed an OS. At least one of the drivers will be different on the OS because of the RAID so I'm not sure that using Norton Ghost is going to work as far as restoring a disk image is concerned.

This may all be sounding rather negative and I'll make it worse by observing that using a second drive inside your computer to guard against failure won't help you in the event of either a power spike or theft. My own preference would be to first spend my pennies on more removable storage and only after that spend money inside the computer. But that's me and others may have equally valid (or better) strategies. 8)

Bob.

_________________
Olympus OM-D E-M1 + M.Zuiko Digital ED 12-40mm f/2.8, Lumix 7-14mm f/4, Leica DG Summilux 15mm f/1.7 ASPH, M.Zuiko Digital 45mm 1:1.8, M.Zuiko Digital ED 75mm 1:1.8.
Leica D Vario-Elmar 14mm-150mm f/3.5 - f/5.6 ASPH.
OM-D E-M5, H-PS14042E, Gitzo GT1541T, Arca-Swiss Z1 DP ball-head.
Astrophotography: TEC 140 'scope, FLI ML16803 camera, ASA DDM60 Pro mount.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 6:57 pm 
Thanks for the insight Bob, that has certainly cleared some things up, although the only thing which i am not s keen about is having to wip my current HDD of it's data when setting up a raid array. I will see if my motherboard supports Raid 1/ Raid at all. Anyway, any other inputs to this subject would be very welcome.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 8:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:07 pm
Posts: 256
Location: Holland
Personally I would not build a raid system.
Indeed it would mirror your hard drive, but I will also mirror every mistake you make. I invested in some specific backup software, that backs up all my pictures and documents incrementally once a day.
That way when I make a mistake I can always go back to my backup, and I still have the benefit of automatic backups.

_________________
www.pimvandevelde.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 8:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8051
Location: UK
I part agrees with Schultze's comment - a mirror is only insurance against a failing hard disk. It does not protect you from, for example, accidental corruption, deletion etc.

Recently I went for a soft mirror I guess it might be called. I use SyncBack to copy from one hard disk to another (remote), so I have two copies. I run it manually, but it could be scheduled too.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D2, 7D1, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 10-18, 15-85
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 50/1.4A, 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS
Compacts: Sony HX9V, Fuji X100.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 6:40 am 
Why not get a 1TB external HD and use software to make incremental backups at the time interval of your choosing. It protects you against the hardware failure of your main drive and any user error and unlike a RAID array, if your entire computer were to fail (lets say the power supply failed) it would not go down with the rest of the computer.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 2:52 pm
Posts: 579
Location: Scotland
You don't say if you are running a Mac or PC. If you have a Mac with OS 10.5 or higher you just plug in an external drive and turn on Time Machine. This will give you incremental backups of any drives you select until your time machine volume is full. It will then start to delete the oldest backup and replace them with the most up to date data.

There are many pieces of software that can do similar things on Windows.

Advantages of the incremental backup system are that you can recover accidentally deleted files (within a set time period) as well as going back to previous versions of files (handy if you have saved over an old version of something).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 10:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:59 pm
Posts: 6009
Location: The Netherlands
I set up my drives in Raid 0 (striped) with the vista disk manager. It's a software-based approach though, so expect a bit more CPU utilisation when transferring files.

_________________
I take pictures so quickly, my highschool was "Continuous High".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 12:48 pm
Posts: 8051
Location: UK
Where does raid 0 come into data safety? :P

But on that note, I vaguely recall windows can do mirrors of dynamic volumes, although in standard MS crippleware fashion they disallow the selection of it on "lower" versions.

_________________
Canon DSLRs: 7D2, 7D1, 5D2, 1D, 600D, 450D full spectrum, 300D IR mod
Lenses: EF 35/2, 85/1.8, 135/2+SF, 28-80 V, 70-300L, 100-400L, TS-E 24/3.5L, MP-E 65, EF-S 10-18, 15-85
3rd party: Zeiss 2/50 makro, Samyang 8mm fisheye, Sigma 50/1.4A, 150 macro, 120-300 f/2.8 OS
Compacts: Sony HX9V, Fuji X100.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group