Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Apr 20, 2014 7:14 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Firmware Question
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:05 am
Posts: 24
Location: Temecula, CA
On the Olympus website there is a firmware support section. When I checked to see if my firmware was up to date I noticed that each update had either an Apple or Windows link. When I checked I chose Apple as I have an iMac and there were no updates. I then looked at the Windows link and found two updates, which applied to the same 70-300mm lens.

Why if I am shooting a photo with an E-520 not attached to any computer would Olympus update the lens for one OS and not the other?

_________________
Gear: Nikon D90, 18-105mm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:27 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 669
find a friend with windows, install Olympus Master2 and update on their computer.

_________________
E-3!
12-60 2.8-4.0
12-60 2.8-40 [Also going]
40-150 3.5-4.5
70-300 4.0-5.6
Fl-48


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 6:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:05 am
Posts: 24
Location: Temecula, CA
Atomic wrote:
find a friend with windows, install Olympus Master2 and update on their computer.


I have a PC but I do not use it with my camera. I do not want to screw up my lens or make it PC only.

_________________
Gear: Nikon D90, 18-105mm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 8:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 669
Stephensong wrote:
Atomic wrote:
find a friend with windows, install Olympus Master2 and update on their computer.


I have a PC but I do not use it with my camera. I do not want to screw up my lens or make it PC only.


How exactly do you make a lens PC only?

Or the camera? I hate to be blunt, but don't be silly! If you connect the camera to a computer, the camera won't get "attached" the computer, its not a child :)

You're just using the computer to upload different firmware to the camera.

_________________
E-3!
12-60 2.8-4.0
12-60 2.8-40 [Also going]
40-150 3.5-4.5
70-300 4.0-5.6
Fl-48


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:05 am
Posts: 24
Location: Temecula, CA
Not knowing how software works, I would hate to download something that would over-ride the Mac OS and make it PC only.

In the past I have downloaded items after which I was told "you should not have done that" and it cost me much bucks to fix the problem. I still have the non working hard drive as a reminder.

Its okay to be blunt.

_________________
Gear: Nikon D90, 18-105mm


Last edited by Stephensong on Fri May 29, 2009 8:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I Agree
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 8:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 3:39 am
Posts: 53
Location: United States - Rockaway Beach, NY
I agree. I've used my E-410 on multiple computers, and i even updated it through a PC. Its not attached to one or the other, and still works perfectly fine on my Mac, so don't worry about it.

_________________
My Photos: http://flickr.com/photos/24648553@N04/
My Gear:
Olympus E-30
Olympus 14-54mm & 50mm Macro
FL-36
Lowepro Slingshot 200

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: I Agree
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 8:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:05 am
Posts: 24
Location: Temecula, CA
lsmaverick15 wrote:
I agree. I've used my E-410 on multiple computers, and i even updated it through a PC. Its not attached to one or the other, and still works perfectly fine on my Mac, so don't worry about it.


Thanks, I would rather ask first than buy replacement parts later.

_________________
Gear: Nikon D90, 18-105mm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 29, 2009 11:55 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 669
Stephensong wrote:
Not knowing how software works, I would hate to download something that would over-ride the Mac OS and make it PC only.

In the past I have downloaded items after which I was told "you should not have done that" and it cost me much bucks to fix the problem. I still have the non working hard drive as a reminder.

Its okay to be blunt.


The only time this could ever be an issue is if you're using an iPod or something else with a hard drive that has to format in a specific type. Updating your camera with one or the other will not make the camera develop a liking to a particular OS.

_________________
E-3!
12-60 2.8-4.0
12-60 2.8-40 [Also going]
40-150 3.5-4.5
70-300 4.0-5.6
Fl-48


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 12:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 5:05 am
Posts: 24
Location: Temecula, CA
Atomic wrote:
The only time this could ever be an issue is if you're using an iPod or something else with a hard drive that has to format in a specific type. Updating your camera with one or the other will not make the camera develop a liking to a particular OS.


Thanks for the info, my knowledge of computer stuff is just a notch above my expertise with a camera.

_________________
Gear: Nikon D90, 18-105mm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 12:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 669
No problem, feel free to ask anything. We were all beginners at one point.

_________________
E-3!
12-60 2.8-4.0
12-60 2.8-40 [Also going]
40-150 3.5-4.5
70-300 4.0-5.6
Fl-48


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:29 pm
Posts: 198
Location: Würzburg, Germany
You can use Olympus Master with OS X, if memory serves me right

_________________
Olympus E-30, ZD 9-18mm 4.0-5.6, ZD 50mm Makro 2.0, ZD 14-54mm 2.8-3.5, ZD 70-300 4.0-5.6

Light travel equipment:
Olympus EP-2, µZD 14-42mm , Panasonic 20mm 1.7 pancake.

Cullmann Trento IT Daypack


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 30, 2009 6:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:14 pm
Posts: 669
PrinzMegahertz wrote:
You can use Olympus Master with OS X, if memory serves me right



Problem was that Olympus did not release the firmware updates for people using apple computers apparently.

_________________
E-3!
12-60 2.8-4.0
12-60 2.8-40 [Also going]
40-150 3.5-4.5
70-300 4.0-5.6
Fl-48


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group