Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 4:24 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 3:01 am 

Dear all
This is a wonderful website with tons of good reviews which helped me a lot in my purchasing decision.
I wanted to make some simple video recordings with good quality audio sound and have purchased the Zoom H4N with Sescom cable (with headphone inputs) and would like to know which camera makes a good combo with the Zoom H4N.

As I am a total amateur in this area, appreciate if anyone could advise me on the following:
1) Lenses with wide aperture would achieve better video recording in low light. Would I need the latest lenses made for video recording, eg the Powerzoon series? Would using current lens system still have focus tracking capability for moving subjects?

2) Direct audio recording into camera: I have been advised that separate post audio processing gives the best sound quality. Which software would be the easist to use ie just to replace audio segment?

Due to lack of time, I would hope to record audio from Zoom H4N directly into camera, in uncompressed MOV mode so as to have the best audio quality possible. Given the choice of G6 and GH3, would the audio recording be somewhat similar if I am just using it to do basic video/audio recording without post editing?

Thanks in advance!

Michael

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2014 6:39 am 

Quote:
1) Lenses with wide aperture would achieve better video recording in low light. Would I need the latest lenses made for video recording, eg the Powerzoon series? Would using current lens system still have focus tracking capability for moving subjects?

Short answer: depends on the specific lens.

Long answer:

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/d ... ct/g6.html

http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/d ... t/gh3.html