Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 7:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: DMC GF1 lens attachment
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 6:48 am 
I bought a DMC GF1, charged up the battery, installed & formatted a card and set the camera atop my microscope's photo tube without a lens.

Yes I get an image on the screen that I can focus with the microscope's fine focus control. When I try to take a picture I get a message, "...attach lens correctly..." and no picture taking is possible.

What's up here? Is it a simple matter of installing (for example) an M 42 to micro 4/3 adapter on the camera...or is something else going on? :shock: RM


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 08, 2010 8:47 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9975
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
Hmm, good question but one I can't answer 100%.

I assume the camera won't fire (with the default settings anyway) unless there is something attached to the mount. So there are two solutions:

1: Use a M4/3 converter for your microscope

or

2: See if there's a menu setting which lets the camera 'release' without a lens.

This site might be useful as it sells lots of adapters:

http://www.cameraquest.com/adp_micro_43.htm


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 1:08 am 
Gordon, thanks for the lead.

I have a couple of different Micro 4/3 adapters on the way. One is an M42 for the microscope (and the telescope). We shall see.

Finding a menu setting is a whole different story. Other than hit & miss pushing buttons, the only real reference I have is the GF1 Operator's Manual which seems to have been written by a team of crazy people who really like scavenger hunts.

Hopefully, it's just a simple matter of having something in the mount.

Thanks again--RM


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 3:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 2:29 am
Posts: 724
On my GH1, the option is called "shoot without lens" in the manual/index ("shoot w/o lens" on the camera's LCD) and it's on/in/under the "Custom" menu.

HTH - Mark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: DMC GF1 lens attachment
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:38 pm 
Maestro hi,

Bingo.

Thank you very, very much.
RM


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group