Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:21 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:38 am 
Hiya..

I'm a n00b here and I have a question.

I'm currently going to be living in Europe for a year and I need and want a digital camera to document my experience...ie lots of pics and some possible video usage. I don't want to spend more than $250 on a camera, considering I'm a student and finances are getting tight when I do the math of living abroad.

I'm looking for major zoom 10x and at least 7-8 pixels are fine as well. I'm planning on spending more time taking still shots than actions shots. Although action shots will definitely be taken also I'm not a fan of indoor pictures but from time to time they will be the case (so I guess I won't have low-light problems).

I realize this is not a manual...or I have been told it's not. I'm not sure how important having something manual and I don't even know if point & shoots have such programs considering I'm looking at point and shoots. I'm not big on if it's compact or not so it's not something I'll be considering.

Image quality is really key for me and although I've been recommended the canon I do seem to feel the TZ5 might be best but I'd like some more expert opinions and thoughts.

Recommendations welcome.

Thanks in advance.

Post subject: tz5
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 12:56 pm 
Hi - I own a Tz5 and its by far the best compact camera I have ever owned. It takes great consistent pictures.

My only gripes:
- No manual setting
- Audio is HORRIBLE / un-useable during movies

The only time I really felt I needed the manual setting is when I was taking pictures of waterfalls and wanted to control the aperture & shutter. You can set the minimum shutter speed and trick the camera by focusing on something dark but I got mixed results. The many scene settings