Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:00 pm
Posts: 11
Hi everybody!
I love my Pana FZ28 so much but I can't get any good macro shot ! Please tell me what I can do to get a great macro photo with my FZ28?
Thank !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 12:53 am
Posts: 281
Location: Coventry UK
Sorry, I am not familiar with the camera but does it have a dedicated macro setting? If so you should try this first. Use a tripod if possible to avoid camera shake and make sure your subject is well lit. Use the LCD screen to adjust focus to the point you want it.
Make sure your subject is screened from any wind to avoid subject movement if possible or if this is not possible use a higher shutter speed in shutter priority mode.
I hope all this helps a bit, if not, I am sure some dedicated Panasonic user can offer more advice.

_________________
Nikon D300 D80 D40 18-55mm 18-70mm 18-135mm 55-200mm 18-200mm 28mm 2.8f 50mm 1.8f 85mm 1.8f
Panasonic DMCFZ28 Slik Pro 700DX

I know a little about a lot, a lot about little and everything about nothing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:31 pm
Posts: 104
Location: England, UK
I'd say ask or better yet search on a Flickr z28 group.

http://www.flickr.com/groups/793920@N24/

...

A sample would be good...

What settings are you using?

_________________
Sony W110 7MP, 4x
Fuji s5600. 5MP, 10x.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:49 am
Posts: 2
Location: Perth Western Australia
I have a FZ28 and have no problems with either Auto or Macro selection in both cases Macro can be achieved and by default antishake is enabled.

Just what problems are you having? What are you expecting?

Here are some shots I have taken, not all are Macro but one is 1cm from the lense (a test shot)
http://picasaweb.google.com/davmax60/AustralianFlowers#

See also this link: http://www.cameralabs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13175

_________________
Retired 19 years and loving it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:52 am
Posts: 86
Location: Swansea, IL USA
I just posted some new macros with the FZ28. This time I used a +2 close up lens.

http://www.cameralabs.com/forum/viewtop ... 665#110665

_________________
deviantART

5DMII | 17-40L | 50 1.4 | Sigma 70-200 | Sigma 150 Macro | Sigma 150-500


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:00 pm
Posts: 11
Thank you very much. But my problem is I can't find out an adaptor DMW-LA3 for use with close-up lens (I looked for any way in asean ). I intend to try to make myself a tube like this DMW-LA3 but I don't know exactly it's dimension.
Do you tell me the dimension of DMW-LA3?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 3:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:52 am
Posts: 86
Location: Swansea, IL USA
chacchet wrote:
Thank you very much. But my problem is I can't find out an adaptor DMW-LA3 for use with close-up lens (I looked for any way in asean ). I intend to try to make myself a tube like this DMW-LA3 but I don't know exactly it's dimension.
Do you tell me the dimension of DMW-LA3?


I am using the Hoya close up filter that screws on the end of the camera lens, no need for adapter. But if you plan to use a Raynox lens, then you will need the DMW-LA3 adapter. I am not sure about the dimensions of the adapter. Hope this helps.

_________________
deviantART

5DMII | 17-40L | 50 1.4 | Sigma 70-200 | Sigma 150 Macro | Sigma 150-500


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 3:32 pm
Posts: 9952
Location: Queenstown, New Zealand
You can either set the focusing mode to Macro (indicated by a flower icon) or switch it to iA mode and it'll automatically select macro when placed close to a subject. It's all in the manual!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:00 pm
Posts: 11
Gordon Laing wrote:
You can either set the focusing mode to Macro (indicated by a flower icon) or switch it to iA mode and it'll automatically select macro when placed close to a subject. It's all in the manual!

Thank you very much. But when I place my cameras very close to the subject then it appear a problem of lighting and bokeh look not good.


Last edited by chacchet on Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 12, 2009 10:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 2:00 pm
Posts: 11
rcheng99 wrote:
chacchet wrote:
Thank you very much. But my problem is I can't find out an adaptor DMW-LA3 for use with close-up lens (I looked for any way in asean ). I intend to try to make myself a tube like this DMW-LA3 but I don't know exactly it's dimension.
Do you tell me the dimension of DMW-LA3?


I am using the Hoya close up filter that screws on the end of the camera lens, no need for adapter. But if you plan to use a Raynox lens, then you will need the DMW-LA3 adapter. I am not sure about the dimensions of the adapter. Hope this helps.

Thank you for your help. In VN cameras shop don't have any accessory for Panasonic! I try to make myself an adaptor and will tell you my result. Wait for me, please.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:23 pm
Posts: 269
Location: Redford, Michigan, USA
rcheng99 wrote:
I just posted some new macros with the FZ28. This time I used a +2 close up lens.

http://www.cameralabs.com/forum/viewtop ... 665#110665


Your macro pictures were amazing.

Panasonic FZ28 was better image than my Canon powershot SX110. :(

Pana. FZ28 's HD video was better and bigger than my canon ... :(


Now I am interesting to buy in panasonic FZ28..after I read people wrote review on other website. Wow! They said lot of PROS and None of CONs..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 6
I find that the auto focus on my FZ28 doesn't like to work very well near its minimum focal length. When I take Macro shots, I generally just put it in aperture priority and use the manual focus.

Yes, you want good lighting, and keep in mind that when you're close to the subject the camera itself will obscure light. But that's the great thing about macro shots - you can set them up however you want, control the light, and no one would ever know.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:52 am
Posts: 86
Location: Swansea, IL USA
TheMightyGoat wrote:
I find that the auto focus on my FZ28 doesn't like to work very well near its minimum focal length. When I take Macro shots, I generally just put it in aperture priority and use the manual focus.

Yes, you want good lighting, and keep in mind that when you're close to the subject the camera itself will obscure light. But that's the great thing about macro shots - you can set them up however you want, control the light, and no one would ever know.


I agree that manual focus is the way to go when taking macro shots. Because of the shallow dof, you need precise focus.

Btw, I returned the Hoya closeup filters and got a Raynox macro lens instead. The difference is night and day. I just posted some shots I took with it. I highly recommend it.

http://www.cameralabs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13935


RC

_________________
deviantART

5DMII | 17-40L | 50 1.4 | Sigma 70-200 | Sigma 150 Macro | Sigma 150-500


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:51 pm
Posts: 6
Chacchet,

Here are two macro shots I took with my un-aided FZ28. I'm waiting for my Raynox 250 to aid these types of shots further.

They were both taken in aperture priority and manual focus.

Image
(Edited for selective color.)

Image
(No modifications - just resized.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 5:52 am
Posts: 86
Location: Swansea, IL USA
TheMightyGoat wrote:
Chacchet,

Here are two macro shots I took with my un-aided FZ28. I'm waiting for my Raynox 250 to aid these types of shots further.

They were both taken in aperture priority and manual focus.

Image
(Edited for selective color.)

Image
(No modifications - just resized.)




Nice shots there. Was it hard to keep the eye still?

_________________
deviantART

5DMII | 17-40L | 50 1.4 | Sigma 70-200 | Sigma 150 Macro | Sigma 150-500


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group