Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:01 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 12:56 pm 
My Sandisk Extreme III 2gig CF card can fit exactly 118 RAW pics. The reason I'm asking is that I saw from another forum that their Canon XTi DSLR can fit around 180 RAW shots with the same exact card. I know each manufacturer is proprietary of their own RAW file, but that's almost a 70 shot difference. I'm still learning the ins and outs, but I thought given similar cameras, RAW is RAW, and not like JPEG compression qualities which are understandable.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:04 pm 
Hmmm - I'm not sure really, since both cameras are 10Mp models, you'd expect them to be closer. Is it definitely the XTi and not the XT (since the later has less Mp so the RAW files would be smaller).

Other than that, I guess it's down to the variations from picture to picture and perhaps the two manufacturers have different methods of storing RAW files resulting in more/less data being retained?????

Hopefully someone else will give you a more convincing answer!!! :P Any XTi owners floating around???

Mark

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 1:07 pm 
I think Mark is right, it's probably down to the kind of compression used. I know RAW images are supposed to be "pure" and all but Nikon compresses its NEF files so I guess the other manufacturers do as well.

It could also be that you are shooting a more complex picture? A picture of a plain black surface will take up less space than one of a landscape if compression is used.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:08 pm 
Yeah, sorry for the late response, but yeah he definately said XTi, whether it really is I'm not sure. The actual subject complexity should not have something to do with it. Once I erase all data on the card, it says 118.