Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:58 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 4:17 pm 
Hello,
I'm sure I've asked question like every newbie here asked. What DSLR package or starter kit should a beginner get? I went back and forth with Canon and Nikon b/c that is what most people own. Well, I'm now back to Olympus. I've always own Olympus p&s cameras. I have 3 of them now. And they are just not cutting it for me anymore. I want more from my pictures therefore I'm venturing out to DSLR.

I will only be taking family pictures. While I know it's what feel comfortable in my hand, I still want to know if this is a good combo for a mom who's crazy about taking her boy's pictures? I like to be able to take them in door with low light.

Thank you for reading,

Diane

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 10, 2008 8:56 pm 
I had the same problem when i was first looking to buy my first dslr.

About the low light shooting, I found when i first started shooting low light with my new dslr, i was really and i mean really disappointed with the results, the on-board flash was too harsh, and even if i bumped up the iso it was still disappointing, especially with fast moving stuff like kids.

You have to think that any kit lens you get with your fist dslr, whether it is canon, Nikon or Olympus your largest aperture is going to be around f3.5 so you will have to invest in a faster lens to get better low light results. Yes some deal with noise better than others but i think the difference is negligible... what you really need to be thinking is getting an external flash that recycles fast, i would avoid the fl-36 as i get so frustrated with the recycle speed, the metz alternative is apparently better or spend a bit more get the old fl-50 (which are much cheaper now), Also they have AF assistance to help you focus faster.