Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:24 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: D40 vs old Canon IXUS 55
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:11 pm 

Hi guys,

If you don't mind please have a look at some new photos taken with my D40. I'm a bit concerned that they don't seem as sharp as previous photos taken with the compact Canon IXUS55, although this is probably all in my mind.

One problem with the D40 landscape shot was that I'd left the camera in A mode, so the aperture was right up at 22! I assume this will contribute to any lack of sharpness, as the shutter speed will be lower, correct?

Anyway any constructive criticism more than welcome.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/70255654@N ... 490299864/

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:26 pm 

Hi there. I'm no expert but I'll have a stab at it.

First of all, nice pictures, all of them

Using f22 will indeed mean that a longer shutter speed is required. Also, any lens is compromised in sharpness at it's extreme end. Try using f8 and see what you think.

I also notice you've got your cameras sharpening set to "Auto". This won't help either.

Having said that I leave the sharpening on my D80 set to "Normal". I do all my sharpening in PP.

Zorro.

Various lenses, SB800 & Manfrotto 190 with 460MG head

Last edited by zorro on Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:27 pm 

Well, at least at 1024 they seem sharp to me.
Also checked your shutter speeds and they all seem to be on the secure side (DSC_0103: 1/80 sec at 18mm).
I think you have to post 100% crops to let us compare...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:53 pm 

Thanks Zorro! Thomas, I'd be happy to...but how exactly do I achieve this technological feat?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 1:11 pm