Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 2:18 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Upgrading to DSLR
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 1:27 pm 

Hi everyone!
I'm a beginner photographer, I have been using Kodak Z650 and Panasonic FZ30 bridge cameras and now I want to upgrade to a DSLR camera. I've chosen the Nikon brand, but I'm not sure about the exact model. First I wanted D50, with the kit lens of the D70/D70s, but now the D50 is out of market. Now, I am between D70s and D80. In Hungary the difference between these two kits (with the 18-70mm lens) is 350 dollars. Is it worth the difference?
I think for a time, the kit will be enough for me, so I do not want to spend money on expensive lenses.
In order to give me more specific advice, check out some of my photos here:

http://danielhazi.uw.hu

Thanks in advance!
Dani

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 9:40 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Dani, welcome to the Cameralabs forums!

We've detailed the main differences between the D70s and the D80 in the verdict of our D80 review here:

http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/NikonD80/page6.shtml

If you can afford it, I'd say the D80 is definitely worth the extra.

Hope that helps!

Gordon

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 11:12 am 

Very nice photos, Daniel! Looks like you may need a close-up lens or macro though?
350$ is a lot of money. Perhaps a D40(x) set could be it. The D40x is certainly the body with the longer life-cycle than the D70. Plus cheaper than the D80 too, but with the same quality sensor.
Did you read through Gordons review http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/NikonD40x/ ?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2007 3:15 pm 

Thanks for the advice!