Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Oct 25, 2014 10:40 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 6:28 am 

I'm new to the world of photography and I live in Hawaii where there are spectacular landscapes to take photos of and I'm looking to pick up a D7100 plus a lens that would allow me to do so. However, I'm also going on a trip San Fran then NYC for about two weeks and I'll be taking pictures of friends and tourist attractions. So I'm wondering what would be the best lens for my purposes. I would love to get a lens that would allow me to take great landscapes but also capture people with the blurred background effect without having to change lenses. So I was wondering if anyone had suggestions. I read somewhere that the Nikkor AF-S 50mm f/1.8G was a good general lens but like I said I'm new to this hobby and looking for suggestions.

Thanks for any help you can give

PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:01 pm 

Hello Slevin

For me the best all-purpose Nikon DX lens is the 16-85 f3.5-5.6 VR. It was hardly ever off my D7000 and covered 24mm to almost 130mm full frame equivalent, so good for landscapes and most other things. Its lack of wideness means that it is not as good as the 50mm for some people pics and low light but in all honesty it will give you good enough results for starters. The only doubt for me is how it copes with the D7100's 24 megapixel sensor, the D7000 "only" having 16Mp.

I now have a D600 but if my only camera was the D7000 the 16-85 would be the first lens I would buy.

As always try it out in the shop if you can.

Cheers

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2014 12:36 am