Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 3:06 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Help me decide, PLEASE!
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:11 am 
Hi all, I'm a newbie to this site. I have been in the market, ok more like dreaming of a new lens for about 6 months. I shoot a D60 currently and am having a hard time deciding which lens to purchase next. I am looking to use it mostly for shooting candids and portraits of my kids. I have picked out the following, but am stuck as to which one to buy. I LOVE the price of the Nikkor f1.8 35mm lens. I am also thinking of the Nikkor f1.8 50mm lens. But, I can't decide between the two.

I would love to get the Nikkor f1.4 50mm lens, but that is currently out of my price range.

Oh, and one silly question....how noticeable is the lack of VR in the lens?

Thanks! :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:32 am 

I assume you have something like the 18-55?

See what focal lengths you commonly use for portraits. EXIF should show you.

I'd pick the 50/1.8 over the 1.4. Excellent image quality, much cheaper and you probably wouldn't be using 1.4 much (very shallow depth of field at 1.4).

If VR gives 3 stops, then f2 on a non-VR lens is equivalent to f5.6 on a VR lens. Basically, you won't notice it. For low light, I'd use a tripod anyway. Then you don't have to keep squinting through the viewfinder and you're bettr able to catch that elusive expression and converse with the subject!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:33 am 
VR is not really necessary,

I have heard of a rule that if you use shutterspeeds at least as fast as the focal lenght you will be fine. Sometimes I even shoot at 300mm without VR without problems (handheld).