Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 8:03 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:11 pm 
Hello everyone I am a newbie in photography...

Can anyone please explain what is the basic difference between nikon 55-300mm and 70-300mm zoom lenses?

The 70-300mm is more expensive than 50-300mm although both offers the 300mm final range mark . So which one good and why?

From my limited knowledge :!: and observation I know 70-300mm can be used with FX bodies, but if someone who owns a DX body and do not want to upgrade to FX in that case which one is a better buy?

Thanks in advance. :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 10:32 pm 

Hello, koptar

There are a few differences between the 70-300 and the 55-300. The most evident difference between the two would be the range, the 70-300 is 15mm longer at the wide end than the wider 55-300. Another evident difference is the price, while the 55-300 retails for around $400, while the 70-300 is going to cost about another $200. So, what do you get for another $200? Well, the 70-300 is optimized for FX cameras, but works just fine on DX. In fact, it will give you extra range on DX cameras because of the sensor crop, giving you a 105-450mm equivalent. If you do ever upgrade to full frame in the future (even though you mentioned that you don't plan to in your message, it's still something to consider) the 70-300 will allow you to continue to use your telephoto zoom lens while the 55-300, although it would mount, it wouldn't perform very well.