Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 10:13 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Choosing a macro lens
PostPosted: Sat May 21, 2011 9:51 am 

I've received the following questions from penguinnikon919:
Quote:
Im a new photographer and have been blessed to have found the camera labs community, so i thank you for all you do.
So why im bothering you
1.) im interested in purchasing a micro lens from nikon mabye the 60 mm. Gordon said u were the expert in this area. i own a d3100 and have 18-55 and 55-200.
i like taking pictures of wildlife and close ups of bugs and flowers. First do i need a micro lens or should i not get one? and is 60 mm enough zoom or should i invest more in say the 105?

Also in your post can you talk about if a micro lens will be better with people shots than my 18-55 for example. What i mean, is a micro lens going to produce just as good or better pictures that are not supper close up?
please tell me when you post it. Thanks so much

First let me direct anyone interested in this question to Gordon#s write-up "Recommended Nikkor / Nikon lenses for insect, flower and general close-up photography". Plus there are other macro-lenses from manufacturers like Sigma or Tamron.
The fun part with all these macro lenses is that they produce pretty good pictures: sharp and contrasty. So the main choice comes down to focla length and stabilization.

Covering stabilization first: there are only 2 stabilized macro-lenses for Nikon bodies: The Nikon 105/2.8 VR which works on both DX and FX bodies and the 85/3.5 VR which is for DX bodies only.
There are people saying that the image stabilization in macro lenses is not very helpful, but:
1. All image stabilization in longer lenses comes in handy at normal shooting situations and
2. Even a 1-2 stop effect is very welcome when shooting macro handheld.

Now onto focal length: