Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:21 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 6:13 pm 
For the past 4 years I had a Nikon D40 and now, obviously, it's pretty outdated. I've been thinking of an upgrade up to 550$. I was considering the D3100 but then I read some opinions saying it's more for amateurs and doesn't have many advanced options. When shooting, I need to have as much manual freedom as possible, with exposure, etc.. I'm not a pro, but I know my way around a camera and know how to use most of its options so I need something that I can freely use without the camera doing too much for me. I really don't know what to set on. D90 is pretty damn expensive, maybe D70? A cheaper version of the D90 would be nice.. I really don't know. I don't care about movies, convertible LCD or any of these additions.
And help, please?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 6:27 pm 
Ask yourself what your reason is for upgrading.

If you buy the D3100, then the only thing that you are upgrading is the image quality.

If you are fine with the image quality you currently have, then you could look into used more professional cameras.

Now im in the UK so I dont quite know the prices, but Ill work off your budget being the new price of a D3100?

For that money, you could buy a used mint condition D200 or probably slightly worse condition D90.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:38 pm 
I'm basically fine with the image quality now but getting something better would be nice too... my reason for upgrading is to have something i can do more with my pictures and have bigger control on my images and to push them further than i could with the D40.

I'll look into the D200 though, thanks :)

PostPosted: Mon May 02, 2011 7:41 pm 

kalwid wrote:
For the past 4 years I had a Nikon D40 and now, obviously, it's pretty outdated.