Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:36 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 9:48 pm 
Hi all.

First post on this forum and I just want to say I love the site. Great reviews and Video reviews are really nice feature.

Took me a while to get on this forum. Thanks for sorting, Gordon :-)

Well, I'm just starting out in the world of DSLRs after using my little happy snapper for a few years and will be concentrating mainly on Wildlife photography. I decided on the Nikon D80 after reading a hell of a lot of reviews and getting all the info I could.

I nearly went for the Pentax K10D, and have been avidly waiting for Gordon to come up with a review for it (sorry :twisted: ) . But I just didn't like the available lenses. As someone put it, a great lense on a bad camera is better than a bad lense a good camera. I just liked the range of Nikon lenses.

Also, did a look and feel test in a local shop and the Nikon came up trumps. Anti-dust never works anyways, I got VR in the lense and as for weather proofing - I bought a water proof hood. :D

So I've ordered

Nikon D80, 24-120mm VR Lens, 80-400mm VR Lens, Tripod, 4gb Memory, case & a whole load of other stuff.

In the UK, where I live it comes in about £2000. So I ordered it from the states and got it all for less than £900. (I swear we get absolutely screwed in Europe for this kind of thing).

Ok, so the warranty is only valid in the USA, but at that price I could buy the whole lot again and still save money. Customs can be a sting but I still save a huge amount.

I'll let you know how it all gets on. You never know, it could be the best cautionary tale ever. :P

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 11:00 pm 

Hi Craig. I have a D80 and am very happy with it. Out of interest, where did you order the kit from?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 1:02 am 
Site Admin