Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:05 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:20 am
Posts: 149
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Went out with a friend last night just to muck around and do some night time exposures and learn a little. I took my D7000 and he had a Canon 500D. All was well until until it was very dark and we needed exposures lasting longer than 30s. Both using tripods of course I have a remote, ML3 I think it is, so decided to try and use this also when exposures go bigger than 30s.

Two problems I came across. Once set the camera for ---- which is when you are using the remote I didn't know really what to do. Do you press the remote shutter once and then hold it down until you want to take the photo and then release it, or do you press fully once to start and fully again to finish.

Another thing I noticed with my mates Canon, was it counted the seconds for you where as I couldn't for the life of me, find how to do this on the d7000 menu, is it possible?

I looked up the manual as soon as I got home but couldn't find anything. Does this mean you have to count in the dark? Surely not?

Any assistance would be appreciated as I am new to this and am trying to learn...

_________________
Image Image Image
Aidan Hill. com
Nikon D7000 | Nikon 70-200MM f/2.8G VR II | Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM | Tokina 11-16mm F2.8| iMac 27" | MacBook Pro 13" | Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Bag |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:20 am
Posts: 149
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
I found this while searching for the answer.

"Well I think I figured out my own question. In "--" mode, it's Time mode which if I use the ML-L3 and press it once, it starts the exposure and then pressing it again, ends the exposure. I think the confusion I had was that I was pressing the remote so hard it was sensing both presses. But if I'm more diligent about pressing the remote gentle, I can get it to start and end when I want it to."

So want to know, does the Nikon D7000 count the seconds for you on this mode or BULB mode? Is it a menu setting somewhere?

_________________
Image Image Image
Aidan Hill. com
Nikon D7000 | Nikon 70-200MM f/2.8G VR II | Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM | Tokina 11-16mm F2.8| iMac 27" | MacBook Pro 13" | Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Bag |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 9:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:42 pm
Posts: 1388
Location: The Netherlands
If it is not in the manual, or if you cant find it in the menus yourself, it is not there (99,9% of the cases).

_________________
- Wout -
Lowepro Nova 200 AW filled with Nikon D90 + MB-D80
18-70 DX, 70-300 VR, 35 1.8 DX, SB-700


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:01 pm
Posts: 1206
Location: NW England
No you don't need to hold the remote button down. Press once to open then again to close shutter.
If you have it set in main menu to `mirror up`, you press to lift the mirror first....then again to open the shutter.

Have you got the `beep` set to ON? (might be useful when it's pitch black)

I struggled to even see the dial at night, :shock: so bought a head torch.
There isn't a seconds counter, but it would be useful as you say.

I'm STILL trying different settings & getting to know my camera. :?

_________________
Image btw,He who dies with the most toys, WINS!
Nikon D800E & D700 bodies + Nikon 200-400mm F4 VR1, 50mm F1.4G, 16-35mm f/4G VR, 105 F2.8 VR macro, 70-300mm lenses. A couple of filters, Giotto tripod & ballhead. Lowepro Slingshot 302 AW
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 9:20 am
Posts: 149
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Yeah just disappointed at my mates Canon 500D had a counter on his rear screen so he could just see how long he was leaving the exposure for and then just hit his wired remote when he had got to 45 secs or a min etc.

Thought a camera probably 2 or 3 years newer would have this feature especially when you are in the darkness...

_________________
Image Image Image
Aidan Hill. com
Nikon D7000 | Nikon 70-200MM f/2.8G VR II | Sigma 17-50mm F2.8 EX DC OS HSM | Tokina 11-16mm F2.8| iMac 27" | MacBook Pro 13" | Crumpler 6 Million Dollar Bag |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:21 am
Posts: 186
Location: Ireland
Use the stop watch on your phone?

'Bulb mode' is what you use when going over 30 seconds. Some remotes have a lock you slide up to begin, you can then let go until you're done, just slide it back down and the shutter closes. Others require you to keep the button pressed.

Seriously, just use a phone or actual watch to keep check on the time. It's nothing amazing that some models count it for you really.

Worry more about keeping the tripod dead steady and look into using mirror lock up for shooting [not cleaning] and you'll get sharper shots.

_________________
Flickr | Pix.ie


Nikon D90: Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8, Vivitar 70-210mm f/3.5, Next up: Nikkor 85mm f/1.8D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group