Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Apr 24, 2014 8:25 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 6:21 pm 

Hello newbies to DLSR's! I'm a newbie myself (somewhat), and have been immersed for some weeks now researching, reading, posting, creating shopping carts, deleting shopping carts, scoffing at opinions, wow'd by opinions. I'm sure this is a recognizable story to many of you.

By profession, I am a Production Designer in film in Los Angeles. My primary desire to evolve to a DSLR is to document my design work. Documenting work as a Production Designer means more than just taking snap shots of some flats, props and furniture. My photographs need to tell stories and be compelling all by themselves. They need to tell a story and encourage the viewer to want to see more. As ANY good photograph should.

After the easy decision to purchase Nikon (D200), the chore of finding the right lenses and accessories began... daunting, to say the least. After selecting, in MANY iterations of shopping carts on Amazon and Adorama (and various others, the top of the line Nikon lenses and staring down the barrel at WELL over $8,000(US), I took a long hard swallow and thought, "maybe this isn't the right choice for me." Then I snapped out of it.

Going from a point and shoot, even a slightly more sophisticated SLR-Like Panasonic-Lumix DMC FZ30 (which I've used for a few years), to a top of the line Nikon is not just a little like learning a new language, it's TOTALLY like learning a new language. Imagine plopping yourself in to a foreign country having only read a few pamphlets on the language. That's what most of us do when we make the switch to a DSLR. Have no fear! There's a HUGE learning curve and A LOT of support out there for you. (At Camera Labs Forums, for one.)