Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Aug 31, 2014 3:00 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 4:47 pm 
Hi,I'm totally new to all this,but after positive feedback of photos taken on my fuji finepix I decided that I would go for a DSLR.I anticipated on spending £1200-£1500 for body and lenses.My friend at work swears by Canon because of the cmos sensor and its ability to take sharp photos at low iso,whatever iso is.He also pointed out that you can get the lenses cheap on ebay.Of course everyone has preferances,some prefer Canon and some Nikon, what I needed to do was to find out what the cameras felt like in my hands as I have quite big hands,so went along to a camera shop and asked them to show me three models:Canon EOS D30, Nikon D80 and Nikon D200.The canon model was felt good in my hand and so did the D80,though the D80 felt too plastic in comparison to the other two models,which have a magnesium alloy body.The EOS D30 was left behind with the D80 and D200 LCD screen with its clearly displayed information,also the D200 does not have that dial with the action,portrait,night,etc,modes on and the build quality is excellent, you know you have a high quality camera in your hands.Oh,and not forgetting,Nikon offer of free software when you bought the D200 before the 3rd of August (In the UK) valued at £120.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 7:29 pm 

Hello Nikon newbie, and welcome to the Camera Labs forum!
Have you already bought the new gear, if so with what lens(es)?
Or are you still finalising your decision?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2007 8:00 pm