Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Sep 30, 2014 10:19 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 3:23 am 
hi everyone

i just bought an umberlla and its so good
i used the continuous light and the result was great

but the problem is i dont know how to use the strobe light
everytime i take a picture its becomee so white
so can anybody help me plz

i hope everyone understand i am sorry i am not so good in english


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 861
Location: Surrey, UK
If you whole picture is coming out White it might be because your flash is set too bright. Can you upload an example so we can see?

_________________
Camera: Canon 550D with battery grip
Lenses: Canon 24-105mm f/4L, Canon 50mm f1.4, Canon 18-55mm, Tamron 70-300mm,
Accessories: Manfrotto 055XPROB with 808RC4 head, Canon 430ex II speedlite, Lowepro Nova 180AW and Lowepro Pro Runner 450AW


Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:53 pm 
yes the whole picture come so white

i dont know how to set the bright in my flash

could you help me plz?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 861
Location: Surrey, UK
What flash are you using a speedlite or strobe. I am guessing you are talking about strobe unless you have one of the new Canon 320ex flashes.

If you have a strobe you should be able to manually adjust the power. This will adjust the power of the flash aswell as the power of the continuous light aswell (that's what it does on mine and I think it is the same on most strobes. You could turn the continuous light on and adjust it to the power to what you want (this might be easier as you can actually see the difference with every bit you turn it up). Then turn on to the strobe and see if it has worked. You might have to fine tune it a bit but it should get you reasonably close.

_________________
Camera: Canon 550D with battery grip
Lenses: Canon 24-105mm f/4L, Canon 50mm f1.4, Canon 18-55mm, Tamron 70-300mm,
Accessories: Manfrotto 055XPROB with 808RC4 head, Canon 430ex II speedlite, Lowepro Nova 180AW and Lowepro Pro Runner 450AW


Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:32 pm 
yeah i am using strobe

but mine doesnt have a button to adjust the light

thank you jameswilby5 very much for your help


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 7:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2009 12:59 pm
Posts: 6009
Location: The Netherlands
Close your aperture then.

And read more about flash :)

_________________
I take pictures so quickly, my highschool was "Continuous High".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 861
Location: Surrey, UK
Yes I agree closing your aperture would definitely work. Or if you where going for a certain effect (LOTS OF BOKEH :D) you could always use a a quicker shutter speed. Although remember there is a minimum shutter speed that can be used with strobes they are usually in the region of 1/250th second.

_________________
Camera: Canon 550D with battery grip
Lenses: Canon 24-105mm f/4L, Canon 50mm f1.4, Canon 18-55mm, Tamron 70-300mm,
Accessories: Manfrotto 055XPROB with 808RC4 head, Canon 430ex II speedlite, Lowepro Nova 180AW and Lowepro Pro Runner 450AW


Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:20 pm 
i tried closing the aperture and it works fine

the picture were good

one more thing
:D
could you jameswilby5 tell me what strobe flash do you use ?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:52 am
Posts: 861
Location: Surrey, UK
I use the interfit stellar x 300w. I bought it as part of the 2 head double soft box kit and am very impressed with it. I need to upgrade the tripods though as they aren't to sturdy.

_________________
Camera: Canon 550D with battery grip
Lenses: Canon 24-105mm f/4L, Canon 50mm f1.4, Canon 18-55mm, Tamron 70-300mm,
Accessories: Manfrotto 055XPROB with 808RC4 head, Canon 430ex II speedlite, Lowepro Nova 180AW and Lowepro Pro Runner 450AW


Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 7:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2009 3:27 am
Posts: 916
Location: UK
Some flashguns do not have any controls on, just a power switch.

There are many out there.

_________________
Canon EOS 500D
Lenses: EFS 18-55mm IS, EF 50mm F/1.8 II

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All words, images, videos and layout, copyright 2005-2012 Gordon Laing. May not be used without permission.
/ How we test / Best Cameras / Advertising / Camera reviews / Supporting Camera Labs

Webdesign by Alphabase IT
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group