Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Oct 02, 2014 1:39 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: First attempt
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:18 pm 

Hey everyone,

Just got back from taking some night photos of an old manor house I was at. It was my first attempt and I am quite surprised at how well they turned out. However I am no expert so was wondering if you guys thought they where any good? Any advice on how to improve the pictures would be great.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/54600352@N02/sets/

I used aperture priority mode 18mm f3.5.

Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:51 pm 

For Night shots "I" advice M mode :)

You have more control over the light, since you need to control the shutter speed.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 10:25 pm 

I will eventually start using manual mode when I become better at judging what settings would be right to use in certain situations.

Oh that is so lame, every hot girl who can aim a camera thinks she’s a photographer -Stewie Griffin

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:32 am 

I think you need to think more about your composition. These photos all have the subject bang in the middle and the horizon is also pretty much dead-centre throughout.

You've shown 6 photos, but they are all essentially the same. If you're taking a set, why not show different aspects of your subject/theme? You could shoot from different angles, wide, zoomed in, high/low, inside, some macro detail etc... tell the whole story.

As for your camera settings - I hardly ever take my camera out of aperture priority mode and I almost never use full manual mode. If I want to stop action or blur motion, then I sometimes use shutter priority, or maybe I'll just select a different ISO or aperture....