Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Nov 26, 2014 5:50 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 3:48 am 
Hello everyone,

I'm researching some new gear to buy for Christmas for myself, and being a poor student, I don't really have all that much money to throw around.

I was originally going to purchase the Sigma 50 f/2.8 macro lens, along with the Nikkor 55-200 VR lens.

Then I came across teleconverters and macro filters. What are the benefits and cons of both? I was going to use the TC on the 55-200 to get a 110-400mm Zoom range, and the macro filters on my 50 f/1.8.

Thoughts?

Eric D.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:00 am 
I've seen some cheap macro filters, and they could really get up close. But the IQ went way down, when you used the more powerfull ones.

I've never used one or wanted a TC.
But it will be usefull cus you can double (or 1.4x) your focal lengths (and apertures), and you can take them off again and put them on another lens. So you would get double focal length and aperture on all your lenses of the same brand. At least how i understood it ;)
I've also seen that the 2x does draw down IQ more than the 1.4x.
0eyvind

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:18 am 

Close up lenses do what they say. They give a small magnification by themselves, but also allow you to move closer thus making objects bigger. For more on them see my other notes in this thread. They can be found very cheap, but those are made of low quality glass which leads to increased CA and unwanted reflections. There are more expensive higher quality ones, but of course they're more expensive. To keep at the same quality as the lens is normally while getting bigger images, also consider extension tubes.