Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:07 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Histogram Help
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:26 am 

Hello all,

I'm a relative noob to photography, but I'm really enjoying it so far and learning loads each day.

I have a baby daughter who I take lots of photos of indoors and in bright sunlight on the nearby beach.

I tend to use 'P' mode most often and 'AV' mode for portraits. I'm finding it difficult to judge the exposure (especially in 'P' mode) when I'm at the beach and cannot see the screen well due to the bright sunlight. I played around with the bracketing for a while, but firing 3 shots with the flash often means I miss a 'moment' or catch it when the bracketed shot was the other end of the correct scale.

I've been told to use the histogram more. Great, except I don't know how!

Any tips (or a video from Gordon, hint hint :-) ) would be very much appreciated.

I have a canon EOS 400D used mostly with a canon efs17-85mm lens and built in flash (saving up for a speedlite...)

Thanks,

SP30

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 7:29 pm