Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:56 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Focus - blur -- Help!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 8:52 pm 
Hi everyone,

After much waiting and research and help from people on here i've finally got my D300 and lenses.

I've been out the past two days playing with it photographing stuff but i seem to be having a problem getting things in good focus most things seem to be blurry or the dof just seems too shallow. I've tried using A mode but still i can't seem to get what i want.

Most of my problem is with shooting macro with my telephoto lens (as macro as can be anyway) I know shooting macro has a limited dof but i'm having trouble having things in focus at all. For example this thistle and dragonfly. Can anyone see what i'm doing wrong? any pointers?

I am new to the world of the dslr but i've read the manual and before i even got the camera i read up alot and studied what i could but i'm sure there is something i'm missing.

Edit : Iso : 100, 300mm, f / 5.6, 1/25 sec

Also here is a link to my flickr with that picture

http://www.flickr.com/photos/28598075@N03/2669078680/

I tried to upload a couple more but i'm having problems uploading.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 9:08 pm 
Site Admin

Hi Shane, what's wrong with it? I think it looks great...

Macro shots (especially with DSLRs) have inherently very shallow depth of fields. All you can do is increase the f-number (but risk motion due to the longer exposure), and position the camera and lens so as much of the subject as possible is already parallel with the focal plane (rather than going away from or towards the camera).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:47 pm 
Hi Gordon, thanks for the reply.