Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 12:00 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: RAW vs. Jpeg?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:32 am 
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the whole photography thing, and was wondering, what are the significant differences between shooting in RAW, or Jpeg, I also do not know what either of them are :roll:

Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 14, 2008 4:48 am 
Hopefully I can help.

RAW vs. Jpeg:

Jpeg and RAW are both image formats that the camera will save the image as when it's captured it.

Jpeg is the average and standard image format used across the world. Jpeg has small files, but still maintains decent quality. The main advantage that .Jpeg images have are that they are fairly small files when compared to other image formats.

RAW has many advantages over Jpeg. First and foremost, RAW is a uncompressed. Unlike Jpeg, all the shooting specifications and details are saved separately instead of compressed together. This of course leads to size issues. RAW files are much larger than Jpeg. For instance, if a Jpeg is 1.8mb, then a RAW will be somewhere around 6-10mb. Depending on your cameras resolution (megapixels).

So what's the advantage of having an uncompressed image format?

When you edit the image, none of the pixels will be damaged from editing. So when you open a RAW image into Camera Raw and begin to edit curves, exposure, shadows, etc', The pixels on the image will not be harmed whereas they can be damaged if the format was compressed.

RAW also has the advantage of perfecting image color and tones. By shooting RAW, you can choose a standard White Balance, and then later go and perfect the White Balance and customize it.