Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:59 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:00 pm 
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie in DSLR and I've encountered a problem when I was shooting at a dancing party (low-light) yesterday. I did not know what went wrong, hope you guys can give me some advice.

I'm using Canon 400D or Rebel Xti with 18-55mm kit lens and a Canon EX430 Speedlite.

When I shoot people with dark dress such as black shirt, the photo came out every nice with all the brightness, shadow and background. But when I shoot people with bright dress such as white or yellow shirt, the subject and background appeared to be dark.

I use the same setting all night which is in Manual Mode, 1/60s, aperture between 3.5-5.6 (as I zoom in and out all the time), ISO 400, Auto White Balance and a Speedlite on default setting. The flash was on all the time and I'm sure the flash was working every single time.

Settings were the same as I'm using Potrait Mode. Since I need to use the AI SERVO focusing mode because my subjects are moving all the time (dancing), I switch to Manual Mode (Potrait Mode doesn't allow me to use AI SERVO).

Does it have anything to do with the White Balance setting? I just saw a setting called "Flash".

Hope you guys can help me here. Thanks a lot.

Last edited by juin on Sun Jun 15, 2008 4:02 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2008 2:53 pm 
Hello juin!

Welcome to the friendly Camera Labs community :D

Hmm..I suspect metering problems.

Instead of evaluative(aka multi-segment) metering, why not try spot metering on the dresses or the faces.