Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 10:28 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Reef tank photography
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 2:40 am 
Hi all im new to DSLR's.I just recently got a nikon D40x and for the life of me i cant take any beautifull shots of my saltwater reef.No matter what i do im not happy with the pics.Any suggestions will be apriciated thanks in advance.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:51 am 

Hi benztech, let me be the first to welcome you to the camera labs forum!

If you tell us what kind of equipment you have and what specifically you are doing that you are not satisfied with, along with a couple of example pictures I'm sure we will be able to help you out!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:02 am 
Site Admin

Hi benztech, the D40x should certainly be able to take some great photos. Do you have the mode set to Auto or P and the lens set to A? Then it should all be automatic... As John says though, link to a photo so we can look into it further...

You might also find our video workshops handy at www.dslrtips.com...

Gordon

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:23 pm 
I hope he has a polarized filter ... to eliminate the reflection ...that would help dramatically.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 4:03 pm 
I'd echo the comments made above - examples would be helpful. Essentially a fair ISO, tripod, some power from a flashgun and a CPL will be all the equipment you need for great saltwater reef photography. The main hurdles are the glass and lighting; using a CPL and then sticking the lens close to the glass as possible will reduce reflections, and the flashgun will stop motion. If you don't have a flashgun, I'd suggest exploring with tablelamps or a flash-light/torch to add some light. The tripod will help with camera stability and reducing shake.