Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 3:30 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:05 pm 

Hello!

First of all, I'm an absolute beginner, so I'd appreciate replies in that manner. Recently I have been watching videos on YouTube about how to take photos with long exposures. Yesterday, I watched video with Scott Kelby where he was giving a short tutorial on shooting photos of the seaside. After emphasizing the importance of using a tripod and remote cable, he put a "natural density filter with 9 stops" on his lens which he said would reduce the amount of daylight (they were shooting at around 2 p.m.) and I was wondering if it is possible to shoot similar photos without any filters. I only have the kit lens and do not want to invest in any filters before getting to know my first DSLR a little better.

If Kelby had shot the picture without that filter, would the sea not be as calm as it looked? If not, does this mean one can never shoot waterfalls during daylight without using any filters under any circumstances?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:42 pm 

Essentially, it's all dependent on the light. How 'bright' the daylight is will determine if it's at all possible to slow the shutter speed down enough to give that 'smooth' water look - which usually means for a waterfall shutter speeds should be in the 1/15 or less range, and for ocean or lake smoothing, usually into the multiples of seconds.

Waterfalls can sometimes be done without an ND filter - if the waterfall is located in a forested area, where it's partially in shadow, or early morning/late day, when the sun is behind the cliff or blocked by trees. Oceans would require being fairly early or late in the day, as even overcast afternoons are usually far too bright for the camera to slow the shutter down.