Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 9:08 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:22 am 
I am new to dslr photography and trying my best to learn with my nikon d7000 could you please post some basic shutter speeds .iso and aperture settings for different times of the day as I am trying to use manual mode .

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 12:03 pm 

Try Aperture Priority instead

This will make things much simpler, and you'll understand exposure a lot quicker.

After a shot in A, check the histogram. If there are clipped highlights (peaks off the right of the histogram) then dial in a little exposure compensation (-0.3, -0.7, -1) and try again. If there are clipped shadows (peaks off the left of the histogram) then dial in positive exposure comp.

Diving straight into Manual may confuse you a little. Also, you'd be surprised how little it is used by people, generally preferring A or S modes, unless in patricularly controlled circumstances (at night, on a tripod, for example)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 8:19 pm 
I agree with dubaiphil. Use aperture priority mode the camera will figure out the rest. In some situations like making pictures of a waterfall or nightshots, or maybe racing car action shots you can use shutter priority mode or go fully manual becuase sometime you want a slow shutter speed on purpose.

You can try to use the Automatic iso configuration too, which basicly just restricts the choices the camera makes.

Also in Full manual mode you should see a exposure bar in your viewfinder which shows you the way if you are over exposed or underexposed or correctly exposed.

getting the exposure right is actually the easy part....