Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sun Dec 21, 2014 12:30 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: ISO Advice
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:26 pm 

Hello,

I'm new to the SLR world. I've been pouring over reviews, tips and lessons. But the one thing I can't find much advice on is ISO. I know it is a sensitivity setting but I can't seem to find many tips/advice on it other then pics get really grainy at really high ISO numbers and poor lighting.

Could someone please post some basic tips on pro's and cons of high or low ISO settings? Situations where you want a low ISO and situations where you want a higher one?

Baring this a link to a great tutorial of ISO would be just as welcome!

Thanks in advance!

EF 50 1.4
EF 100 - 400L

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:45 pm 

If you need the best quality, set a low value and make sure both the camera and subject stay still long enough, and/or throw enough light at it. In the real world, set the ISO as needed for balancing the other options. There is no right value. A low ISO for better quality is no use for example if everything is out of focus or blurry due to motion.

Compacts: Sony HX9V, Fuji X100.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:01 pm 

Thanks for the advice Popo. Here's a scenario. On a sunny day if I was shooting stills I would worry about my f number and shutter speed and keep my ISO around 100 - 200? If on the same sunny day I was shooting action shots I would again worry mostly about my shutter speed and f number but raise my ISO a touch to help reduce bluring?

Thanks!

EF 50 1.4
EF 100 - 400L

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:14 pm