Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 12:48 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:41 pm 
Hi all,

I've just purchased a DSLR as I am going travelling soon. I've had it a week and am just starting to get my head around what everything is, but I have a question - if the light in a picture is overpowering and you want it to be dimmer, what is the difference between 1. lowering the ISO, 2. speeding up the shutter speed or 3. under-exposing the picture on the EV scale?

from what I've read all of these three things make your pictures darker, but on what basis do you decide which one or which two etc to employ in different situations? Do they all 'darken' images in different ways and if so how?

Apologies if this question doesn't make any sense, it is a strong possibility that I've totally misunderstood everything! I am an absolute beginner so please excuse my ignorance!

Many thanks

Isaac

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:14 pm 

iso is a norm value for the sensitivity of your sensor, the higher it is your sensor will need less light to form an equal illuminated photo, this has its downside because the higher the iso value means that built imperfections on your sensor will jump up to hence applying noise and reducing detail in your photo (lower iso the better :) ).

speeding up your shutter speed will decrease the time during witch the sensor takes in light. the longer it is the more light enters your camera and brighter the photo is, this usually has no effect on image quality, but be aware that slow shutter speed will pick up motion of your hand and cause motion blur.
this is the most common way to control your exposure