Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 11:23 am

All times are UTC

Post subject: Technique question
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:11 pm 
Hi,

I'm a newbie here (sorry if this is in the wrong spot...) and I was wondering if anyone can help me out...

I just bought a Canon Powershot SX120 IS and I will be going to a concert in a few days - front row - off to the left side... I was just wondering what would be the best setting I should use to get the best photos? Should I just leave it on Auto with the flash up?

Also, there will be a VIP meet and greet before hand. The venue is an open space (with roof of course), summer venue. Should I leave the camera on Auto mode with the flash down?

Any tips would be greatly appreciated as I really want to come out with lots of great photos at the end of the concert.

Thanks!!!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:19 pm 

If you dont have much time to learn your camera, Id say (something I never say): Leave it on the fully auto.
If you got some time, just check the P(rogram) mode. Set the ISO on 400-1600 (depends on where the action is) and open the flash. Set the flash exposure on +1 to +2 (depends too on where you are) and practice.

Welcome on the forum BTW :)

Panasonic DMC-FZ18, Panasonic DMC-FZ28, Canon G5, Canon 350D, Canon 50D + BG-E2N
Tamron 17-50 2.8, Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM,
Canon 18-55 II plus lots of Minolta MD/M42 lenses and bodies

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 6:44 pm 
Thanks!!!

I do have some time still and will definitely give that a try... hard to see the results as I'm not at the concert at the moment but thanks for the tip and for welcoming me to the forum :).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 4:06 am 
Ruben what did you mean by "depends on where the action is" and "depends too on where you are" when you said this: