Free Shipping on ALL Products
camera reviewsbest cameraslens reviewsphotography tipscamera forumvideo toursphotography bookssupport me
It is currently Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:39 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 3:10 am 
So, for the past couple months I’ve been checking out different cameras I wanted to get for Christmas. I’m very new to photography and this would be my first camera to kind of introduce me to everything. I wanted something cheap, but with a lot of features, kind of like a jack-of-all-trades master of none, just to get a feel for all the different possibilities.

My parents already had a Canon Powershot SX10 IS, so I started playing around with that and really liked how much I could do with it. I checked some reviews and comparisons and started looking at the Canon Powershot SX1 IS and Powershot SX20 IS. I really liked the SX1’s 4fps and HD video abilities and decided to go with that.

Now, after trying it out a couple days I found that the SX1 only allows for pretty much a shutter speed max of 1 second. I had just assumed that it would be the same as the SX10 and SX20 with its fully customizable shutter speed max of 15 seconds. That was one of the features I kind of liked about the SX10, playing around with cool light effects of a 10-15 second shutter speed. I know the SX1 has the special “long shutter” setting that allows up to 15 seconds, but with 0 customization. You can’t change the ISO or aperture settings at all in that mode, which to me seems like it makes it almost useless.